We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff in the backpacker portion are rude and pushy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Shame the apparent boss at this place and his cronies are so unpleasant because it would be a pretty decent backpacker's option otherwise. We stayed in a perfectly serviceable double room with shared bath for $7 each. The shower is phenomenal. I wanted to stay in there all day. There's a nice airy and well equipped kitchen upstairs which is also where they leave out a basic breakfast in the morning. This consists of coffee, bread, jam and bananas (hard and tasteless). It's a pretty good place to rest your head on a budget but I would steer clear of the hardsell in the hostel's tourist office and shop around a bit. Always take what they say with a pinch of salt. We were informed that night tours of Monteverde forest had ceased because "nobody saw any animals". You're not perchance trying to encourage me to go on your tour to a different forest are you Mr hostel man? No, course not!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

A friend and I stayed at Cabinas Vista Al Golfo for one night in June. We wanted to stay another day, but our booking was last minute and there were no rooms available. The room was basic, but very tidy. It had two beds and a shelf. The only problem was the howling wind in the morning. It wasn't a big issue but it did disturb sleep a little bit in the morning. The bathrooms are clean as well. The common areas are definitely a big draw for this place. We met interesting people here and had some great conversations in the balcony that looks out to Monteverde and has really nice views to offer. The breakfast is your basic continental breakfast. The staff is also extremely nice and hospitable. It's a really good deal and you should stay here if you're in Santa Elena.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddharthK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

clean room, front desk is helpful at booking and changing shuttle. The shuttle they booked for me is very good from Monterverde to Arenal for $25.
only drawback is the wall is so thin, you can almost hear verything from next door, but for $20 for a private room. this is good value

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank jingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for 6 nights, 2 in a shared bathroom room and 4 in a private. As it was low season they were prepared to do a good deal which we appreciated.
We had a look at other hostels in the same price range, some had slightly better rooms but we loved the common areas and the views which the others did not have.
The showers had proper hot water (no electric heads) and were great in the cool climate. The staff was very polite and helpful. Wi-fi was included and good, there were also computers for use.
There was a small kitchen (only 2 burners) that was spotless clean and had plenty of pots etc.
We booked tours through them and could pay with credit card.
I have marked them down 1 star as they had 2 kitchens and common areas but they locked downstairs as there was no one in the dorms but this meant that the 2nd kitchen could not be used (there were a lot of people in the privates) and the only common tv could not be accessed and it was the warmest area of the hostel especially when the wind was howling - so it took away from what they advertise. Also they seemed to be trying to change the agreement we made with their representative when we agreed to stay but minor problems - it was a good stay and we would recommend it. Loved Monteverde - beautiful area

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Lovely place with a brilliant view, close enough to walk to the main part of Santa Elena within minutes but far away enough to be peaceful. Quiet at night. Rooms very clean. Homely atmosphere and brilliant staff who took the initiative to make sure every part of our stay, including our departure, went forward without any problems. Great cheap laundry service too!

Room Tip: Room 9 has a great view but if the hostel was busy you would have to keep your curtains closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyandDanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in dorms (only 3 beds!), the place is clean, has a nice kitchen and good wi fi and computers for guests.
Price was ridiculously cheap for costa rica - only 7USD with breakfast!
The owner is really nice and accommodating and he will get you the best price for the shuttle to la fortuna.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilmeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights, the location is good and a five minute walk from town down a dirt road.

The rooms are small but functional with a reasonable shower and comfy bed. Breakfast is provided in the morning.

Only negative is that there are no less than 7 notices in the room regarding tours that the hostel offers. Several of these are warning against booking elsewhere including a handwritten note supposedly from a previous guest recounting their bad experience when booking elsewhere and of course recommending that people only book through the hostel. The handwriting on this note is however suspiciously similar to that of the lady the runs the hostel! I didn't book any tours through the hostel and didn't have any problems nor was a murdered by a ravenous sloth as it would appear would happen. This practice actually puts me off using their travel services.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#11 of 34 in Santa Elena
134 reviews
0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Address: Meters Southeast Of the Supermercado la Espera 300, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: £19 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing