We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

What a view the owner meet the bus to convince us to try their venue, it was a bit overwhelming with a lot of proprietors selling their wears! But due to great reviews we choose the cabins. We got a good price for the room as the original room had been rented, we were in luxury! Double beds, tv, own kitchen and a great view.. Now one can't help but complement Lilly who took charge of the front office, if every hostel had a Lilly they would be on a winner! This lady was a genuine sweetheart, just like her name, she was sweet and so helpful and always trying to go the extra mile. It's a bit if the path behind Santa Elena but worth the short trek up a gravel road. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weazlegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    112
    31
    12
    14
See reviews for
21
138
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the private apartment which was huge, own kitchen and lovely views. Got for a good price which the owner offered, qe didn't ask for 'best price' as it was so cheap anyway. Lily was wonderful helping us with everything, very friendly, always smiling or laughing. Simple breakfast included. Only slight downside was we could easily hear noisy kids in next room. Great family restaurant 30 seconds walk away. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This hostel has a lovely communal area and kitchen with beautiful views of the surrounding areas and the lady running the hostel was friendly, welcoming and helped us organise any activities that we wanted to do.

The only downfall was that the private room we stayed in (with a shared bathroom) was right next to the kitchen with the bed against the window so it felt as though it lacked privacy.

Overall, it's a great hostel to relax in and meet new people but it would be worth spending a little more to upgrade to an ensuite room away from the kitchen or staying next door in 'Nuestra Casa' if you prefer a peaceful night's sleep.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed there with our kids for three nights and had two big doublebeds. Perfect and a good price for costarica. When the weather is good you have a great view. We also booked some tours there and finally our busticket. They didn't tell us the company and so we passed it. Finally it got us 2month to get the money back. But we got it. thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Cabinas Vista al Golfo is primarily a laid back backpacker’s place with a friendly atmosphere and a wonderful communal sitting/eating area with hammocks. The best place to relax and meet young people from all around the world. Our nicely equipped $60 apartment, on the top floor, was large and comfortable with kitchenette, eating area, two double beds and a bay window overlooking the valley. We enjoyed seeing the clouds moving in late in the day. The apartment had an adjoining door with another apartment, presumably to allow for very large families to share the entire top floor. The only problem we had was an excessive amount of noise entering our apartment through the adjoining door. The teenagers next door were quite loud and we had little problem following their conversations. I would have given a 4-star rating if not for this unfortunate noise problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hostel is clean and the kitchen is well equipped. The bonus is the view from the common room, free wifi/Internet, and breakfast that consisted of toast, banana,, cereal and coffee. The drawback is that the walls are paper thin so everyone can hear the slightest noise, and the howling of wind at night doesn't help. Although the kitchen is closed after 9pm, it doesn't stop the people from using the kitchen close to midnight. Room 6, which is between the kitchen and the bathroom, should be avoided. I requested a quiet room and requested not to be in room 6, an advice taken from an Aussie couple whom I met in La Fortuna. Unfortunately, I was placed in that room as there were no available rooms that day. Upon check in, the lady who worked at the desk mentioned that I can move to room 3 the next day. Next day, when asked, she mentioned that the people in room 3 registered for 3 additional days, and that all the private rooms were booked. Very strange, as I got the chance to see room 3 when they were cleaning the vacant rooms in the morning while waiting for a tour. I didn't see any personal belongings nor was the hostel busy with travellers the next two days...

Room Tip: Avoid Room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Atitlan, Guatemala
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Shame the apparent boss at this place and his cronies are so unpleasant because it would be a pretty decent backpacker's option otherwise. We stayed in a perfectly serviceable double room with shared bath for $7 each. The shower is phenomenal. I wanted to stay in there all day. There's a nice airy and well equipped kitchen upstairs which is also where they leave out a basic breakfast in the morning. This consists of coffee, bread, jam and bananas (hard and tasteless). It's a pretty good place to rest your head on a budget but I would steer clear of the hardsell in the hostel's tourist office and shop around a bit. Always take what they say with a pinch of salt. We were informed that night tours of Monteverde forest had ceased because "nobody saw any animals". You're not perchance trying to encourage me to go on your tour to a different forest are you Mr hostel man? No, course not!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo

Property: Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Address: Meters Southeast Of the Supermercado la Espera 300, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Budget Cabins Cabinas vista Al Golfo offers cheap lodging in Santa Elena Monteverde, we are located very close to the town of Santa Elena,we offer cheap cabins for you to spend your vacations in Monteverde Costa Rica, come and stay with us at this small and clean hostel.Cabinas Vista Al GolfoWe are located in an ideal spot, from our lodge balcony and look out point you can enjoy a beautiful and exuberant view, you can see the dinamyc climate changes of the monteverde cloud forestfrom our look out point experience one of the best views of the mountains of Monteverde and the Nicoya Gulf Community kitchen fully equipped, refregirator, microwave, toaster, coffe maker and everything you should need Deluxe Apartments fully equipped kitchen private bathroomprivate balcony with the best view for the mountain and nicoya gulfExcellent hot water system Cable T V Security Box FREE BREAKFASTWI-FIFREE INTERNETFREE COFFEE AND TEACabinas Vista Al Golfo Is costarican family run hotel in Santa Elena the owner Jorge Campos and his wife Anali Lopez will assist you personally with everything you should need, they do speak very good English so if you do not speak our language that should be no problem, you can enquire for tours in the area among other things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Vista Al Golfo Hotel Santa Elena
Cabinas And Hotel Vista Al Golfo Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing