We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This hotel was pre-arranged for me as part of a tour package. I did not know what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised. It exists in a very calm and peaceful setting, and almost everyone has noted how this all makes for a great stay. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly, and informative. It is out of the way, but easy and cheap to get to and from Santa Elena which was much busier and noisier, but they do offer restaurants, market, and souvenir stores as well as a visitor center, so would recommend visiting to buy necessities or to have a meal. I stayed two nights and went on a canopy zipline tour on one of the days mentioned. I had dinner in Santa Elena, and forgot some papers at the restaurant. Roxann, who was working the reception desk, helped me retrieve all my paperwork, and it cost me a fraction of what it would have cost if I had gone back into town to retrieve them myself. Can't say enough good things about the wonderful staff.

If you're looking for a relaxing stay in a plush environment, this is it. The reviewer who mentioned that it was cold was correct. I was there the second week in June, and it got really cold, so be forewarned and be prepared.

The hummingbirds and bird variety in general were fun to observe from the restaurant observation deck or while having a meal. The food was also very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    155
    69
    15
    9
See reviews for
93
235
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We found this hotel by chance, as we were driving around Santa Elena. We had been staying at another hotel in-town, but were hoping to find something quieter amidst the cloud forest...And this was just right. This lodge is just outside the town of Santa Elena It is quiet, the staff very polite, and our room was clean. Yes, the road to get to Monteverde/Santa Elena is quite rough, as are most roads in CR. Yes, there are some bugs, but again, YOU ARE IN THE JUNGLE! DUH! I am horribly terrified of most creatures that have more than 4 legs, and I was fine! Those who whine about it should not have come to CR if they were expecting the rainforest to have beautifully paved roads, rest stops and Starbucks! Anyway, this hotel was quaint, and the restaurant was not spectacular, but had a beautiful view. We really enjoyed our stay here. Each morning we awoke to singing birds; had breakfast (included with your stay) and watched the hummingbirds, birds and squirrels fly and frolic outside the picture windows(Which are sometimes left open :-) ) In the evening, we sat outside our bungalow, drank wine and watched the millions of stars overhead. There a few trails on the grounds of the property, which are nice. I really loved this place, and would reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dali82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOlland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

We have had an amazing time in the Cloudforest Lodge. However, we were clearly out of season, which meant it was really empty and not all facilities were there. Nevertheless, we enjoyed the nice cabin with porch for some relaxing and rain watching. Loads of nice activities to do there in the area. The road to and from the Monteverde area were tough due to the weather conditions (we had to wait for hours while the road was being reconstructed).

Food was OK, portions were huge. Lovely to see the hummingbirds feeding just outside the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaasmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights. This hotel is far from everything. Would've like to stayed closer to town so that we can walk around and explore. The food at the lodge restaurant was mediocre. A great restaurant called, El Marquez, is located in the center of the town. Our room had some big cracks in the door so maybe that's why the room had so many bugs! we were constantly killing beetles, moths, ants, etc.. make sure you bring bug repellents since you are surrounded by the forest. the plus is that it's close to the Selvatura Park where we went zipling. Tons of fun!! also the room did not have a tv.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We had two days here at the end of an 8 day tour of Costa Rica - it was our fourth lodge and I thought it very charming indeed. It is simple and no frills - accomodation is in wooden huts which while relatively basic are roomy and comfortableand the bathroom was large with a good sized shower. Everywhere was clean. The restaurant is pleasant, food was fine if unspectcular, but I had enought choice as a vegetarian. There is a beautiful light bar area with views out towardsthe pacific. There are also hummingbird feeders and it was lovely just to relax with a drink and watch these beautiful birds. Staff were very pleasant and helpful both at reception and in the restaurant/bar. The lodge is in a great place for visiting the cloud forests at Monteverde and St Elena. You can just about walk into town - but you would probably need transport or at least rely on taxis for the return journey up a very steep hill. Do beware the weather - it can be chilly up there in cloud forest territory and we had some torrential rain and very high winds overnight. (which were very loud indeed against the windows and roof of our room) Take waterproofs and warm clothes to this area just in case.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixie_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We had our own lodge with a cute little porch in front. The lodge was surprisingly roomy with a large bed. The bathroom was fairly roomy as well! There was lots of space for us to put our things down.

There are also several hiking paths around the area that you can venture off into. In addition, there is a nice viewing room attached to the main lodge where there are comfy chairs to view the scenery and humming birds that come by.

The food was excellent.. I had pork chops Costa Rican style that were very delicious. The breakfast was good too!!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBuggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

This is the first place we stayed that hadn't been recommended by a friend. We were pleasantly surprised. After the long and breathtaking drive from San Jose we were greeted by a wonderful staff and shown to our room/cabin. The rooms are huge, as was the bed. The bathroom was surprisingly huge and impeccably clean. There is no heat in these rooms so it's very important to pack accordingly. The grounds were beautiful, I wish we would've scheduled more time to explore. The resteraunt was good, not amazing, but good. I immensely enjoyed the staff, they were very friendly and helpful. Outside of one of the windows of the resteraunt were a few hummingbird feeders. Nothing beats eating your gallo pinto and drinking cafe con leche while watching the many species of hummingbirds flutter right next to you. From the resteraunt you can see the Pacific Ocean, gulf of Nicoya. Beautiful! We almost reserved a room at a hotel furter up the mountain, after visiting it and comparing it to the Cloud Forest Lodge, I'm confident that we made the right decision. I would stay there again in an instant.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArdaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Property: Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing