We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quetzal Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quetzal Inn
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
“Inexpensive and beautiful”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed in 2005 and for New Year 2012/2013. It is a beautiful place! It isn't your upscale place, the rooms are simple but nice. Stone work and dark wood siding, the rooms are clean. Just bring a reading light if you want to read at night. The owner, Jeanette, returned in 2012 to manage her hotel again, and mentioned she was sad about the negative reviews the place got while it was under a different administration. As owner she takes pride in her family-friendly hotel.

There is a lot of wildlife to see, monkeys come to eat often. My daughter got to feed them. It is off the road and surrounded by vegetation. Between 7am and 9am, you can eat a traditional Tico breakfast. The folks at the front desk can set up any tours you may want and are not pushy. They also have on-site laundry service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elienos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    10
    4
    12
See reviews for
12
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Nice rustic and inexpensive hotel in the heart of Santa Elena. Beds are warm with nice, fuzzy blankets, which are crucial on a cold night in Monteverde. Front desk staff can set up all tours for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrysta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I recently returned from a trip to Costa Rica in which I took a group of my students. I've done this for the past 6 summers and this was by far the WORST hotel experience ever. I didn't expect a 5 star but this was beyond my wildest NIGHTMARES. The place was filthy and the rooms and beds were full of bugs. I truly worried we would come home with bedbugs or crabs. They knew for 2 months in advance that our group would be arriving but they never answered confirmation calls in the week leading up to our arrival. The day we arrived it was clear they were scrambling to get our "rooms" ready. They ended up putting 7 of my students in ONE room. In another they had to break of the bed's headboard to get it in the room. You can hear every single thing going on in adjacent rooms and on the floor below. Sometime during the night my toilet and shower backed up making my bathroom unusable. This was the WORST 2 days of our trip by far. The town itself is very nice but AVOID this place. Don't be fooled by an pics they post or talk of monkeys on the premises.......I'm sure they avoid the place as well. The formerly white towels were yellowed and the comforters had stains. I was never so glad to get out of that place. Instead of this DUMP, go to Poco a Poco or find someplace else. You can do better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was my 2nd time to Costa Rica. I don't mind rustic and simple, but cleanliness is a necessity. There were bugs everywhere in the room (earwigs, moths, worm in the shower, spiders) so we slept with our hoods on at night.
The minute we walked into the room (there were 38 people in our group) you could smell mold overwhelmingly. There was a white mildew on the wooden walls, duct tape on the bathroom window, and towels that looked like they had been around since the 70s. We had stains on our pillow cases and sheets. On our second day we found dime sized spots of black mold in our toilet paper. Our shower door would not close so water flooded into the bathroom.
One person in our group had their shower head explode in their room, sending a spray of water throughout, dousing their toiletries. This was never fixed in two days. Another stepped down into their bathroom to find her foot submerged in water. She was moved to another hotel. Another gentleman from another group said his belongings were moved to another room when he was not present. A few people in our group, after seeing their accomodations, flat out refused to stay there and paid out of pocket to stay elsewhere.
At any given moment the hotel owners were nowhere to be found, but were nice when we did manage to speak to them. Our entire bus cheered when we left. I would never, ever stay in this place again, even if it was the only one in the town, which is too bad because the location is central and their grounds are nice.
Try Jimenez bakery down the street. Espressos, freshly baked bread, etc. at very reasonable prices. A hotel/restaurant called Poco a Poca had a magnificent, more pricey menu with live music and a fantastic staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTZHKWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you like nature in your room, stay here. Otherwise, I suggest finding a cleaner hotel.

Yes, it's Costa Rica and bugs are part of nature, but I do not want them on my bed! Every night we had to do a sweep for bugs in our bed because there would be something different in our room every night.

The washrooms were kept dark and dim, so it was hard to see if they were clean. So I cannot review that. Rooms were more like little cabins.

The restaurant was ok, but food was very simple and in small portions.

This hotel is hidden in an alleyway but it is a minute walk to the main street.

There is a possibility waking up in the early morning due to monkeys running around on the roof. Pretty nice to hear but a little surreal.

Overall, there are plenty of other hostels and hotels you can stay out. You don't need to stay at this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clumsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

First of all we love that this hotel is set back off the main street and up a hill overlooking part of Santa Elena. It made it feel like a special private oasis when returning exhausted from activities. The rooms are all wood, made out of cedar and were very clean and comfortable. We even had a private balcony. We did not eat breakfast here as we opted to go out early that morning so we can't say anything about breakfast.
On our last day there we had zip lining planned at noon, the manager had actually helped us plan which park to use and called the shuttle of the park we chose to set up the night before. Unlike everywhere/everyone else she did not push us towards any specific park but rather gave us all the information on each park so we could decide which one we wanted to go to. Being in sales I really liked that she was not trying to sell us to the one that gives her more commission. We in fact got Selvatura Tickets at a better price than their listed price and better than what the other street ticket people were offering. You'll notice in Santa Elena that everyone, every restaurant, etc sells tickets to everything. Its outright annoying and overwhelming at times. Every place you go to is pushing a different zip line park, a different coffee tour, simply because of the commission they are receiving selling those tickets, not because they are the best.
Also you would think that buying direct at the park or from the website would be the best route. Its not. Its cheaper to buy indirect, which makes no sense.
As far as this hotel for a stay? We would definitely stay here again. There were 4 of us in a standard room with 2 queen beds and that was more than enough space for us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Too bad we did not first look on TripAdvisor otherwise we did not go there.
The rooms are old and not maintained. Locks are broken, shower door will not move, if you want new towels you have to get them yourself, it's not clean, Breakfast is minimal.
The manager begins to groan when she has to do something.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-en-Monique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.1 mi away
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
#23 of 34 in Santa Elena
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Viandante
Hotel El Viandante
#7 of 40 in Monteverde
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 14 in Santa Elena
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 34 in Santa Elena
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Luxury Hostel
Monteverde Luxury Hostel
#19 of 34 in Santa Elena
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Property: Quetzal Inn
Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing