We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy room with stunning views & great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy room with stunning views & great service”
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We stayed in the upper level room and the views are wonderful (much better choice than the other options). This little place is set off the main strip which is nice because Monteverde can feel a little like a college town at times...the room was basic and furnished simply but had all the amenities needed including your own kitchenette on the glass surrounded balcony. In the morning we were greeted by a family of about 20 coatis with babies coming up and climbing the trees eating the fruit - was wonderful! Rolf offers excellent service and is very welcoming. Basic accommodation but well worth it for the views, wildlife, service and privacy...not to mention the incredibly reasonable rates!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahkatefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    64
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
130
265
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We absolutely loved staying at the Rainbow Valley Lodge. Rolf was most helpful in setting up activities. He even brought us some bananas to share with the white faced monkeys the afternoon that they came to visit. We were in the upstairs apartment, and the view was the most amazing of the whole trip. Although this is outside of the main "town" of Santa Elena, it was perfect! The town can be quite noisy, but Rainbow Valley Lodge felt like you were in the middle of nowhere, and town was a simple 10 minute walk, or short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed at the Rainbow Valley Lodge last summer, and it turned out to be our favorite hotel of the entire stay. With 2 teenage daughters, we rented both the upstairs and downstairs rooms: everything was spotlessly clean, with lovely grounds and lots of quiet and privacy. Rolf, the owner, was stellar in communicating with us both before and during our trip- he helped us with all necessary arrangements and also with other more general Costa Rica questions.

We enjoyed the short- 10 minute- walk into town. It was an easy stroll, and especially pleasant after dinner to walk off the meal and return to the peace of our lodgings. Also, we liked picking up some fruit and yogurt and eggs and preparing them for breakfast in the room's kitchen area.

Rolf had asked us to pick up some Nicorette for him here in the States, where its cheaper, and when we settled up our bill at the end of our stay he actually credited me a bit more than what I had paid. (**Rolf, hope you're still successful in quitting smoking- we'd like to see you when we make it back there someday!**) He also let me use his computer to check my email, and had great recommendations for restaurants, activities, transportation, etc. He is scrupulously honest and fair, and you won't find a better host or lovelier rooms to relax in.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Although upon approach from the road, the Rainbow Valley Lodge isn't much to look at, the villas themselves are outstanding, and Rolf is an incredible host! He's fitted up each villa with great amenities and decorations that are at once exotic and homey. The kitchen is well-stocked with utensils and cooking basics and a big fridge so you can snack and cook to your heart's content. The bedrooms and bathrooms are comfortable and serviceable with nice showers and ample sink and mirror space for a small group. The living areas are inviting and relaxing - you'll want to spend all day on the porch watching for the local coatis (Diablo and mate) and drinking in the view over the valley. We stayed for only a couple days, but would have been happy here for weeks!

Rolf is also well-versed in local tourism services and will arrange anything you need at your say-so. He set us up with a park reserve guide named Rafa whom we greatly enjoyed, as well as all the transportation we needed (since we didn't rent a car).

We will definitely stay here next time we visit Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoyesGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Rainbow Valley Lodge is named appropriately. I saw rainbows three times right from the room, over the mountains and into the steep, green valley. A breathtaking sight! I stayed in the upper room for a week. I call it my vacation home, and I come back to reality totally relaxed. Whenever I need to decompress, this is where I come. It is so tranquil and the view (with those huge windows all around you) makes you forget about everything. There is wildlife all around you, and you find yourself transported to another world, filled with monkeys, coati, birds of all kinds, fireflies, fox, along with all the night noises that rock you to sleep. I saw the coati on two days foraging in the treetops right outside the room (about 20 of them with little babies). It was incredible!! I saw a couple on the ground on previous visits and had no idea they foraged in the treetops!! The monkeys were there almost daily foraging in the treetops as well (about 20 of them, too). There was also a full moon, which shined right into the room, that lit up the entire valley and gave you a different perspective of your surroundings. Simply put …. it's PARADISE.

The kitchen provides an opportunity to go to the local grocery store and get items to fix in the room for breakfast or a snack for those times that you simply cannot leave because everything going on around you cannot be missed. This is seasonal, of course, depending on the fruits in the trees, and cannot be predicted with certainty what will happen in the wild just outside the room.

This budget room is simply the best deal in town, and there is really no other place like it in the area, at any price. There is no tv or phone, but "town" is just a 15 minute walk to a phone, the internet, or the many restaurants.

Here's a "shout out" to Donde Henry, my NEW favorite place to eat in Monteverde (recommended by Rolf and Cindye). It's behind the bakery off the main street. The food here is VERY reasonable for the budget conscious and made fresh, even though it's cafeteria style. Everything is a la carte. You can get a plate of fruit here for $2, and everywhere else it's $6. I got a steak for less than $1.50. Everything was yummy. You can also get your items "to go" and put it in your fridge until later, which was very handy, as I did this several times, not wanting to pull myself away from that full moon.

A special thanks to Cindye, who was taking care of the place while Rolf was out. She was very helpful and marvelous at handling everything.

Willing to share any tips or info…just contact me.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atsoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Glade, Tn
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I have traveled all over Europe and stay at some wonderful places, but this place is high on my list of favorite places. I e-mailed Rolf weeks before we went to Costa Rica. He had everything taken care of when we got there. A driver picked up up at the airport. He was great! He stopped along the way so we could get something to eat and shop at a gift shop. Rolf also arranged for a guide to Cloud Forest, a taxi to take us there and bring us back. Also arranged with the guide and driver payment for each. The taxi drivers don't speak a lot of English, but are so nice. The cost of taxi trips are very cheap and they look for wildlife via our trips and stop so we can take photos of them. The guide was the best. He spoke very good english and knew every plant in the forest. If you visit the Cloud Forest while there ask Rolf to get the guide the Rogers used.

The cabin was a rustic, but a dream. The view of the wildlife was great. We were visted every time we went out on the porch. There was a cute fox that came up to visit with us the first two days we were there and the last day she brought her pups.

We visit several places while in Costa Rica that were luxury places, but this was our favorite place.

Rolf also made plans for a driver for us to go to our next locations. We did not have to make any arrangement while staying with him. He did it all for us. Even took us to town to show us around and pointed out places to eat and visit. The town is close enough to walk to, but the taxi is not but around $1.00.

We ate at a restaurant called Tree House Restaurant. The food was wonderful and you were in the top of a tree!!! If you come here be sure to eat there.

Thank you Rolf for the best time ever!!!!! Can't wait to come back for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0gers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Rainbow Valley Lodge and its owner, Rolf, are the absolute best! We only stayed 2 nights here; if we ever go back, we will stay longer...it is incredibly relaxing.

Even though it was only my husband and I, we stayed in the family cabin, which has a bedroom with its own bathroom, a kitchen, a murphy bed, a twin bed and another bathroom. There is a grocery store right in town so we bought some food, drinks, etc. to have in the room - it was really nice to be able to get up in the morning, make some coffee and sit on the porch drinking it before venturing off to our day activities. The best part, in our opinion, was the covered patio...we spent hours sitting on the porch. We would read and then take breaks to watch our visitors (monkeys and a coatamunidi); the monkeys and coatamundi were literally 5/10 feet away...I think it was the closest we were to the wild life while we in Costa Rica. The porch was also very handy during the usual afternoon thunderstorm...we could still sit outside, which was nice. Otherwise, the cabin was very clean and very comfortable!

Rainbow Valley Lodge is probably a 10 minute walk from town...you can also take a cab; it was so nice when we were there that we always walked (even late at night...we just took a flashlight). Rolf will help you set up all of your day activities...he helped match us up with a night tour and a tour of the cloud forest. Both were great and it was so nice just to chat with Rolf and have it all set up for you the next day! Rolf also booked our transportation to our next Costa Rican destination.

I cannot say enough good things about this place...I see now why others on TripAdvisor said they did not want to leave a review and let the cat out of the bag!! Thanks again Rolf and we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denvernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.3 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Valley Lodge

Property: Rainbow Valley Lodge
Address: 200 meters south of A y A, Santa Elena 5240, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde is close to the town of Santa Elena, about 15 minutes walking or 3 minutes in a vehicle. With only eight rooms and no neighbors close by you can enjoy peace and quiet in a forest setting. We have Wi-Fi signal in all rooms. Clean rooms with hot water, possible chance to see animals right outside the rooms and owner help with guides and activities. All rooms have coffeemaker and Monteverde coffee plus small refrigerator. Parking near the rooms. Prices compare very favorably to other accommodations in Monteverde. We are not 5 star so please do not expect total luxury! We hope to see you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Valley Hotel Santa Elena
Rainbow Valley Lodge Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing