We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice quite home stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Santa Elena, Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Charles J
1 review
“Nice quite home stay”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Overall the stay was nice; however, be sure to clarify your reservation prior to arrival. The booking through TripAdvisor listed the property as a "3 BR/1 bath sleeps 5". I e-mailed that my 2 kids and I would be staying at the property. When we arrived, Haydee thought we had a party of 2 and the accommodations were a single room (2 beds) with attached bathroom. I'm not sure where the mix-up occurred, but if we had planned a larger group based on the advertised size, it could have been cramped.

The room actually was perfect for our needs (simple, quiet, close to the reserves), and Haydee was very accommodating The room appeared to be a converted family room (~20' x 20' square) with 2 full beds and a fold-out couch, attached to the main house. Breakfast was in the main house kitchen. Haydee was very patient as I practiced my Spanish, occasionally chiming in with English to keep the conversation going.

The property is very well located, an easy walk (albeit uphill back) to downtown Santa Elena's many restaurants (go to Taco Taco - it's awesome, and reasonably priced) and shops, a very short drive to both Monte Verde Reserve (the guides are great) and Santa Elena Reserve, as well as several other attractions that we did not visit.

My overall impression is very positive, but I would advise to email the property to verify the accommodations to ensure they match the listing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Charles,
oh Charles what is there not to say about you? You were a fantastic family and amazing guests we really appreciate you staying with us, very clean and organized, very polite and humble. We managed to get to now each other and our families over breakfast while laughing at our attempts to speak a different language.Very well recommended guests from our part. We wish you nothing but success and happiness to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, wonderful family”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of five stayed for three nights in August. Haydee is a wonderful hostess and provided us with clean accommodations. She cooked delicious breakfasts each morning at whatever time we needed and accommodated my son who is on a gluten free diet. Haydee's son-in-law sat down with us the first night and helped us plan our days in the Monteverde area. He booked all of the tours and arranged transportation. All tours, activities and guides he booked were awesome. We had a car but only used it to go to the cloud forest. All other tours picked us up. Very good restaurants located within a five minute walk to Casa Haydee. We walked down to Santa Elena though it is a good hike back up the hill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I visited Monteverde for 2 nights, and were happy to spend a decent amount of money on somewhere clean, comfortable and convenient.

Casahaydee is all of those things. The family are utterly charming. Haydee's sons, Derek (who liaised with us on Tripadvisor pre-arrival), Kenneth (who recommended, booked and cancelled our tours on request) and Carlos (who greeted us on arrival) all speak fantastic English. Haydee herself is so welcoming and cooks fantastic breakfasts. The room (connected to the main house) is clean and massive (if you're willing to all share a bathroom it could actually sleep 4 or 5).

I think our only caveats would be the shower temperature was slightly temperamental (but Monteverde is hot so it wasn't a problem!) and it's probably better with a car, which we had (that said, La Fortuna is only a 15-20 min walk down the road)

Overall, a really lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T
Paw Paw, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room, great hosts, great location”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 nights in the beginning of August. The room was clean and comfortable. Haydee is a sweet lady and her son Carlos is a great translator! She made us delicious breakfasts and they helped us secure a guide to the Reserve. We would definitely stay here again - it was a fun change from a hotel! My 14 and 16 year olds really got a kick out of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hjhowell2...
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a secret Gem”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This room is exactly as advertised! Nice, clean, brand new, modern bathroom, etc. Fit our family of 5 perfectly. But the food and warmth of Haydee and her family just cannot be explained on a website...they were AMAZING!!! Haydee is a fabulous cook and she and her family took such great care of us. They booked all our tours and found the perfect private guide for us. She taught my wife and kids how to cook Costa Rican food in her personal kitchen (which is an industrial kitchen since she used to run a restaurant/bakery). Her food was the best food we had on our entire 9 day trip in Costa Rica! Our time at Casa Haydee and getting to explore deeper into the Costa Rican culture was a highlight of our trip!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHoldaway
Stockton, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding and Enriching Accomodations”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent two wonderful nights with Haydee and her family. Out of our ten nights in Costa Rica, these were definitely some of our favorite.

The accommodations are clean and modern. The room was large and well appointed with nice beds, a convertible couch, a large refrigerator and a nice tv. It fit our family of 5 perfectly.

The location is great-- just a short walk up the hill from the center of town.

I can't say enough about the hospitality and friendliness of Haydee and her family. We really felt at home. They helped us arrange our different adventures in and around Monteverde and the cloud forest.

Our favorite part of the stay was an afternoon we spent learning to cook typical Costa Rican food with Haydee and her sons. It was fun to learn about their family and cooking techniques and spend a culturally-enriching afternoon with a great family.

Haydee's son Derek speaks English beautifully. Haydee is a lovely and engaged hostess. We would love to return here should we have the chance to visit Costa Rica again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestmag
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing