We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location ~ Loved Having a Kitchen” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quetzal Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quetzal Inn
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location ~ Loved Having a Kitchen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights here while hiking in the area and it was an excellent place for us. The room was simple and clean and remarkably quiet even though the hotel is right in the center of town. The breakfasts were delicious and quickly served by friendly people. For us, the availability of a kitchen was a huge asset. It allowed us to make our own lunches so we didn't have to come off the trail in the middle of the day, and we could make ourselves simple, healthy, delicious dinners at a fraction of the restaurant cost (we're vegetarians with a little lacto and gluten intolerance thrown in, so finding food that works for us can be a challenge). It was a 5 minute walk to the bus to either of the reserves and that was a great resource.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building are quieter and we loved having a porch for hanging out and hanging thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanJaneMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    10
    4
    12
See reviews for
12
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I and our two young children stayed here just before Christmas. Rick, the manager, was very helpful and always there with any questions we had. We originally had planned to stay in another hotel as the reviews weren't great for this one in our Lonely Planet, but on looking at the hotel first hand, we decided to stay here. I am very happy we made that decision as Rick was instrumental in making our stay in the cloud forest unforgettable with perfect recommendations of night tours and zip wires. He was also very kind to our two boys, which helped us all feel very much at home. Thanks Rick for the great time in Santa Elena, am sure it wouldn't have been nearly as cool without your guidance. The rooms by the way were very clean and comfortable. Full marks, matthew from London by way of missouri

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This hotel had the greatest staff. The manager, Rick, was always there, very helpful & friendly throughout our 5 day stay. The breakfasts were freshly prepared, good, and very filling. The location is perfect, in the trees, a block from the noise of Santa Elena's streets. It was easy access into town & the bus while providing a space to get away & look for birds or watch monkeys hop around in the trees. The lobby was clean and attractive plus had reliable free WiFi. Our shower was amazingly hot with great pressure.
The only criticism is that the room could use a little of an update, but was clean & everything is good repair. For the price, it was a fantastic deal!

Room Tip: We stayed in the one with a balcony. One of our big windows completely overlooked a forest area &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We originally had booked the Monteverde Hostel Lodge (please see my review of it for more of a complete review), but because of a mixup with their email and booking via Orbitz, they did not have space for us. Instead, they moved us to the Quetzal Inn (hence the "accidentally stayed" part of the title).

The location of this hotel is actually great--right near the center of the town, so within a couple of minutes, you can walk to most everything. However, the first room (of our two-night stay) they put us in was pretty bad. The walls were extremely thin so we could hear the conversation in the next room as well as later in the night, the gentleman's very loud snoring. Granted, the situation for the hotel staff wasn't ideal given that it was late in the evening before we were "transferred" from Monteverde Hostel Lodge, so we tried to be good natured about it and just get to sleep.

It was unfortunate in the morning that the hot water in the shower didn't work and the sliding glass door on the shower was not on the rails--it was just kind of leaning up against the other door and the toilet did not flush. We called the maintenance in but they couldn't get it working. The helpful woman behind the front desk then moved us immediately to another room, closer to the front desk/entrance, which ended up being just fine. A comfortable bed and a nice warm shower.

If circumstances were different and we had booked the hotel on purpose, with a more reasonable check-in time and being booked into the second of our two rooms, my review would probably be much more positive. Just like the Monteverde Hostel Lodge, I believe the staff tried to do their best to make the situation better, it was just unfortunate that we had to spend so much time getting settled into rooms we could stay in rather than enjoying all the great things Monteverde has to offer.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the smaller rooms up the hill from the entrance, if you can help it--very noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorsey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Excellent stay overall. The lone staff member Rick was awesome, kind and chilled out. Place had good decor, with new wood furnishing and walls. Great locks on the door, and great water pressure in the shower. Amazing location in the center of Saint Elena, so close to grocery stores, the bus station and cafes. Huge communal kitchen and TV area. Lots of choices of tours and brochures as well. A few complaints would be that the water in the shower never got very warm, the rooms were very drafty with thin blankets so it got very cold at night, and the sheets on the bed were too small to fit the bed so they kept coming off and I was eventually sleeping on the mattress. Also the free breakfast was served starting at 7am but every tour group or bus departing Monteverde (including ours) left at 6:30am. Other than that, good value and great location.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are quiet and away from the common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoobyGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Used the hotel as our base for Monteverde. Hotel is nice and clean. Location is great (right in the heard of town but now on the main roads). And, you can't beat the value. Rick was very helpful with local information and also helped us sort out issues with our next reservation. The staff was also great and fed us early breakfast to help us with our early-morning activities. Feeding and watching white-face capuchins on the hotel roof was very exciting!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrld1trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Quetzal Inn. The hotel is located in a quite and peaceful part of town, near the rainforest. The rooms were cosy and beautiful. Sergio gave us a private night time jungle tour. We highly recommend to take this tour. Sergio, as a biologist, was the best tour guide we've ever had. He taught us very much about Costa Rican nature and wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roossss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Country Lodge
Monteverde Country Lodge
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
#23 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Viandante
Hotel El Viandante
#7 of 40 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 14 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quetzal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quetzal Inn

Property: Quetzal Inn
Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Quetzal Inn is located in Monte Verde amidst a rainforest and surrounded by wildlife. Free Wi-Fi access is available.Some rooms at the hotel have a balcony and the breakfast is included with the rate. Private bathrooms also come with a shower.At Hostel Quetzal Inn you will find a shared kitchen that is fully equipped. Guests can also explore a variety of restaurants nearby like La Maravilla, Monteverde Reserve Restaurant, Bar Amigos or Café Colibrí, all which are about 100 metres away.Other facilities offered include shared lounge, a tour desk and a laundry. The front desk offers safety boxes a common use lounge and a computer all guests can use.Juan Santamaría International Airport is 77 km away. The property offers free parking an is 100 metres from Santa Elena's town center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quetzal Hotel Santa Elena
Quetzal Inn Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing