We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sensational!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto ontario
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sensational!!!!”
Reviewed 6 January 2008

before i got to Monteverde I was so nervous about where we were to be staying ( Rainbow Valley Lodge) it was so inexpensive that I couldnt believe it had everything that its little website declared. But we went any way ,on the assurance and prompting of my son..And I am so glad. Wow! It was spectacular. what a view, ( (from the top of a mountain thru the valley and all the way out to the pacific coast) The owner Rolf was so hospitable and was so sincerely interested in making all of his guests comfortable and in awe of their surroundings and visit. He goes the 2nd mile to get you everything and everywhere you want. The rooms are meticulous and lovely and tastefully decorated. We had several visits outside our room by capachin monkeys and coatis. they were very playful and friendly. Rolf arranged all the tours , taxis and transportaion that we required, And his bookings were always less expensive than ones we had sourced ourselves.
All in All - a great experience. Cant wait to go back

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    66
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
132
271
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2008

Just south of Santa Elena, we drove right up to the Rainbow Valley Lodge, where we noted the sign "Minnesotan Spoken Here". Rolf, the owner, was extremely helpful during our visit to Monteverde and Selvatura. He arranged a tour of Monteverde with "Rafa", an excellent and experienced guide. We were extremely lucky to spot 5 quetzals during our tour!

While staying at the Rainbow Lodge, expect visits from a family of coati-mundis and white-faced monkeys. The monkeys are quite inquisitive. If they spot a banana in your room, they will hang around your door constantly!

This is an excellent value and ideal location for your stay around Monteverde!

  • Liked — Extremely helpful owner, great location
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

We spent 3 nights in the top room (book this one if you can) at Rolf’ Rainbow Valley Lodge. It was perfect as we saw coatis, vultures, and on the final morning a troupe monkeys including a baby from our “viewing area” in our room. Rolf is the best – he sorted us out with a jeep-boat-jeep from arenal before we arrived and organised a private tour with Rafa (very informative and good guide) at Monteverde National Park and the Aventura canopy tour … each of these trips was great at the best price around and we wholeheartedly recommend Rolf’s advice.

The hotel is less than 15 mins walk to the centre of Santa Elena, though Rolf drove us in with his pick-up probably 3 times and a taxi is about $1.50 one way. There’s not much to Santa Elena as a town but if you need a base to visit the Monteverde region this place is clean, cheap and gives you great views of the valley and wildlife with a really friendly owner!

If you do go, you have to see the Frog Museum (ranario) in the evening

  • Liked — The friendly owner and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We had a great experience with stay at the Valley Lodge! Rolf, the owner, was extremely helpful even before we got to Costa Rica. He helped us plan our itinerary over the email and gave honest opinions and helpful tips on what to do and avoid. When we got to Santa Elena, we were mesmerised by the view from the lodge. Accommodations are clean, location is good too, the view was spectacular. If you're looking for a 5 star type of accommodation, Valley Ldoge is not it but if you want to mingle with the local (well, almost, Rolf is an American who bought real estate in CR and has been living there for a while now), be comfy, enjoy the view and a nice, clean place to spend the night at an affordable price, I highly recommend Valley Lodge.

  • Liked — The owner and the view!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4mSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We were in San Jose and headed for Monteverde. I went online to check out hotels on the mountain and was searching for a place to stay that would be very close to nature, quiet and inexpensive.
I went online and found Rainbow Valley Lodge. It appeared to be just what I was looking for but for some reason didnt make a reservation.
We headed up the mountain and just before reaching Santa Elena town noticed the sign for Rainbow Valley Lodge. Since it had been so long since our last visit there we drove on into Santa Elena just to see the town again. We saw some other hotels but they were so big and seemed so impersonal......we turned around and went back to Rainbow Valley Lodge and are glad that we did.
We spoke to the owner Rolf, who is a super nice guy and though we would have preferred the upper room (it was already occupied) we stayed in the lower room for almost 2 weeks.
Rolf was very attentive and truly went "the extra mile" to make our stay there as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and right on the edge of the jungle. We had capuchin monkeys in the trees just 10 feet from our front door and the Coati's would come fairly regularly as well. There are many guayaba (guava) trees around the lodge which the monkeys and coati's love to eat.
The grounds are nicely landscaped and maintaned and the rooms are down a driveway a good way from the main road so its very very private and tranquil.
There are literally hundreds of books available in the office if you need something to read and Rolf is happy to loan them out.
Another nice thing is that you can also book tours and travel at the lodge so if you're not sure what to do Rolf can give you ideas. He's gone on alot of the local tours and attractions so based on what you want is able to suggest things that you'll enjoy.
When we were there we saw rainbows almost every morning.
Its got to be the best deal in town and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Very tranquil
  • Disliked — there was nothing about it we didnt like
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BDT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

If you go to Monteverde you have to stay at the Rainbow Valley Lodge. Rolf, the owner, was so helpful. We have been travelling for over three months and this hotel was by far the best place we have stayed. It is well worth the money and Rolf is very friendly. He gave us loads of travel advice and helped us organise trips. The room was very clean and there is a great view of the cloud forest. There was also a friendly visit from a group of coati’s outside our door. It was quite but still a short walk to the main town. Overall a great place to stay.

Jo and Stu, England

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_StuLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

My wife and I have extensive international travel experience and decided to tour various parts of Costa Rica during the summer of 2007. We decided to include the Monteverde region in our itinerary because of its cloud forests, nature walks, suspended bridges, rip lines, rafting and other outdoor activities. The area has many choices of accommodations. We decided to stay in a wonderful place called The Rainbow Valley Lodge set back off the main road to town from San Jose. It is a new 2 apartment arrangement literally hanging over a high edge of the Santa Elena cloud forest. We booked the spectacular upper room which has one very large room with super comfortable queen size bed, folding table and two chairs, a closet and dry sink and several small tables. There are lots of lights and AC outlets. The bathroom is new and clean with hot water and excellent pressure and NO suicide shower. The best part of the house, however, is the adjoining enclosed porch with huge sliding windows on all four sides (one wall faces the large inner room). Here, in addition to a cushioned four seat bench and matching chair and table, there is a small kitchenette with sink, microwave, refrigerator, etc. From the first day of our stay we literally came face to face with a number of indigenous animals including white faced monkeys who climb the berry trees just outside the window. The number and types of butterflies and birds are equally special. The pictures that we have from this vantage point are incredible. Adjacent to the apartment is a lovely covered look out area with equally great views. Another benefit of this apartment is the closeness to downtown St. Elena, about a 15 minute walk. Here we found a number of passable restaurants, tour companies, a great bookstore, ATM, 2 supermarkets and a terrific bakery with arguably the best coffee in town. Rolf, a Minnesotan and the owner of the property, went way beyond the call of duty in so many ways. He guided us to the best nature tour guides, restaurants and hidden gems of the area and provided items (umbrellas, flashlights, etc.) to insure even a better time. He drove us in his pickup to town and made calls to connect us to many locals or to get us discounts on trips, accommodation and transportation (to the Arenal area), etc. Any bus from San Jose will let you off at the property just before the bus terminal (last stop) in Santa Elena. The price was incredibly low with a substantial discount for longer stays. Photos can be seen at the helpful website: [--]. It is without reservation that I recommend this rare find to anyone visiting the Monteverde cloud forest area looking for a comfortable, well-maintained apartment in a stunning location with great personalized attention from the owner.

  • Liked — View, location, great owner......
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing