We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Obzor
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really impressed with this hotel. Lovely rooms, clean with balconies facing the sea. Walk in shower was a nice surprise. Ample sun beds around the pool and there were free beds on the beach directly in front of the hotel. Soft drinks and coffee machines at the pool bar, snack bar and restaurant, help yourself. Food was tasty but some may find it a little repetitive. Typical hotel entertainment, however the animation team gave it their all. The hotel was really quiet in the nights so no disturbed sleep. Outside of the hotel was a small fair and lots of shops. Be aware that 7 out of 8 of our party suffered insect bites quite badly so would strongly suggest taking plug-ins, insect spray and such like. Overall, we had a good holiday and wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel and indeed Bulgaria.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie_BN9699GJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    210
    77
    31
    15
See reviews for
274
292
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swords, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first time staying at a Riu Hotel and what a wonderful experience it was. On arriving at approximately 4am we were warmly greeted by the staff who on having allocated our room informed us that refreshments were available! Later that morning at the 'meet and greet' we were given lots of helpful information by Barney the Thompson Rep. and the managers of the hotel. We found the standard of the hotel to be excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them. A wide variety of food and drink was available all day and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Obzor town is quite small with some nice bars and restaurants and locals very friendly! I would highly recommend a day trip to Nessebar, it is really beautiful and very interesting! Overall a wonderfully relaxing holiday and we can't wait to go back. Margaret & PJ, Dublin, Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marg_mcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 27th June 2014 to 8th July. Couldn't ask for a better holiday! The staff are so friendly and speak excellent English. They were there to help with any problems you may have. Staff we're always cleaning so the hotel and our rooms were spotless! Free welcome gift and letter on arrival and departure :) entertainment crew were amazing! They work long hours but had so much energy and we're always happy. They made friends with everyone. Food and drink we're fantastic and great value for money. Could eat all day if you wanted to! The thomson reps were always available if u needed them so you never felt alone. Hotel is also close to the big square with hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants. Me and my fiancé are definitely going back next year but for 2 weeks instead as 10 days didn't seem long enough as it was that good! No problems with noise or rowdy people as it was a famy orientated hotel and they wouldn't allow that sort of behaviour. Slept brilliantly the whole way through with comfy beds and clean bedding every day Would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Meg-elizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just got back from this excellent hotel all staff very freindly spotless, food very good variable something for everyone im disabled and all of the hotel was accessable to me. It was my daughters birthday while we were there and the hotel had decorated our dinner table and put a bottle of champagne on ice at our table with compliments of the hotel my daughter was delighted all in all a great hotel and great value for money THANKYOU RIU HELIOS BAY for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fantastic service from beginning to end of our 2 week holiday!!!

The hotel was beautiful, clean with very friendly, helpful staff.
All of the employees were working 12+ hours everyday but they were never without a smile!

The pool area was great and the last 2 weeks of June was perfect tanning time. Rain storms were minimum and did not deter or affect our holiday.

The town was small and beautiful. Going out at 10pm one evening as a lone woman, I felt perfectly safe. Most people spoke English (if not you could get by). No pestering from local businesses to come in and purchase, but very friendly, remembering every drink/items you brought, ready for your next trip!

I would recommend this holiday to anyone wanting sun and excellent hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liverpoolphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Cannot fault this hotel, clean and comfortable, on the beach although lacking beach bar, best food i have had for some time, staff so friendly, had a wonderful holiday but disappointed at having to pay for safe key, all inclusive should mean all inclusive, come on Thompson you have enough buying power to do away with these extra charges !

Room Tip: All rooms are seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This holiday to Bulgaria was a last minute choice as our original holiday to Kenya was cancelled due to their political problems. I was not over excited to go to Bulgaria but needed a break. Well what a treat I had! The hotel was so clean and friendly. The buffet foods are cooked so fresh you watch them cook a lot of it behind the serving cabinets. Obzor is a fourty minute drive from Sunny Beach which, apparently is the young party centre of Bulgaria. I was a little concerned when groups of lads and groups of lasses boarded our plane, clearly in party mood, but they were all off to Sunny Beach. The Helios Bay Hotel is between the Balkan mountains and the sea and is beautiful. The hotel is quite, catering for young families (very active kids club that looked a lot of fun) through to retired people. Sun beds around pool and on beach in front of the hotel are free for hotel clients. We watched the staff wash down each sunbed every night!
The best review I can give it is to say we would like to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view. We had a room overlooking the football pitch and we could see the mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolehar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obzor
0.6 mi away
Obzor Beach Resort
Obzor Beach Resort
#7 of 17 in Obzor
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel Miramar
Club Hotel Miramar
#4 of 17 in Obzor
303 reviews
11.4 mi away
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
DIT Majestic Beach Resort
#1 of 220 in Sunny Beach
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Helena Park Hotel
Helena Park Hotel
#3 of 220 in Sunny Beach
517 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Luna Bay
Sol Luna Bay
#2 of 17 in Obzor
586 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Helios
Hotel Riu Helios
#5 of 220 in Sunny Beach
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Helios Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Helios Bay

Property: Hotel Riu Helios Bay
Address: Tchernomorska 50 | Obzor - Bulgaria, Obzor 8250, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Obzor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Obzor
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Obzor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Obzor
#2 Family Hotel in Obzor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Helios Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Helios Bay enjoys a seafront location at the northpart of the beautiful city of Obzor. 5 km-long public beach of fine sand which slopes gently into the sea. Aproximate distances: - 62 km from Burgas airport - 35 km from Sunny Beach Centre. - 1 km from public transport (bus stop) Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Helios Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Helios Bay Hotel
Riu Helios Bay Obzor
Hotel Riu Helios Bay Bulgaria/Obzor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing