We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quetzal Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Santa Elena
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Tucan(Santa Elena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heliconia Hotel(Monteverde)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
27
26
11
4
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
26
11
4
12
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel had the greatest staff. The manager, Rick, was always there, very helpful & friendly throughout our 5 day stay. The breakfasts were freshly prepared, good, and very filling. The location is perfect, in the trees, a block from the noise of Santa Elena's streets. It was easy access into town & the bus while providing a space to get away & look for birds or watch monkeys hop around in the trees. The lobby was clean and attractive plus had reliable free WiFi. Our shower was amazingly hot with great pressure.
The only criticism is that the room could use a little of an update, but was clean & everything is good repair. For the price, it was a fantastic deal!

Room Tip: We stayed in the one with a balcony. One of our big windows completely overlooked a forest area & totally secluded.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We originally had booked the Monteverde Hostel Lodge (please see my review of it for more of a complete review), but because of a mixup with their email and booking via Orbitz, they did not have space for us. Instead, they moved us to the Quetzal Inn (hence the "accidentally stayed" part of the title).

The location of this hotel is actually great--right near the center of the town, so within a couple of minutes, you can walk to most everything. However, the first room (of our two-night stay) they put us in was pretty bad. The walls were extremely thin so we could hear the conversation in the next room as well as later in the night, the gentleman's very loud snoring. Granted, the situation for the hotel staff wasn't ideal given that it was late in the evening before we were "transferred" from Monteverde Hostel Lodge, so we tried to be good natured about it and just get to sleep.

It was unfortunate in the morning that the hot water in the shower didn't work and the sliding glass door on the shower was not on the rails--it was just kind of leaning up against the other door and the toilet did not flush. We called the maintenance in but they couldn't get it working. The helpful woman behind the front desk then moved us immediately to another room, closer to the front desk/entrance, which ended up being just fine. A comfortable bed and a nice warm shower.

If circumstances were different and we had booked the hotel on purpose, with a more reasonable check-in time and being booked into the second of our two rooms, my review would probably be much more positive. Just like the Monteverde Hostel Lodge, I believe the staff tried to do their best to make the situation better, it was just unfortunate that we had to spend so much time getting settled into rooms we could stay in rather than enjoying all the great things Monteverde has to offer.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the smaller rooms up the hill from the entrance, if you can help it--very noisy and very, very basic. The rooms near the front desk are much better!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Excellent stay overall. The lone staff member Rick was awesome, kind and chilled out. Place had good decor, with new wood furnishing and walls. Great locks on the door, and great water pressure in the shower. Amazing location in the center of Saint Elena, so close to grocery stores, the bus station and cafes. Huge communal kitchen and TV area. Lots of choices of tours and brochures as well. A few complaints would be that the water in the shower never got very warm, the rooms were very drafty with thin blankets so it got very cold at night, and the sheets on the bed were too small to fit the bed so they kept coming off and I was eventually sleeping on the mattress. Also the free breakfast was served starting at 7am but every tour group or bus departing Monteverde (including ours) left at 6:30am. Other than that, good value and great location.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are quiet and away from the common area
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoobyGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Used the hotel as our base for Monteverde. Hotel is nice and clean. Location is great (right in the heard of town but now on the main roads). And, you can't beat the value. Rick was very helpful with local information and also helped us sort out issues with our next reservation. The staff was also great and fed us early breakfast to help us with our early-morning activities. Feeding and watching white-face capuchins on the hotel roof was very exciting!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrld1trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Quetzal Inn. The hotel is located in a quite and peaceful part of town, near the rainforest. The rooms were cosy and beautiful. Sergio gave us a private night time jungle tour. We highly recommend to take this tour. Sergio, as a biologist, was the best tour guide we've ever had. He taught us very much about Costa Rican nature and wildlife.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roossss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews