We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainbow Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Rainbow Valley”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was a great place to stay - lots of wildlife and rainbows! It's a comfortable space with a great view. The room is nice because it has ambient lighting (good for reading) and a separate balcony that makes it feel more spacious.The host is very helpful in booking activities and we had some excellent meals in town. I think it's definitely worth it to hike more than one of the reserves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    62
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
128
259
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Of the 7 accommodations on our Costa Rica trip, this was our favorite. We stayed in the cabin with its 3 beds, 2 bathrooms (and 2 showers with hot water pipes), full kitchen, and a porch. There's WIFI and an Internet-connected computer at the office. It cost $60/night but was easily worth $100+. We stayed for 4 nights and were greeted each morning by at least one coati. One morning, a troop of 7 white-faced monkeys also stopped by.

The owner, Rolf, is a very friendly Minnesota expat and an amazingly helpful host who speaks Spanish well. Even before we arrived, he provided helpful advise and arranged transportation from La Fortuna. Once we got there, he had lots more information about the many places he personally visited and coupons for local attractions and restaurants. He reserved tours (and their rides), called taxis, and arranged transportation to our next destination. He provided us with a needle and thread and an extra flashlight when we needed them and kindly did a load of laundry when our schedule made it problematic to get this chore done in town.

The lodge is a 10 to 15 minute walk (or a $2 cab ride) south of Santa Elena's main commercial area, which might not suit some, but we enjoyed the peace and quiet. The accommodations are down a very short hill from the main road, which also adds to the peace and quiet. Most people should be a able to climb the hill without any problem, but if you do need to catch your breath, then there's a beautiful view of the mountains and valley to enjoy while you do so.

We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

As others have said, don't come here expecting luxury - the accommodations are rustic, but comfortable. The location is lovely. While there are no guarantees, I'm betting you will see animals, close up. We stayed for 2 nights in the upper unit and enjoyed the lodge - but what really made the stay for us is the host: Rolf. He was available and helpful. We followed his recommendations and used his discounts - all to good avail. Think of him as a combination concerned owner and super-dedicated concierge. Without him, the Lodge would just be a good value place to stay. With him it becomes something special. Thanks Rolf!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitsafghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The Rainbow Valley Lodge is a comfortable and clean hotel, nicely designed, and the owner Rolf is a great host. It is more expensive than some of the places you can find in town, but we had a large, nicely designed room with a kitchen. It was perfect to share with our son. The animals are a bit aggressive; I understand that Rolf is going to implement a no feed policy which should help. The restaurants in the area are so so with the exception of Sabor Tico which is outside of the town across from the soccer field. I would recommend the night hike for a local excursion.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgaribaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

This was my favorite lodging during our trip, mostly because of the owner. Rolf is a genuinely nice guy who looks out for his guests. He booked our tours and shuttles for us and was always up for conversation. The view from the upper room is amazing and it feels more like a guest bedroom than a hotel. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cataclysmblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congers, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Me and my husband stayed in the Rainbow Valley Lodge for two nights in September. Perfect location, walking distance to downtown and at the same time surrounded by nature. We had beautiful view on cloud forest from our deck. Cabin was very cozy and clean with nice kitchen. Every morning we had visitors - group of cute coatis eating bananas from our hands. The owner - Rolf is an amazing host and good man. He took the best care of us. He made us feel very welcome and assured warm atmosphere. I couldn’t imagine better get away!!! Monteverde is the most wonderful area in Costa Rica with very friendly people. I strongly recommend Rainbow Valley Lodge! We didn’t feel like leaving this place. If you ever decide to visit Monteverde region, don’t think twice- this is the place to stay. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING ROLF! Be well.
-Patrycja & Kamil

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrycja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We struck gold when we found Rainbow Valley Lodge. I stayed with my wife and three boys (11,9 and 5) in a sweet cabin with kitchen, separate adult bedroom and beds for my boys. Coatis visited us on the deck that overlooks the jungle - a highlight for my boys. Rolf took amazing care of us - hooked us up with the best guide ever for a 1/2 day in Curi Concha Cloud Forest. So amazing that we went back a second time: quetzals, bellbirds, snakes. Rolf's place is simple and beautiful - all you need in the perfect location just 2 minutes from town but in the jungle. Also close to one of the best zipline outfits in the country. Stay there!

Room Tip: The cabin is ideal for a family
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
1,272 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing