We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel with Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Obzor
Certificate of Excellence
S.W. Wales
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We returned last week from a 2 week holiday at the Riu Helios Bay and staff wise it is the best Riu hotel we have stayed in .

When we arrived we were made very welcome by the reception staff. Prior to going I had emailed the hotel to request a room on the sixth floor and that is what they gave us. It was a lovely room overlooking the pool and the sea. We were escorted to our room straight away by a porter (Chris) who insisted on taking our suitcases himself. He was a very polite and helpful young man. The room itself was very spacious with plenty of drawer space and plenty of coat hangers in the wardrobe. It was a twin bed room and the beds were very comfortable. I did request an extra pillow and that was fetched immediately. The bathroom was perfect. It had a large walk in shower which was spotlessly clean. There was plenty of room around the sink area and there was a hair dryer on the wall. The toilet was scrupulously clean as was the floor. You could not find any fault with the bathroom at all. There was a good size balcony with a table and 2 chairs and that was all very clean as well.

When we went down to lunch we were asked by the maitre'd what sitting we would like for dinner and wether we would like to sit out on the balcony of the restaurant or inside. We chose the 6'oclock sitting outside and we were allocated a table that would be ours for dinner during our stay. A couple of days later we did decide that we would prefer the second sitting at dinner and we asked if we could change. This was done quite happily. The restaurant is large and airy and although busy at times you never had to queue for more than a minute or two. The only thing that spoilt it was parents allowing there children to run riot in there and generally let the kids treat it as a playground while they ignored it and got on with there food. I would like to add that on this occasion the culprits were not British holidaymakers because there was not a handful of British kids there as when we went they had gone back to school in the U.K. We saw one child throw his plate of food on the floor because he did not like what his mother had chosen for him and the parents totally ignored it and left if for the staff to clean up without any word of apology. None of this though can be blamed on the hotel. The food in the restaurant was enjoyable. Okay there was not a huge selection but I would challenge anyone to say they could not find something they liked. Also the food and the plates were always hot. There was an excellent salad bar. The deserts were a bit samey but as I don't eat deserts I was quite happy they had cheese and biscuits. All in all we found no problem with the restaurant or it's hard working staff it,s just some of the people who eat in there that need to take lessons on etiquette and behaviour.

There is a fair size pool and although I did not go in it there were quite a few who did. You had the usual sun bed fiasco of the sad people getting up at the crack of dawn to take there towels down both round the pool and on the beach. I must be honest we would go down later in the day and we always managed to get a sunbed so I do not know really why they needed to rush down in the mornings. If it had been high summer then maybe but at the beginning of September it was unnecessary. The pool bar is a lovely area to sit and the staff happy and cheerful and despite the number of guests they have to deal with many of the serving staff would remember what your tipple was and no it was not because we tipped them because we leave our tips till the end of the holiday although we did see people waving money around trying to get served first but this did not seem to cut much ice with the bar staff. The same goes for the staff serving at the 2 bars inside the hotel. I can honestly say we never once saw a miserable member of staff behind the bar.

I could go on and on praising this hotel and it's staff because it was so good but I think you have the general idea. Unfortunately the only fly in the ointment was some other nationalities. The 2 weeks we went the British were in the minority and most of them were couples like ourselves. There were however a number of families that were not British and they seemed to think they could be as rude and ignorant as they liked to both staff and other holidaymakers. We actually saw one family (I won't say which nationality they were) going around the reception and bar area rubbing their fingers across flat surfaces and pictures looking for dust and if they found something they were taking photos of it but the same people do not think twice about leaving their table in the Restaurant like a pig sty.

Anyway enough said. To us this was a first class hotel with first class staff from the Managers to the hard working cleaning staff. I can honestly say I have never come across such happy helpful staff anywhere I have travelled and I would recommend staying here to anyone. We will without doubt be returning here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldwiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    213
    78
    31
    15
See reviews for
278
295
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Choppington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Helios Hotel for 2 weeks from September 2nd. The Hotel is set next to a beautiful beach and 200mtrs to the start of the towns main street. The check in was excellent with the staff making you welcome on your arrival. We were on the 7th floor (top) and the view was great looking out to sea and following the bay all the way round. The meals were very good with lot's of variety and you had your allocated seat for dinner throughout your stay so there was no trying to find a table available. All the staff bar, dining area, reception, around the pool and the cleaners were friendly and always smiling. The rooms were a good size with a nice balcony and were keep spotless as was the whole hotel. The entertainment was generally good and the trips we attended were good especially "Khans Tent" which was a night trip with meal and drink provided and an amazing show. The only fault is if you have difficulty in walking is that the lift only goes to the sixth floor. We will definantly consider returning in thr future.

Room Tip: All rooms face onto a sea view so a higher floor gets a great view but remember the lift only goes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Been return for the six time this September all is as good as usual the only thing that different this year the hotel is using cheeper cuts off meat and it shows that was the only fault ,some of the meat was processed and not good .but in all other ways it was a great holiday

Room Tip: Any room over the top of the bar salon any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnaby1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

.what a loverly hotel staff very friendly . rooms were big very clean . and all had sea views . food was excellent so much choice and food was served all day from 7am to 9.30 .we arrived at 2.30 am and were greeted with bucks fizz and coffee tea cakes and biscuits.bar staff were very entertaining especially martin and veronica .entertainment team were always doing something to keep you amused phenix and george were loverly just as if they had knew us for years. lots of sunbeds ,can be windy but still warm. pool cold my only bug bear.!!! but sea warmer loverly beach and prominarde to walk along .the village is quainte .but starts to close up 2nd week sept. barney the thomson rep is loverly , and very informative,our only trip was karns tent in sunny beach fantastic if you go what a night .band show girls , and bendy wendy the contortionist 4 course meal and wine included would definetly go back

Room Tip: ask for sea view not football pitch unless you like footie
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belinda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here in August 2010 and August 2011, it's a perfect hotel for families.
Obzor itself might not be the best choice for young people, but for me it a perfect resort.
The hotel is right on the beach, and it rates "Excellent" in almost all categories as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaAdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel was very clean, and always tidy, the staff were friendly and always willing to help you (which was great as this was our first holiday alone, a tad bit daunting). welcomed on arrival with bucks fizz and a very friendly member of staff was lovely after the long trip. a wide variety of food for lunch and evening meal meant that you weren't eating the same things day after day. The reserving of tables for dinner was an excellent idea, you could choose from being inside or outside which is lovely when its warm to sit by the sea whilst eating. the Bulgarian restaurant was an interesting experience, not to my taste but it was definitely worth trying. The pool was clean and access to the beach via the hotel was quick and easy. the rooms were cleaned daily, though they wouldn't clean it if you left the DND sign on the door. there was pretty much always food and drink on offer to you throughout the day which was good if you'd been on a trip and were hungry. the alcoholic drinks were very generously poured. overall I have no complaints about any of my stay at the hotel. its in good walking distance (less than 5 minutes) to the local town which was also lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Helios Bay and will definitely be going back.

From the moment we checked in early hours Sat morning to a welcome drink and snacks to check out 9pm Fri we couldn't fault the service we received. We paid extra for the late check out as flight was late night and was good to be able to shower and rest before the journey home.
Our room was immaculate and bigger than any room I've stayed in before with a view of the pool and the beach. Loved lying in bed with the balcony door open watching and listening to the waves.
Rest of hotel was immaculate and well cared for.
Pool area which I spent most of my time was great, well cared for with plenty loungers and parasols and a great pool bar to keep you going all day. Along with the lobby bar and saloon bar the drink choices were great and staff were always pleasant and smiling.
Food was great with plenty of choices. Never go hungry as can eat all day if you wanted...
Few times we were there was different theme nights for dinner which were really good and a chance to try food you wouldn't usually try. Waiting staff were really friendly and efficient, nothing too much trouble.
Hotel also supply bottles of water free and beach towels which can be changed daily.
Entertainment as with most hotel entertainment is a hit or miss but the entertainment team put all their energy into doing the best they can, and all seem happy doing it.
We didn't have kids with us but we did notice how much the kids loved the staff at the kids club, so much so that one child was crying when it was time to leave them to home with her parents.
We did pay for the safe which we found to be quite expensive at 65 lev for the 2 weeks.
If you go to this hotel do not be put off by the street it sits on as the area is under developed an a few half built apartment blocks around but that just shows what an up and coming area Obzor is, just hope it doesn't become too developed and ruin the natural feel of the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy7371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obzor
0.6 mi away
Obzor Beach Resort
Obzor Beach Resort
#5 of 17 in Obzor
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Miramar
Club Hotel Miramar
#4 of 17 in Obzor
309 reviews
11.4 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#2 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cliff Beach & Spa Resort
12.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Helios
Hotel Riu Helios
#4 of 220 in Sunny Beach
885 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Luna Bay
Sol Luna Bay
#2 of 17 in Obzor
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Address: Tchernomorska 50 | Obzor - Bulgaria, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Obzor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Obzor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#2 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Helios Bay enjoys a seafront location at the northpart of the beautiful city of Obzor. 5 km-long public beach of fine sand which slopes gently into the sea. Aproximate distances: - 62 km from Burgas airport - 35 km from Sunny Beach Centre. - 1 km from public transport (bus stop) Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Bay Hotel
Riu Helios Bay Obzor
Hotel Riu Helios Bay Bulgaria/Obzor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing