We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and the animals!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
miami
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and the animals!!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We were on our third trip to Costa Rica but had never visited Santa Elena before. We found the Rainbow Valley lodge on the trip advisor and after talking with Rolf several times via e-mail we were very excited . We stayed four nights in the new house and were absolutely stunned by the view from the large patio. The house was fully equipped with two baths, a nice kitchen, and tons of room. Very clean. The price was really great too.There is a second building with an upper and lower rental also.We were far enough away from town to really get the feel of the cloud forrest but close enough to visit as we liked. Rolf was super and kept us supplied with bananas for the animals. I have never seen so many animals and birds on any trip to Costa Rica before! They just came up out of the forrest day and night. Many times, right up to the patio. It was unbelievable. The most stunning experience was when sitting on the patio the trees started to move and all of a sudden 15-20 beautiful white faced monkeys appeared. They came right up to us and one monkey ate a banana out of my husbands' hand! If you want a real taste for the cloud forrest this is the place to come. You will not find anyone nicer or more helpful than Rolf. I did read a review on here where someone thought Rolf made up his own reviews. lol...please..... This is our REAL review and we have been members for some time. Check out the house and animal pictures.
Barbara and Dave

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstarok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    66
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
134
276
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I booked the rooms after reading tripadvisor reviews and have to say everything is totally true, this is one of the small independent inns that we would have never found without tripadvisor. We booked the upper room looking out above the treetops for us parents and the room below us for the kids. Set up was perfect, the view into the valley on a clear day or with rising clouds is amazing. Down below our kids fed the coaties who came to their stoop. Very private, very special location, simple but clean, own kitchenette for breakfast "at home".... Rolf was very helpful booking local tours, I am glad we took his advice and ziplined in Monteverde. I cant think of a more fitting place to stay in Monteverde and hope to be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatePL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We just returned from Costa Rica last week. What a great trip! While in Santa Elena, Monteverde region, we stayed at the Rainbow Valley Lodge. Loved it! We had the upstairs room, $40 nightly, the view of the cloud forest was breathtaking. The room is very large with kitchinette and screened in balcony. The rooms are very basic and comfortable. Rolf the owner, had coupons for discounts to several restaurants and excursions. He also booked all of our trips, which was a big help. Santa Elena is a 15 minute walk. We were able to see so many animals and birds from the balcony. Rolf also provided us with banans to feed the animals and the most wonderful Monteverde coffee. If your looking for clean, comfortable, and cheap check out the Rainbow Valley Lodge.

Gordon and Tanya
Texas

Helpful?
1 Thank texshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Rainbow Valley Lodge in early May. It was the perfect location for us and the room could not have been any better. The great reviews could not describe this place more perfectly. The location was great and the owner, Rolf is wonderful! He planned a ziplining tour and a horseback riding tour for us and gave us great recommendations on where to eat. He returned emails and answered questions before our trip and many questions during our stay. We had the upper room and the views were magnificent. It also had a fridge, microwave, and dishes. We went to the grocery store and bought a few things. The lodge was very clean. I highly recommend this lodge. We've already started talking about going back (this was our first trip there) and we will definitely stay here again. This was our favorite place and wish we had stayed longer.

Also, this is just a suggestion, but we bought a handmade journal at the bookstore to document our trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mic1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

This was our favourite place to stay during our time travelling around Costa Rica. Our upper cabin had beautiful views overlooking the forested valley, with wildlife often venturing close to the door. It was clean and comfortable, and came with a small kitchen (microwave, skillet, fridge, coffee maker etc) so we could pack chopped fruit and sandwiches bought locally to take for snacks during our cloudforest walks. It’s located at the edge of Monteverde so it was nice and quiet at night, but only 5 mins from the town centre (~1000 colones by taxi). The owner, Rolf, couldn’t be more helpful. He was great at getting back to our emails when we booked our stay, and was a fantastic host, providing us with discount vouchers at good restaurants and attractions in Monteverde. The guide, Rafa, that Rolf arranged for us at Monteverde cloud forest was fantastic, and made it the most memorable day of our 3 week holiday. We can’t praise the place enough – can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in the upper apartment, which had glorious views across the valley to the Monteverde cloud forest. The cabin was very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. A nice touch was a beautiful vase of fresh flowers on the table.
Rolf is simply the most welcoming and helpful host you could wish to meet. He also set us up with a great bird guide called Rafa; also a really friendly guy, who certainly knew his birds. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we booked him for the afternoon as well to take us to the ecological reserve. We were the only people there all afternoon, and we saw some wonderful birds.
I would definitely stay here again should we make it back to Costa Rica some day.
Many thanks Rolf for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffinsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

A wonderful budget hotel with 5 star service from owner Rolf. Fantastic location, away from the "hustle and bustle" of Santa Elena, with incredible wildlife literally at your doorstep. Spotless rooms, with fully equipped kitchen and hot water bathrooms. Rolf also provides a discount booklet for local tours, restaurants and artisans, also maps and local info and advice. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing