We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel not worth the money”
Review of Hotel Augarten

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Augarten
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An average hotel not worth the money”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed at Hotel Augarten between January 2nd and 6th, 2013.
The room we were given was on the ground floor and close to the side entrance to the hotel. This proved to be rather a disadvantage. At night, we were constantly disturbed by people returning to the hotel. As the hotel is located directly at the main road in Neustift, the road noise at night was unbearable. The street remains very busy even very late at night and in the morning hours.
The room equipment and furniture was very obsolete. The Wi-Fi was poor, it was not possible to get a sustained connection, constantly loosing signal. One has to request an access code in order to be able to use the Wi-Fi, but the hotel owner was annoyed when asked for more than one access code (well, these days people have smartphones, tablets, laptops...).
The food quality was acceptable. The dinner choice comprised of two meaty meels, a limited offer of vegetable buffet bar, and laughable apetizer (such as cucumber slices filled with cottage cheese one day, a rolled slice of ham filled with mayonnaise on another day).
The restaurant staff was very friendly and pleasant, they were basically the only bright spot in this otherwise average hotel.
We travel a lot, and have stayed in MANY hotels in Austria. This hotel was by far the worst we have ever visited, definitely not worth the money. We would never come back and cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: If you intend to stay at this hotel, definitely ask for a room on the mountain side, far from the ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rostislav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Food especially was excellent. Great facilities and lovely town. Rooms comfortable. We were very well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiki081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed here four nights for a skiing holiday and the hotel was super! The value for the money is excellent with clean rooms, central location, and fresh, delicious meals. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We spent a good bit of time in the bar area where wine is reasonably priced and service outstanding. Overall, the hotel exudes a cozy, welcoming feeling which definitely brings guests back for return stays!

Room Tip: My room faced the backyard-lovely view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VagabondGirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We've stayed for brief Nov ski holiday in Augarten, and it was really nice stay. The hotel is located conveniently in Neustift, just a few (20?) meters from ski bus stop, opposite the gas station and ski shop/rent facility. In the neighbor building You can find supermarket in case You really need something on Your holiday.
The hotel crew was helpful and very nice, the meals were good, the wireless internet was working smooth. The beds were comfortable and rooms cleaned every day.
We recommend this place as a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

i have stayed at this hotel several times with one or the other of my sons and one son has travelled to this hotel independently the owners are a very friendly to myself and sons my youngest son has almost been treated as a friend of the family on the occasions he has visited
the hotel is always clean the rooms well presented and the food better than most hotels in the same pricerange i have stayed in.
the location is excellent for the ski bus the glacier is brilliant always good snow

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpspete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It is a very nicely located hotel, especially for skiing, where the buses to the slopes are just a cross the road. It takes 45 min by bus to get to glacier or 15 min to other slopes but check first as snow may not be good there.
To get there it is easy way from Innsbruck airport - by bus or taxi which can be booked directly from hotel. However if you are staying in the room facing the main road, you will not sleep well. Traffic is vey heavy and does not stop at night. Breakfast is every day the same so you may get bored with it if you are staying more than 3 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back sige of teh building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaj250811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We Stayed in the Augarten in Feb 2011 and wouldn't return.
First the plus points - Neustift is a great location for both Stubai and Shlick 2000, both being about 20 minutes on the regular free ski bus. The local slopes at Neustift are limited and on the 5 occasions I've stayed there, the long red back to the bottom of the gondola has never been open, however the 2 top runs are OK for a relaxed hour or 2 and the restaurant at the top is very good. Also the two 8km toboggan runs are good for a different type of day, but be careful as we saw a few helicopter rescues from the woods involving sledges going off the track.

The hotel is in a good position for the ski bus and village centre. The hotel itself is clean, although the bedrooms are a little tired and look to have been apart-hotel rooms at some stage in the past as they have decommisioned kitchenettes in the rooms we stayed in. The food was OK, I've had better in other Neustift hotels, and the serving staff were all very helpful.

Now the minus points - THE MANAGER / OWNER. I've never met such an unhelpful, rude and lazy individual in the hotel trade. When we booked (with Crystal) we were told that the only rooms available were larger superior rooms, for which there was a supplement to pay. Fine, we paid as the hotel looked nice from the brochure description, and we're never had a bad stay in Neustift.
On arrival we had to search for the owner (he was busy feeding his toddler), and he just gave us a set of keys and pointed us to a lift, no real welcome at all. Didn't really bother me, I thought we'd just caught him at a bad time. Finally found our room after passing several others, which all looked larger and better fitted than our superior room.
Having seen these larger rooms my wife went down to ask if we had in fact been given a superior room. After a 10 minute search she found him and was told in no uncertain terms that he had given our room (which we'd paid extra for) to a family that had turned up that morning and wanted a larger family room for 2 days, and as there was only 2 us then we could make do in a standard room - which is what we tried to book originally! He had no intention of moving us into the room we'd paid for or refunding the difference, it left us feeling ripped off and it became a point of principle.

We got onto Crystal, who were extremely helpful and got us moved into the correct room 2 days later (inconvenience of changing rooms though), said that the Owner would refund for the 2 days in a standard room, and the Crystal rep left a nice bottle of wine on our table that night too. Guess what? Basil Fawlty refused to allow us to drink the wine at the table because the rep hadn't purchased it via him. He also refused at the end of the stay to refund what we were owed and charged us for tap water that we asked for with our wine (ordered with the meal from the hotel). I've never been charged for tap water taken with other food or drinks anywhere else in Austria.

Other minus points:
- No lounge area (says there is but it was full of dining tables)
- No seating at the very SMALL bar (the bar is reallly part of the dining room, and most nights the owner and his extended family tended to occupy the tables around the bar for their dinner leaving no room for guests)
- They charge for tap water
- The owner is surly and rude and more interested in playing with his children than the wellbeing of the guests.
- You get the impression that he is just after your money and doesn't really care if you return
I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel. If you want a great traditional family run hotel in Neustift try the Hoferwirt.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neustift im Stubaital hotels
0.1 mi away
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
Premium Activehotel Bergkonig
#5 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
156 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Kindl
Alpenhotel Kindl
#10 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
#7 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Bergjuwel
B&B Hotel Bergjuwel
#23 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpeiner-Nature Resort Tirol
Alpeiner-Nature Resort Tirol
#6 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
#8 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augarten

Property: Hotel Augarten
Address: Stubaitalstrasse 80, Neustift im Stubaital 6167, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Neustift im Stubaital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
#14 Spa Hotel in Neustift im Stubaital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Augarten 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Augarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Augarten Austria/Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing