We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jemelly(Obzor)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$15
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dom Barbov(Obzor)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (777)
Filter reviews
777 results
Traveller rating
417
231
81
31
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
231
81
31
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar staffgreat holidaysunny beachevening entertainmentanimation teamplenty of choicethomson repasian restaurantkhans tentpizzasea viewfantastic hotelkaraoke barwelcome meetingfootball pitchkids clubwalk in shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 777 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I have recently returned from this hotel and loved every minute.
I must say you should check which town its in as we expected to be in sunny beach but were pleasantly surprised with Obzor. Its a lovely up and coming town of Bulgaria. Most staff were very friendly and helpful except the life guards. (Let a man almost drown because they don't cover the beach this time of year) but the animation team definitely made up for this, they were amazing! Keko&Suzy!
Like any holiday it is what you make of it but the hotel is amazing, clean and good food/drink.
Ps....ask the bar men for their surprise cocktails:D

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Little0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the hotel. From the location, the staff, the food, cleanliness, it was all excellent. Will be returning. Could not fault the hotel & would definitely recommend it. The hotel brilliant for both couples and families. .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel was great and in a beautiful location. Good variety of food, even for a vegetarian. The excursions were very good value with excellent guides. The best Thomson holiday so far. A holiday I would gladly recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor sea view room, always nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was clean and the staff were mostly pleasant and courteous. Unfortunately, the water tasted funny which affected drinks and food if boiled in the water. Coffee was a complete no-no as it tasted disgusting, as did the carbonated water in the machines in the pool bar. As an all inclusive guest I was also disappointed in the variability of the drinks in the different bars. In both the poolside bars the drinks were very watered down whereas in the lobby bar, this was less apparent. I was one of three diabetics in my party and had to either drink watered down diet pepsi or alcohol. Not a great choice. The hotel was also covered in birds and bird droppings. Almost all the hotel rooms had nests in the balconies and the birds swarmed constantly. At least four members of my party had clothes ruined by bird droppings and the birds often swooped down to steal food from the pool snack area, even off the plates themselves. Lastly, the entertainment was dire. The comedy shows were run in-house and seemed like the staff were just making it up as they went along. Most of the audience were laughing at how embarrassing the shows were and many walked out. This was a great shame as the comedy show appeared twice per week.

On a brighter note, the pool was lovely and clean. The pool area was well maintained and the chambermaids did a sterling job every day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgetpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

had a great time in this hotel, if you want night life then this is not the place for you but if you just want a quiet peaceful holiday then this is perfect. the hotel was lovely, bit quiet as it was the first week in the season but all staff very pleasant and helpful, not all the excursions were running but we did go on the Nessebar trip which was very good. Great place if you enjoy a walk, We followed a trail right up into the mountains and also walked right along the beach to Byala where we found the remains of a fortress, proper time team stuff! i would recomend this walk to anyone who just likes to wander around The food was very good and the Thomsons rep, Barney, was brilliant, he took us for a walk around the area on his day off pointing out things of interest. Although it was only a small animation team they alll worked very hard, sports and things during the day and entertainment in the bar at night. particularly enjoyed the comedy night as all the sketches were done without speaking so it didn't matter what nationality was watching. All in all, a very nice peaceful holiday with enough for us to do without just sitting by the pool all day

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews