We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adventure at the Cloud Forest Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adventure at the Cloud Forest Lodge”
Reviewed 4 January 2009

The Cloud Forest Lodge is very rustic. You have to take about a mile long ride up to the Lodge from Santa Elena and the road is very rough. It is ok to walk down to the town, I didn't want to hike back up, but you could, just know that it is tough. Fortunately, it is a cheap cab ride. The rooms are like mountain cabins and are large and spacious. The bathrooms are big too and have very hot water. The view from the porch of the cabins is awesome and the hiking trails are fun. We saw a coral snake as we hiked along behind the cabins. The roofs of the cabins are tin and it was very windy when we were there. It is a bit loud but we came to Monteverde for the adventure and the views and we got both. The cabins are not heated so travelers should be aware of that. Even in the summer Monteverde can be cooler than much of the country. The sunset veiws from the lobby/restaurant were fantastic. There are hummingbirds feeding just outside the windows and the birds let you get up close to them. All of the people who worked at the Lodge Roxana, Gustavo and Wayner (spelling?) were so helpful and nice. They made our stay by being so open and friendly. You should go to the Lodge knowing what to expect. These are rustic cabins set in the Cloud Forest. They do not have ammenities, the beds are ok and the pillows are bad. I thought it was well worth for a couple of nights.

  • Liked — The rustic setting and the views
  • Disliked — The beds, pillows and the loud roofs
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank at9x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    155
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
235
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

Aftter you've made the torturous drive on a dirt road riddled with potholes and ruts to reach Monteverde, Cloud Forest Lodge is a fine place to rest and unwind.

The lodge is on 70 acres of primary and secondary forest near the end of a steep, rutted dirt road. Though it's bumpy to get to, you are amply rewarded with a fine view and food that is both delicious and reasonably priced. You also are treated to quite a show from the hummingbirds, which dart about the feeders hanging outside the large windows.

The green bungalows are perched on a ridge overlooking the reception area and dining room. It's a lovely, well-groomed setting. Inside, the bungalows are clean, the king bed remarkably comfortable and the bathroom spacious, offering a hair dryer and plenty of hot water in the shower.

We don't imagine that any or many of Monteverde /Santa Elena inns are plush a la Hyatt or W properties, yet the Rough Guide called this lodge "low-priced" and "one of the classiest in the area." We agree that at $100, it was the least expensive hotel during our two-week stay in Costa Rica -- and a hospitable one at that.

We're not sure, though, how it earned the classy part of the Rough description since the bungalows lack TV, AC and certain fineries like robes. Perhaps the Rough Guide writer, like us, was won over by the staff, whom we found to be among the best you'll encounter in any country, anywhere. Classy is a good word to use in describing them.

My husband and I are usually easy guests for innkeepers. We don't complain, cause trouble or make noise. Somehow that changed during our one-night stay at Cloud Forest. I locked the room key in the bungalow, and then we together locked the car keys in the rented SUV.

The kind staff handled each incident with smiles and ease. (You should have seen their ingenuity in unlocking our car door with a hook borrowed from a hummingbird feeder.)

Would we recommend this place to a fellow traveler? You bet., and we hope to come back. Next time we'll be careful with the keys.

  • Liked — The staff, comfy bed, food and hummingbirds.
  • Disliked — nothing negative comes to mind
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda22124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed here in Aug 2008 as part of a tour of Costa Rica. The lodge itself is basic with all the rooms being in the form of cabins which are very sparse and not the most conforable.

There is a small bar and restaurant where the food was OK but apart from that nothing else.

What makes up for the basic lodge is in its location set 15 mins away from Santa Elena in the heart of the cloud forest. It offers a great place to watch hummingbirds etc and this more than makes up for the long rough trip up to Monteverde and the lodge.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — It is very basic
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon in April 2007. We had a wonderful stay. Wilbert and his staff were friendly and most welcoming. The tours arranged from the Lodge were the best I have been on (my fifth visit to Monteverde) . The roof was a bit noisy (didn't bother me, but my wife noticed it), but nothing to dampen our spirits or sleep. Food was great. Zipline (on grounds) a lot of fun! Trails and grounds amazing! A step above eco-tourism without being (as my wife says) foffie!

This is always our choice when in Monteverde!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank DPier063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

The road to the hotel was horrible and that was the best part of the stay. The beds must me 25 yrs old, pillows beyond their day and bugs everywhere in the room. I complained to both the maid and the front desk who said that this is common in Costa Rica. The roof of the cabins are made of tin so when it rains the sound is amplified greatly.

Basically the view is gorgeous form the restaurant the rooms a just a bit nicer that pitching a tent in the forest or camping.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — bugs. uncomfortable beds, doors that do not fully close to let insects in room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ericsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of Costa Rica. Beware the “Costa Rican” massage road that you need to take to get there, it was undoubtedly the worst road I have ever been on!

Room – Quite large with lots of windows and the all wood interior gave it a very natural feel. On the downside were 2 items: (1) no heating meant that we were extremely cold all night, and (2) the walls are very thin so you can hear the activities of the next room very clearly. Be advised that the rooms do not have a TV or phone.
Food – Continental breakfast consisted of a plate of fruit and some toast, kind of weird but oddly filling. The lunches and dinners that we had were very good and reasonably priced. You can always head into town (a short drive away) if you are looking for something different.
Activities – The lodge is located right in the cloud forest and they have created a number of hiking trails that allow you to explore the surroundings up close. Also located right at the lodge is the Canopy Tour which, in my opinion, you must do. You get to do 7 zips and 2 repels and it offers a great combination of stunning views and excitement.
Don’t expect much excitement after the sun goes down; there really isn’t much to do. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, especially after a long day of exploring the trails, but it would be nice to have some way to unwind a bit.
Overall – We had an enjoyable time at the Cloud Forest Lodge but 2 nights was definitely enough for us. It was very cool and wet (of course, what do you expect in a cloud) which do to the lack of heat in the rooms began to take a toll on us.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank David1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2007

We asked our tour operator [--] to book us 2 nights at the Cloud Forest lodge in Santa Elena/Monteverde as we had read some poor feedback about the welcome from the staff at the Trapp Family Lodge. The Cloud Forest Lodge is 20 mins walk out of town so a car is helpful. The lodge is high up on the hillside out of town and has spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean with a beautiful sunset every night. Don't expect 5 star rooms with TV and A/C (not needed in Nov) - the lodge offers classic cabins (you don't go there to spend hours in the room). In the main area you have the reception, bar, restaurant, lounge, internet, gift shop area. The enclosed viewing area/terrace has seats where you can watch the hummingbirds (see also saw a sloth) or chat with the other guests. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the lodge manager took us out into the garden to look at the various birds nesting at night. Although the menu was somewhat limited the food was fine. Within the lodge grounds there are a number of Cloud Forest trails plus the Original Canopy Trail Zip Lines. I loved the Zip Lines but there were all over too quickly !!!
We go away remembering the evening we watched the hummingbirds feeding and the sun set in the distance - it was magical.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — The menu could have been limiting if staying for more than a two nights
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Bluebirdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing