We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Santa Elena, Costa Rica is the Rainbow Valley Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Santa Elena, Costa Rica is the Rainbow Valley Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We just returned from Costa Rica last week. What a great trip! While in Santa Elena, Monteverde region, we stayed at the Rainbow Valley Lodge. Loved it! We had the upstairs room, $40 nightly, the view of the cloud forest was breathtaking. The room is very large with kitchinette and screened in balcony. The rooms are very basic and comfortable. Rolf the owner, had coupons for discounts to several restaurants and excursions. He also booked all of our trips, which was a big help. Santa Elena is a 15 minute walk. We were able to see so many animals and birds from the balcony. Rolf also provided us with banans to feed the animals and the most wonderful Monteverde coffee. If your looking for clean, comfortable, and cheap check out the Rainbow Valley Lodge.

Gordon and Tanya
Texas

Helpful?
1 Thank texshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    62
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
128
259
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rainbow Valley Lodge in early May. It was the perfect location for us and the room could not have been any better. The great reviews could not describe this place more perfectly. The location was great and the owner, Rolf is wonderful! He planned a ziplining tour and a horseback riding tour for us and gave us great recommendations on where to eat. He returned emails and answered questions before our trip and many questions during our stay. We had the upper room and the views were magnificent. It also had a fridge, microwave, and dishes. We went to the grocery store and bought a few things. The lodge was very clean. I highly recommend this lodge. We've already started talking about going back (this was our first trip there) and we will definitely stay here again. This was our favorite place and wish we had stayed longer.

Also, this is just a suggestion, but we bought a handmade journal at the bookstore to document our trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mic1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

This was our favourite place to stay during our time travelling around Costa Rica. Our upper cabin had beautiful views overlooking the forested valley, with wildlife often venturing close to the door. It was clean and comfortable, and came with a small kitchen (microwave, skillet, fridge, coffee maker etc) so we could pack chopped fruit and sandwiches bought locally to take for snacks during our cloudforest walks. It’s located at the edge of Monteverde so it was nice and quiet at night, but only 5 mins from the town centre (~1000 colones by taxi). The owner, Rolf, couldn’t be more helpful. He was great at getting back to our emails when we booked our stay, and was a fantastic host, providing us with discount vouchers at good restaurants and attractions in Monteverde. The guide, Rafa, that Rolf arranged for us at Monteverde cloud forest was fantastic, and made it the most memorable day of our 3 week holiday. We can’t praise the place enough – can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in the upper apartment, which had glorious views across the valley to the Monteverde cloud forest. The cabin was very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. A nice touch was a beautiful vase of fresh flowers on the table.
Rolf is simply the most welcoming and helpful host you could wish to meet. He also set us up with a great bird guide called Rafa; also a really friendly guy, who certainly knew his birds. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we booked him for the afternoon as well to take us to the ecological reserve. We were the only people there all afternoon, and we saw some wonderful birds.
I would definitely stay here again should we make it back to Costa Rica some day.
Many thanks Rolf for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffinsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

A wonderful budget hotel with 5 star service from owner Rolf. Fantastic location, away from the "hustle and bustle" of Santa Elena, with incredible wildlife literally at your doorstep. Spotless rooms, with fully equipped kitchen and hot water bathrooms. Rolf also provides a discount booklet for local tours, restaurants and artisans, also maps and local info and advice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo, ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed here several days in March and thought it the most hospitable place we were in Costa Rica. Rolf, the owner, is friendly, easygoing and helpful. He knows the area well and had great suggestions for places to eat and things to do and see. I wish we'd asked him earlier in our stay for tips on guides because we didn't take one into the parks and missed seeing the quetzal - I know he could have connected us with someone reputable.
The room we had was very comfortable - and it was a treat to have a little kitchen with a beautiful view. From our window (at times pressed up against our window) we saw coatis, agouti and monkeys.
We recommend it highly and would love to stay there again.
I did have to search the internet for a way to reach him and found [----]

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

I just can't do justice to this place by writing about it! Rolf (owner from Minnesota) and his small apartments were the highlight of our entire trip to Costa Rica. The rooms overlook the mountains and are spectacular. There are trees just a few feet from the rooms on the upper level and several White Face Capuchins came right up to our window. We were able to feed them some of the bananas that Rolf gave us when we checked in! It was really incredible. Rolf has even taken the time to contact local businesses and negotiate discounts for the people that stay with him. The value and service are unparalleled, and my husband and I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing