We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality and service”
Review of Quetzal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quetzal Inn
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We feel so fortunate that Ricardo, hotel manager saw us looking for lodging and suggested we come take a look. This small lodge offers a unique, quiet setting with clean rooms. Our room was in back and looked like a little bunk house which backed up to the forest. When we looked out the window there was a Blue Crowned Motmot perched in the tree. The sound of the rainforest was very pleasant. Mostly, we felt very welcomed and taken care of by Ricardo. He had a lot of great ideas and suggestions for us.If you are looking for a quiet place to rest, a delicious breakfast included at this great price, this is the place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhaywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Quetzal Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Quetzal Inn and would absolutely recommend it. The staff was personable and very helpful. Rooms are cozy, clean and priced fairly...plus there's fresh breakfast! Overall a very good option for a stay in Santa Elena/Monteverde.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thirani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were due to stay in Sleepers Hostel, but it had overbooked by accident so they had organised us to stay here for the same price as the dorm we had booked in Sleepers.

Our room was a cabin, en suite with a double bed and a single bed.
Breakfast was included, it was a plate of fruit followed by eggs and toast, with juice and coffee.

The staff were very helpful at organising our day trips and giving us advice on travel

Sound carried throught the hotel though, we were lucky that our neighbours were in general very quiet, it meant that the sounds of the rainforrest could be heard at night it was very soothing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We came to this place because we got a personal recommendation for it. And we are really happy that we found this place. It is now called "Quetzal Ecolodge" and when I read the old comments, it seems that it changed a lot. The rooms are nice and clean. The owner family is really friendly and like to help you out. They even provide private "jungle tours" day or night-trips with their own excellent guide. During the day, there are sometimes monkeys showing up. And even a great and tasty breakfast was included (fresh seasonal fruits, coffee, toast, eggs, and always something special like beans and rice or "muesli"). Really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I am torn about how to rate this hotel. My stay there was truly terrible, but not all of it was due to the hotel. I will do my best to factor out the good, the bad and the ugly.

I stayed in this place once a few years ago and had a better experience. The hotel is owned by a group of people who do not live in Santa Elena. On this visit there was another new manager with a genuine desire to make the place better. He claims it was total chaos when he took over and he is working on improvement.

The hotel is perfectly located near the center of Santa Elena, but backing up to forest. It should be quiet and convenient, but in fact is noisy as can be. A short walk takes you to a variety of lovely restaurants, shopping, etc. There is parking for a good number of vehicles. The WiFi does not work in the higher rooms. The breakfast service has been discontinued and, surprisingly, the early morning choices in town are few. The kiosk by the church is open early for traditional cuisine.

The hotel rooms remain rustic and comfortable. The climate is delightful for sleeping - blanket required. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

OK, the ugly side is the noise that now pervades all of Santa Elena, not just this hotel. There is a new super market across a small dip that is promoting itself with a bank of monster speakers (repetitive Latin pop) and they send sound trucks around town every 10 - 15 minutes blaring promotions and specials. This goes well into the evening and nobody knows when, or if, it will stop. In fact, this chain does this sort of promotion even for long-established stores.

Then there are the all-night-barking dogs, a very dedicated group. They surround the hotel bark intermittently all night long - 1,2,3, 4 AM. Combined with the supermarket speakers, I now consider Santa Elena the noisiest town in Cost Rica. The is not the fault of the Quetzal Inn and it impacts other hotels in town as well. That, said, it does not make for a restful getaway.

I had planned on staying several days, but fled the cacophony after one night.

I will certainly return to this beautiful area, but I think I will explore some of the more rural hotels outside of town.

Room Tip: If you want WiFi, you have to be in the lower section. The higher rooms also get hit with the noise...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Nestled in the wooded area of town with lots of wildlife including some tree monkeys. Close to town and other attractions. Clean and comfortable . Great value for the location and comfort. The only thing is plan on eating breakfast in town as the offered breakfast for $7 is meager and slow to arrive if time is a factor.

Room Tip: get the end room #1 for quiet at night as the walls are thin and you can hear the next room's co...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleswow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A lovely place to chill out both emotionally and climatically. Situated in the centre of Santa Elena down a quiet cul de sac backing onto woods and vegatation. Room was very clean and comfortable with nice verandah. Staff very pleasant and helpfull with nothing too much trouble.Entertained by monkeys and Blue crowned mot mot (national bird of Nicaragua). Breakfasts simple but adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 33 in Santa Elena
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 33 in Santa Elena
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 33 in Santa Elena
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
#13 of 33 in Santa Elena
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing