We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice inexpensive lodge, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“very nice inexpensive lodge, good location”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

we stayed for 2 nights in may 2014 and we were very happy with our choice. booked via hostel bookers. nice room, very clean, comfortable, nice table and 2 chairs outside. shower took a bit of working out how to use, fine once we sussed it out. the owner was very helpful with recommending and booking trips. its a little out of the "town" (5-10 mins walk) so its nice and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    232
    35
    3
    1
See reviews for
274
547
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our room was the largest to accommodate our family of 5. The location was good as was the service. The room itself had pretty thin walls and since this was in town could be noisy. Lighting was poor, except for a skylight that could not be blocked to be able to sleep in. The shower was huge, but it flooded the bathroom every time we used it. Again, the price and staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haygirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had booked this place reading the great reviews, and it is truly an exceptional stay in Monteverde. We stayed there at the beginning of May. Most of the reviews cover everything and if you want to take any guess work out, just book this place for your stay in Monteverde. Ideal location, price and staff. Jose and crew will take care of you like one of their own! As others have mentioned, it has the rustic look and feel, but your stay won’t be rustic at all. Clean, comfortable and cozy. It’s a short walk to downtown if you want to take a stroll, and a cheap cab ride. It was about $2 USD one way. Hotel is on top of a hilly area, and so walk to the town downhill will be easier vs. walking back. We had done the popular tours and everything is relatively close by (Cloud Forest, Don Juan Coffee tour, and Ziplining.)

It was only two of us, and we ended up getting a larger room, which is the family style room I believe. Had 3 beds, so plenty of room and a large very clean bathroom. We try to be environmentally conscious and so it’s always nice to stay at a place where there is recycling if available. Fresh preset breakfast is served with a fruit plate and some great coffee. Jose and his team are gracious and super accommodating. There was a minor miss-communication with our pre-booked tour service (which we had booked on our own), and Jose had helped resolved it before we even had a chance to say thanks! :-)

My wife had picked up some fresh lemons for her water, which we were getting rid of when leaving for San Jose. Talk about making “lemonade when life hands you lemons”; we offered if the lemons would be of use to Jose, and instead he offered to make fresh lemonade for us. It was such a delightful departing unexpected treat while waiting for our shuttle. Finally, can not say enough about Jose’s generosity. As we were leaving and did not get a chance to check out any souvenirs, Jose took the time and went above and beyond to help obtain one for us.

Wish we had more time in Monteverde. But I’m sure we’ll be back to Costa Rica, and know where we’ll be staying when in Monteverde! We had a great time here, and Jose and his staff, will show you exactly, what “Pura Vida” means!!

Room Tip: I believe our room was #10 at the corner which is a family style room with 2 double beds and a singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imle9end
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pre-arrival: Booking was easy, and staff was very responsive via email. Jose and Denise were helpful in finalizing the details of the trip and our reservation.

The Stay: Despite weather delays, the receptionist was waiting for us and helped us book our tours and transportation. The room was clean, but the walls were thin; you could hear others talking next door. The beds were also hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast was limited but sufficient and tasted good.

Denise and Jorge at the front desk were incredibly knowledgeable about all of the options for activities in the area, quick to assist with reservations or last-minute questions, and flexible when circumstances required.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to budget travelers who just need the basics.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Jose greated us with a cup of coffee and treated us like family. The room was clean and had plenty of space. We sat outside each evening before dinner. Close to everything. Thank goodness that Jose was on top of the roadwork times as we were the last car down the mountain before they shut the road for 2 hours! Great price, hotel, location, breakfast and service! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Wow! Many thanks to Jose, Marcelo and Denis and the rest of the staff for making our stay in Costa Rica enjoyable and fun. Can't say enough about how nice the lodge is, great rooms, great food, great staff. Jose recommended tours and places to eat that we wouldn't have found in a tour book. This is an excellent choice for a family vacation. Thanks again for a wonderful stay. Pura Vida and hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: Eat at De Olive. Jose and Marcelo offer excellent suggestions for activities in the local area. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Monteverde Rustlic Lodge is a great place to stay in Monteverde. We travelled as an adult family of five and stayed in the family room which was comfortable and charming. The shower was hot and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good and the coffee was fresh every morning. We especially loved the wooden tables and chairs in the dining area! But the thing that made our stay most pleasurable was the staff. They were all so kind and went above and beyond our expectations to help us book excursions, transportation and whatnot. I’d like to especially thank Jose as one of the days all five of us were sick and stuck in the room. He personally delivered a special lemon and mint tea to our room when he heard we were ill. This was the most amazing tea we had ever had, and we are all big tea drinkers! After we left Monteverde we headed to Jaco. Jose emailed us to let us know we had forgotten a bag in the room. At that point I was sure I was never going to see that bag again, as we weren’t going to drive 4 hours back to Monteverde to get it. But Jose took it upon himself to find somebody going to Jaco and send it with them! I was so surprised, amazed and impressed by his genuine care. He truly took the extra time and made the extra effort to make our stay a wonderful one. I’d highly recommend Monteverde Rustic Lodge not only for its charm and beauty but for the impeccable customer service we received. Thank you, from the Yusuf Family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZainaY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
484 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Property: Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing