We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Orquideas(Santa Elena)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$30
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
US$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
235
196
75
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
196
75
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird feedershiking trailscloud forestzip wireoriginal canopyrestaurant windowscosta ricahomemade granolalocal townnight walkthree choicesnature loversguided nightamerican breakfasttin roofrestaurant staffcanopy walk
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed here in Aug 2008 as part of a tour of Costa Rica. The lodge itself is basic with all the rooms being in the form of cabins which are very sparse and not the most conforable.

There is a small bar and restaurant where the food was OK but apart from that nothing else.

What makes up for the basic lodge is in its location set 15 mins away from Santa Elena in the heart of the cloud forest. It offers a great place to watch hummingbirds etc and this more than makes up for the long rough trip up to Monteverde and the lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in April 2007. We had a wonderful stay. Wilbert and his staff were friendly and most welcoming. The tours arranged from the Lodge were the best I have been on (my fifth visit to Monteverde) . The roof was a bit noisy (didn't bother me, but my wife noticed it), but nothing to dampen our spirits or sleep. Food was great. Zipline (on grounds) a lot of fun! Trails and grounds amazing! A step above eco-tourism without being (as my wife says) foffie!

This is always our choice when in Monteverde!

Stayed: April 2007
Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

The road to the hotel was horrible and that was the best part of the stay. The beds must me 25 yrs old, pillows beyond their day and bugs everywhere in the room. I complained to both the maid and the front desk who said that this is common in Costa Rica. The roof of the cabins are made of tin so when it rains the sound is amplified greatly.

Basically the view is gorgeous form the restaurant the rooms a just a bit nicer that pitching a tent in the forest or camping.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ericsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of Costa Rica. Beware the “Costa Rican” massage road that you need to take to get there, it was undoubtedly the worst road I have ever been on!

Room – Quite large with lots of windows and the all wood interior gave it a very natural feel. On the downside were 2 items: (1) no heating meant that we were extremely cold all night, and (2) the walls are very thin so you can hear the activities of the next room very clearly. Be advised that the rooms do not have a TV or phone.
Food – Continental breakfast consisted of a plate of fruit and some toast, kind of weird but oddly filling. The lunches and dinners that we had were very good and reasonably priced. You can always head into town (a short drive away) if you are looking for something different.
Activities – The lodge is located right in the cloud forest and they have created a number of hiking trails that allow you to explore the surroundings up close. Also located right at the lodge is the Canopy Tour which, in my opinion, you must do. You get to do 7 zips and 2 repels and it offers a great combination of stunning views and excitement.
Don’t expect much excitement after the sun goes down; there really isn’t much to do. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, especially after a long day of exploring the trails, but it would be nice to have some way to unwind a bit.
Overall – We had an enjoyable time at the Cloud Forest Lodge but 2 nights was definitely enough for us. It was very cool and wet (of course, what do you expect in a cloud) which do to the lack of heat in the rooms began to take a toll on us.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

We asked our tour operator [--] to book us 2 nights at the Cloud Forest lodge in Santa Elena/Monteverde as we had read some poor feedback about the welcome from the staff at the Trapp Family Lodge. The Cloud Forest Lodge is 20 mins walk out of town so a car is helpful. The lodge is high up on the hillside out of town and has spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean with a beautiful sunset every night. Don't expect 5 star rooms with TV and A/C (not needed in Nov) - the lodge offers classic cabins (you don't go there to spend hours in the room). In the main area you have the reception, bar, restaurant, lounge, internet, gift shop area. The enclosed viewing area/terrace has seats where you can watch the hummingbirds (see also saw a sloth) or chat with the other guests. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lodge manager took us out into the garden to look at the various birds nesting at night. Although the menu was somewhat limited the food was fine. Within the lodge grounds there are a number of Cloud Forest trails plus the Original Canopy Trail Zip Lines. I loved the Zip Lines but there were all over too quickly !!!
We go away remembering the evening we watched the hummingbirds feeding and the sun set in the distance - it was magical.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Bluebirdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews