We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, helpful host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, helpful host”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The RVL was the perfect place to stay in Monteverde - simple, yet clean and comfortable room, beautiful views (rainbows included!), helpful host who provided great recommendations, and coatis just hanging out, looking cute! We stayed in the upper room and enjoyed the views from the kitchen area. It was really nice to be outside Santa Elena, and not in the thick of the tourism. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    64
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
131
267
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It lives up to its name, with spectacular rainbows most afternoons as there is so much moisture. A nice large cabin, with a big balcony looking out at the forest which covers the steep slope. One or two minor things not working in the cabin, but it was well equiped. A coati came visiting morning and evening, wanting the bananas provided in the rooms by the owner Rolf. He goes out of his way to be helpful, and did a lot to make my visit to Monteverde successful, recommending just which areas to visit and what guides to use.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Hands down, this was our favorite place to stay in Costa Rica!

Owner: Rolf, the Minnesotan ex-pat who owns the RVL, is the best! Before we even got to Monteverde, he helped us arrange our jeep-boat-jeep transfer from La Fortuna (and our travel onward to the Pacific coast), and at a price significantly lower than anyone else we met was paying. Once we arrived, he helped us to get all of our bags down to the rooms, showed us all of the facilities and features, and talked to us about the many options for activities in the Monteverde area. He helped to set us up with ziplining and hiking (the latter in the Curi-Cancha reserve, which was EXCELLENT), went over the local map, gave us a ton of coupons to local activities and dining, and discussed the food options. Then, throughout our stay, he checked in with us to make sure that everything was going well, called taxis for us, etc. We also enjoyed just chatting with him! He was absolutely an ideal host - I wish that there could be a Rolf everywhere we travel!

Rooms: Both on the website, and in our email correspondence, Rolf makes sure to emphasize that the rooms are simple (we rented the upper and lower rooms for our family of 4). I suppose that they are simple, compared to some posh place, but they certainly more than met all of our needs! The beds were very comfortable, the shower was refreshing, and there was plenty of space for all of our stuff. The kitchenette in the upper room let us prepare some cheap meals (the Super Compro in town is quite extensive for grocery shopping), and having a minifridge and microwave was great for some cold beer and popcorn at the end of the day. The views from the rooms over the valley were OUTSTANDING. It was absolutely gorgeous looking into the forest at the beginning and end of each day, and it was fun to see the local coati peeking in at us from the branch of an adjacent tree.

Location: The lodge has all of the benefits of a peaceful, quiet location, with the conveniences of Santa Elena just a short 10 minute walk away (our kids are 6 and 9, and we made it to the edge of town in 10 minutes, easy). We walked in the daylight, and took taxis in the dark, which were just $1-2. I wouldn't want to stay in Santa Elena itself, as it is a bit of a mess of cars and shops, so this was a perfect compromise.

In summary, if there is any space available at the RVL for your visit, book it now!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MechTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I never wrote a review on tripadvisor, but I found this hotel from tripadvisor and enjoyed it a lot. To express my appreciation for the website, as well as for the hotel, I wrote my 1st review. Thanks!

We stayed at lower room in the Rainbow Valley Lodge for 3 nights this holiday season and greatly enjoyed our stay. The host Rolf is extremely helpful and answered so many of my questions before we went. When we arrived the 1st day, he provided us all different sorts of information for the nearby attractions, with coupons for those attractions, also for the restaurants. He helped us to reserve some tour trips, jeep/boat/jeep transportation to Arenal, and we didn't need to worry a thing! He also offered us ride twice when we were there, helped us to save as much as he can. Thanks a lot, Rolf!

The room is clean and basic but cozy, I liked the color and the fabric of the window curtain, it is just perfect tropical color and give us warm home feeling. we didn't have a kitchen but had a small refrigerator which could be used to store some cold drinks and small items. There was also a safe that you can leave something you don't want to carry around, one time we left our camera with Rolf when we went to do zipline since it is a bit bigger for the safe.

The rooms are down the hill to oversee the green valley. So we can sit at the porch, drink cold beer at night to enjoy the starry sky with cloud coming by quickly and sip coffee in the sunny morning, take a deep breath of fresh air. A coati came by to our front pouch every morning and afternoon to say hi, it is a wonderful feeling as such!

It is about 10 to 15 minutes walk to the triangle center in the town but we very much enjoyed the walking everyday. The view of such lush green valley and the distant Nicoya coastline was breathtaking, I couldn't much happier to stay there for longer time.:)

Thanks, Rolf, I will certainly come back if I ever visit Monteverde again!

Janet

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was a great place to stay - lots of wildlife and rainbows! It's a comfortable space with a great view. The room is nice because it has ambient lighting (good for reading) and a separate balcony that makes it feel more spacious.The host is very helpful in booking activities and we had some excellent meals in town. I think it's definitely worth it to hike more than one of the reserves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Of the 7 accommodations on our Costa Rica trip, this was our favorite. We stayed in the cabin with its 3 beds, 2 bathrooms (and 2 showers with hot water pipes), full kitchen, and a porch. There's WIFI and an Internet-connected computer at the office. It cost $60/night but was easily worth $100+. We stayed for 4 nights and were greeted each morning by at least one coati. One morning, a troop of 7 white-faced monkeys also stopped by.

The owner, Rolf, is a very friendly Minnesota expat and an amazingly helpful host who speaks Spanish well. Even before we arrived, he provided helpful advise and arranged transportation from La Fortuna. Once we got there, he had lots more information about the many places he personally visited and coupons for local attractions and restaurants. He reserved tours (and their rides), called taxis, and arranged transportation to our next destination. He provided us with a needle and thread and an extra flashlight when we needed them and kindly did a load of laundry when our schedule made it problematic to get this chore done in town.

The lodge is a 10 to 15 minute walk (or a $2 cab ride) south of Santa Elena's main commercial area, which might not suit some, but we enjoyed the peace and quiet. The accommodations are down a very short hill from the main road, which also adds to the peace and quiet. Most people should be a able to climb the hill without any problem, but if you do need to catch your breath, then there's a beautiful view of the mountains and valley to enjoy while you do so.

We had a great stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

As others have said, don't come here expecting luxury - the accommodations are rustic, but comfortable. The location is lovely. While there are no guarantees, I'm betting you will see animals, close up. We stayed for 2 nights in the upper unit and enjoyed the lodge - but what really made the stay for us is the host: Rolf. He was available and helpful. We followed his recommendations and used his discounts - all to good avail. Think of him as a combination concerned owner and super-dedicated concierge. Without him, the Lodge would just be a good value place to stay. With him it becomes something special. Thanks Rolf!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitsafghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,081 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing