We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location is great, close by many attractions (Monteverde National park, Sanctuario Ecologico, Zipline, waterfall, etc.). We stayed 3 nights and it was just enough time to do the activities we had planned.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. We slept very well. The breakfast were very good with a plate of fresh fruits every morning. The staff was very helpful in helping us organize our activities. We would definitely stay again at the rustic lodge if we go back to Monteverde.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had one of the family rooms above the lobby. There were three double beds and lots of room to move around in. The shower was huge! The morning breakfast was very good (included a huge plate of fruit) and the staff was very helpful in arranging tours. We walked to town, which was quite a hill on the way home when it was in the heat of the day, but the location is nice. It's in a residential neighborhood right outside Santa Elena. We went during Easter Week, so the school and fields across the street were quiet. The only noise was some dogs barking, but that didn't last too long into the night.

I don't know if our room had AC; we certainly didn't need it since we weren't there during the day and the nights were quite cool and breezy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saratogario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I would highly recommend anyone visiting the beautiful Monteverde rain forest stay at Monteverde Rustic Lodge. We were a party of 10 people ranging in age from 13 to 80 and Jose and Marcelo were more than helpful arranging our day trips and suggestions for restaurants. The lodge was very clean and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly. The breakfast and morning coffee were excellent. Don't hesitate to book with Rustic Lodge you won't be disappointed.
Maurice and Family, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a wonderful and pleasant time at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge. We got a very warm welcomed, by Jose the owner, with hot coffee and herb tea. The rooms, the entrance and the dining room were furnished with local beautiful wooden furnishers. The rooms were charming, beautiful and clean with nice garden. Jose recommended us on a very good family restaurant - El Olivo, which we find to be a very good suggestion. After a good night sleep we had a nice breakfast include fresh orange juice fried eggs fruits and homemade marmalade. Again Jose helped us to plan our day with the activities of the region and made for us the phone calls to make reservations. This is a must be place, we warmly recommend on the lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilanayardeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The drive to Monteverde/Santa Elena is long, windy and not paved which means it is really bumpy and requires a skilled and attentive driver, and strong vehicle. This road was the end of a four hour drive and we were worn out when we got to the Rustic Lodge. Jose was there to greet us and immediately sat us down, offered coffee/tea , and said 'relax'. Which we did the two nights we spent there. Jose, his brother and the staff are really accommodating. Our time in Monteverde was fun and interesting because Jose had great recommendations on tours and guides. Christian was our guide at the cloud forest and we really enjoyed him, his enthusiasm and knowledge. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and much appreciated as we set out on our busy days. Stay at the Rustic Lodge and get a taste of local hospitality. Say 'hi' to Jose for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very friendly and helpfull owners! The room was very clean and big.
I would recommend this place to everyone who go to St. Helena/Monteverde!
Breakfast was included and excellent. We felt welcome from the first moment we arrived

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G6867UKMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We really loved this place and the excellent service provided by the brothers who run it!

A great tip I'd like to give out for anyone traveling to Costa Rica is the name of the tour operator we used - we used a gentleman named Erik Hidalgo who arranged everything for us from Tortuguero to Arenal to Monteverde for much less than any other tour operator I found and for less than I could have done myself including all transportation. This was for a family of 9 and some of it was rather last minute. He did a great job and we will use him again to come to Costa RIca - he can arrange anything anywhere- a life saver. - his company is CostaRica Trip guide 1-888-324-9326

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemant n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,135 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £55 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing