We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
170
92
17
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
92
17
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomtoasteggsthe kitchenfruitthe ownerfree breakfasthis wifecosta ricala fortunawonderful familycoffee or teapick upsbooked tourstop floorgreat roomcloud forrest
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location for an amazing value. I stayed two nights and the owner helped me plan all my tours in Monteverde. He even helped me pick the best zip line tour based on my personality & likes. The breakfast was great: fresh fruit, coffee, cereal and eggs which was included.

The room was a little small for two bunk beds but the bathroom was huge.

I loved all the handmade woodwork furniture throughout the hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I've spent 3 nights here in september. The rooms and bathroom are clean, and the included breakfast (with fresh fruits) is a great way to start your day. The family is great and treat its visitors with respect.

Sleepers hostel a great place to start exploring Monteverde and it's surroundings, and the owner is very knowledgeable about the wide range of activities offered. It's a great place for the budget traveller!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed the family atmosphere, the service (the owner can tailor the trips he helps you book to what he thinks you'll enjoy from just a few Q's), and the room we stayed in. We stayed in the room at the top as it was only $2 more than the other private room we were shown. It had a nice little bar area and relatively nice views out across the hills. It also had a massive, comfortable bed. It is right across the road from where the bus to Monteverde cloud forest too. We booked a trip to a nature reserve for a night walk, which was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good people, very helpful. Great breakfast. Ronny was great to sit around and chat with about the local area and the activities that were around. He suggested great food, great coffee, and was really spot on. Extradordinarily clean bathrooms from what I have seen thusfar in Costa Rica. If you like muscle cars, be sure to ask Ronny about that as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hostel to anyone. It's family own and operated. It's clean and the environment is very sympathetic and friendly. The location is great, in the core of Monteverde. There's also free breakfast that the wife cooks for you :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews