We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find something else”
Review of Quetzal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzal Inn
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Find something else”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Too bad we did not first look on TripAdvisor otherwise we did not go there.
The rooms are old and not maintained. Locks are broken, shower door will not move, if you want new towels you have to get them yourself, it's not clean, Breakfast is minimal.
The manager begins to groan when she has to do something.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_alias_Hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    11
    4
    12
See reviews for
13
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenview
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here in 2011 and enjoyed the Capuchin monkeys. The rooms were spartan but clean and the breakfast was typical. Carlos the manager was very good. Stayed there again this year (February 2012). My wife and I were the only people in the place. Place was uncomfortable, not real clean and the manager unresponsive except to repeated requests. Definitely would not stay here again..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ardoyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Candiac, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The rooms here are very basic, but if you can handle that it's great!

It was comfy, the balcony view on the vegetation was really nice and we go to see a ton of birds, monkeys and butterflies. Just a note of "caution" do not close the balcony door when you are outside because the locking system if quite basic and if you shut the door fully you will lock yourself out. It happened to our neighbour :-)

The only slight downside is that there is a bar that features live bands not far away (sound carries) and we could pretty much figure out the songs. On the plus side, the band was quite good.

The staff was super friendly and helped up book our zip linning tour and our forest night walk.

As I said though, our room was very basic but we had a great time! But anyway, who goes to Costa Rica to stay in their room?

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel is centrally located in the small town of Santa Elena. The hotel is down an ally way, off the main road, which makes it quieter than some of the other hotels. Our room was nice; it was high-up in the back of the hotel with a private balcony, two huge windows and a TV. We felt like we were in the tress and had great views of birds and butterflies. The male staff member at the hotel was very friendly and helpful to us. There were some negatives about this hotel, there was no soap in the room and we were told we had to go to the pharmacy to buy some. The internet did not work in our rooms (it did work in the lobby). My husband ate breakfast there but was it was not enough food for him. The hot water in our room was not working and they were unable to fix it. Because I wanted to shower we had to switch rooms the second day we were there. Apparently there were no rooms in that hotel so we were put in a room at a hotel across the street (not sure if they owned both hotels). That room was not as nice at all and it was very loud being right on a busy street and near a loud bar that was open late. I had to take a sleeping pill to get to sleep that night. I was very disappointed with this, as we had paid for the nicer room for two nights. Although we were generally pleased with this hotel, I stayed at a nicer hotel for less money the last time I was in Santa Elena, and I will not be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atravelerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

we stayed only one night in St. Elena and chose this hotel for our stay here. The staff (1 person) was VERY friendly and helpful. Took our clothes to wash them overnight, booked the next hotel in Manuel Antonio for us an organised a tour in St. Elena. The room was simple, but quiet and clean. The bed was to soft for us, but for that one night it was a very pleasant stay! The brekfast the next morning was very good and we also saw the monkeys in the trees over the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReiseLieschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,464 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed two nights in this hotel and I am almost reluctant to give it a bad review as the staff were so kind and helpful to me. It is brilliantly located just off the main street and is beautifully set at the edge of the forest. However the problem is tha tthe rooms were very damp, the bedsheets too and any clothes you leave out in the room end up too damp to wear. To be fair, the owners could not have been better when I told them, fresh blankets, extra blankets and genuine apologies.
Still this means that it is difficult to be comfortable. It is a pity because the setting as I said is pretty nice, it is so peaceful and as one reviewer said you get to see the monkeys from your window as they come in from the forest. its a great base to do activities like ziplining and forest walks but the dampness makes it hard to recommend.
Maybe in other times of the year it would not be as much a problem as truly, it is the only reason I would have to criticise it.

Room Tip: Ask to see it first to make sure it is not damp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Truly the worst place I've ever stayed. I've stayed in $10 hostels that were cleaner and better maintained than this one. Dirty rooms, dirty sheets, dirty bathrooms, broken furniture and awful service. You can tell that the ownership and management of this establishment do not care about the comfort or safety of their guests

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyagres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 34 in Santa Elena
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Property: Quetzal Inn
Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing