We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monteverde Rustic Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We could not have been happier with our stay here. Beautiful rooms. Big, hot shower. What stands out the most, however, is the friendly service. What a cozy place to stay while visiting Monteverde. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just came back from Costa Rica and spent two days in this small but charming B&B. The decoration is all wood made and is cozy and beautiful. The breakfast is wonderful and tasty. There is no dinner or lunch served but the restaurants are all close by. The town is about 10 mins walk if you need to get anything. The owner is extremely helpful and caring. There is a sloth behind the hotel, whenever he sees it, he goes around to show the guests, which is awesome. He also spent time explaining to us the history of the sloth family. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wangmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Rustic Lodge in Santa Elena, Costa Rica for two days in early December, 2013. It is without a doubt the nicest lodge we have ever stayed in during our many years of travel. The hospitality of the owners, brothers, jose and Marcello was unsurpassed. They prepared a fabulous breakfast every day, provided great advice on local tours/sights, and restaurants, and made us feel right at home. The woodwork throughout the lodge is magnificent, and much of it was done by Jose. The Monte Verde area has a lot to see, and we strongly recommend tours of the Don Jose Coffee Plantation, and the Monte Verde Rain Forest area. We plan to return on our next trip to Costa Rica. Kudos to Jose and Marcello for making our trip memorable. We highly recommend the Rustic Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. There's an excellent on-site masseuse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights last week. We did not rent a car. The location was very convenient to walk to restaurants and stores. The lodge was quiet, clean and comfortable. They served a hot breakfast every morning with excellent coffee and fruit. Ernesto was most helpful and friendly. Ask him about the sloth high up in the trees behind the property! We got to see it every day with binoculars. We would definitely stay here again if we return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tvplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The owners Miguel and Ernesto were very helpful with directions and tours. The breakfast was included with delicious pancakes and fresh fruit and Costa Rican Coffee. I would highly recommend the Hotel.

Room Tip: 14 rooms only 2 with balconies but are near the road. All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac-n-Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here a week ago and loved it! Ernesto and Marcello were always eager to help, from bringing our bags up to our room to helping with rides and tours. The area was clean, safe and just a short pleasant walk into town. We highly recommend this quaint, comfortable, clean place as a top choice. The breakfast was good and the coffee was delicious! Thank-you for your hospitality and Feliz Navidad!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnajeanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at the Rustic Lodge for three nights. It was terrific! the location was great and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic.

The gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful and helped us plan some things in and around monteverde. We ended up going to the rain forest, adventura ziplining, and the Don Juan coffee tour. all were really great! I especially liked the ziplining and canopy tour. all were suggested by the man at the front desk for the group of four of us.

Just on an aside, if you're looking to purchase wooden sculptures, they were cheapest in monteverde when compared to arenal, san jose, and santa teresa.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £55 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing