We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in rainbow lodge 2 nights. We were welcomed by Christian the manager. He has been so helpful for the three days. He suggested different activities, booked everything for us, with discounts. He is also a local guide, so we did a day tour and a night tour with him in the cloud forest.

The room was also very nice and clean with a super view and a small kitchen. If you come to Santa Elena, you have to come here! Great place and most of all, excellent service!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alegregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    62
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
129
263
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hercules, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This IS the place to stay while in Monteverde. We rented all 3 units for 3 nights. We were here last in June 2010 and right away noticed a few improvements. There is now a small office / travel center as you come in with lots of books, maps and brochures to look at. There are also now safes in the rooms. Although Rolf took our reservation months ago and emailed me detailed directions he was out of town during our stay. Not a problem. Our new hosts Christian and Hazel were fantastic. Christian, a local guide, explained all of our excursion options to us and booked activities for us as needed. He also took us on a hike up to the continental divide and showed us various animals, plants and birds along the way. We all noticed how passionate he is about his job and it made it much more memorable for all of us. Thanks again to Rolf, Christian and Hazel for making us feel so welcome. We did miss Bobtail though....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepperbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had three nights in Santa Elena and had an absolutely fabulous experience at Rainbow Valley Lodge. The owner, Rolf, was superbly helpful in booking the room for us and making sure we knew how to get there via public transportation from Arenal. We were originally planning to take a bus but he suggested the much quicker and cheap Jeep Boat Jeep. He even set up the arrangements for us and got us a deal that was at least $15 cheaper per person than what we were quoted by a local tour company.

We stayed in the largest of the three units and it was a very nice and functional home away from home. While not decorated in the latest styles, everything was functional and clean. There was a kitchenette area which allowed us to make our own breakfasts a few days. The space had two bathrooms and a separate bedroom which worked well for traveling with a young child.

The space led out to a patio where we were able to meet the resident coati (who was very friendly!)

When we arrived, a born-and-raised-in-Santa-Elena man named Christian and his wife Hazel were taking over managing the facilities. Christian was just as friendly and helpful as Rolf. He went out of his way to make sure we had what we needed, arranged several sightseeing activities for us, and scouted out the best pricing and lined up transportation to our next place. Christian is also a local guide and he took us on fabulous guided night tour of the cloudforest where he showed us all sorts of birds, a viper, tarantula, bats, walking sticks, and other creatures.

This is THE place to go for personalized service, a comfortable place to stay, and excellent rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidgeandMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The Rainbow Valley Lodge was a great way to start our trip to Costa Rica. It was the perfect escape, beautiful views from the room, private, and no radio or TV which was perfect for us!

Rolf set us up on a couple of great tours, horseback riding and a great night tour. He also provided great restaurant recommendations with coupons!

It wasn't anything fancy, but it was a great and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We were in Costa Rica for 2 weeks and staying at Rainbow Valley Lodge was definitely the highlight of our trip. Rolf (the owner) is a remarkable host, and made us feel welcome right from the start. We booked the room less than 24h before arrival, and he was still able to accommodate us and offer us a beautiful cabin looking out the cloud forest. The cabins have a cottage-like feel, which we found very cozy and warm..not to mention the beautiful view! It is hard to believe that a peaceful and beautiful place like that is located minutes away from Santa Elena town, where you can find all the necessary amenities. Rolf gave us a bunch of coupons to restaurants with great food! He also took care of booking our night walk and zip lining tours at a discounted price! It was a really nice break from having to do all of that on our own...Rolf, if you're reading this...thank you so much! Of course, I can't finish writing this review without mentioning the special coati named El Diablo, who was sitting in one of the trees looking into our cabin as we made breakfast each morning. In addition to many great photos, he made our stay that much more memorable. We give this place 5 stars and recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay in a comfortable and welcoming place surrounded by natural beauty while remaining close to town.

Room Tip: the upper room has a beautiful view of the valley with huge windows making it nice and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This modest guest house is filled with warmth. The location is amazing, its in a valley that is routinely filled with rainbow's. Rolf is an excellent host and will make sure you have a wonderful time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supreme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The RVL was the perfect place to stay in Monteverde - simple, yet clean and comfortable room, beautiful views (rainbows included!), helpful host who provided great recommendations, and coatis just hanging out, looking cute! We stayed in the upper room and enjoyed the views from the kitchen area. It was really nice to be outside Santa Elena, and not in the thick of the tourism. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing