We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly resort-like feel”
Review of House Tina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
House Tina
Ranked #1 of 16 Grabovac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel Tina is conveniently located near Lake Plitvicka (about 2 miles). It has a resort or hill station hotel like feel. The rooms are built of wooden planks and reminds you of a tree house. The serenity of the green lush gardens, the early morning mist and the warmness of hospitality makes you want to stay longer.

They server breakfast fresh and made to order. The staff is friendly and food is very good. The payment is generally accepted as cash and can be a bit of a non comfort for international travelers. Nonetheless it is immaculate place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sona_G81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed one night to visit Lake Plitvice. House Tina is a good location for a visit to the park--just a short drive from Entrance 1-a great place to begin hiking.

The hotel is very clean and our large room was comfortable. We had a very delicious breakfast with eggs, ham, cheese, cereal, juice, and coffee.

We'd recommend it a stay at House Tina if you're visiting the park or want to stay in a country-side setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights visiting the lakes national park excellent +++ . Tina is about 6 miles away and is delightful . Owners very friendly , standard of decoration excellent and in a perfect place . We have no criticisms whatsoever - stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

After being on the road for almost 5 hours from Split, we arrived to House Tina. The owners welcomed us with smiles and showed us to our room. After settling in, the owner offered us grilled barbecue dinner for €15 per person and being so tired, we happily accepted. We headed down to the dining room and could smell the barbecue, and boy oh boy, it smelled good! The meal was quite tasty and we were happy with our decision.

House Tina is about a 15 min drive to Plitvice Lakes and there signs along the highway. The rooms were clean and the dinning room was beautifully set. I would recommend this place if you are staying in the area for one or two nights. Just make sure you bring cash as they don't take credit cards.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaGale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

15 minutes drive out of the national park you will find house Tina. This recently renovated BnB is quite nice. The children were ecstatic to see the new bunk beds, the little balcony looked over the yard where the cook was grilling some lovely smelling dinner. The beds were of the futon quality in nature, a bit hard, but new and clean. Bring your own toiletries as there is no complimentary soap or shampoo. Breakfast was nice and we would love to go back, just more prepared with our soaps after all the fun hiking:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annabananahenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Was rather confused the directions to the house as I wasn't driving to house Tina, but bus from Zagreb. I emailed the host and ask for directions, she told me to head to plitvice lakes before heading to the apartment, I told her I have luggages so it will be good if I can leave my luggages first, she didn't reply and I emailed again to ask for the bus stop, she didn't reply again. Luckily I managed to find the stop grobavac motel (5 mins from house Tina), basically any bus that goes to plitvice lakes will pass by the stop so u have to tell the driver early. Went there and she told us there was an overbooking (second time happening to me on the trip), fine I told her its ok since the house is just beside. There isn't wifi and mountain view that I paid for, I didn't complain as her daughter offered to drive me to plitvice lakes (5 mins away). Before leaving the host asked if I want to have BBQ at her place, offering me 15€ per person (what.. I can have dinner at that price for 3 person at any restaurants nearby), I declined. On the ride there I think the daughter's bf was there, his name is mila or something, he asked if we want a taxi back or something (the mom promised us a lift back) at a price of 5€ per person and the driver is his friend, he kept insisting we should take it etc, we took his number and told him if we want the taxi ill text him, he seemed really unhappy, anyway the bus back is only 2 € and it's 5 mins why should I cab right? Oh yes he promised to check for me the bus to zadar the next morning. The lakes were good and we managed to hitch a ride from the locals working at the lakes and had dinner/beers together. Went back to house Tina to make payment, the guy asked how did I get back I told him I got a free ride back he raised his eyebrows and gave the "ok..." Face. So I asked him what time is the bus tomorrow to zadar, he say he will check now (10pm) zz. He told us we should take his friend's cab, 100€. (Kidding me bro how many times you and your family wanna fleece us?). We declined and he say the bus is at 1015. I decided not to trust him and went to the information at 9.15am and was told the bus is at 930 or 1045 (why am I not surprised he's wrong). The whole stay was just bad, every potential moment they try to get our money at unreasonable prices.

Pros: the neighbor house is decent, beds and toilets are clean with ac. No wifi and mountain view which I paid for though.

Would recommend others to book other houses if they intend to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superfrank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseTina, Owner at House Tina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Pei Ying,

Please accept my apologies once again – the overbooking was our fault and you have every right to be angry.

However, we did try to minimize the damage and found alternative accommodation for you in our neighbour’s house. Let me remind you that the other room was higher category than ours, at the same price.

As you’d arrived by bus and we are 10 km away from Plitvice Lakes National Park, we offered free transfer to the park and back, as we always do for our guests who don’t travel by car.

I also gave you my telephone number so you could call us after the tour. You never called, and we were not able to pick you up and take you back to Grabovac. I must admit I don’t understand your anger regarding the transport and our services.

Kindest regards,

House Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The reviews for this property set my expectations fairly high, and, while there were some decent parts, I don't think I'd stay here again.

To start with the good parts: The property was attractive, clean, and had a scenic backdrop. The family that runs it was pleasant to interact with, although they didn't particularly go out of their way to be very helpful (actually gave us a little misinformation when we asked about the park). The breakfast was adequate, but claims that it's a "good" breakfast seem like a stretch (bread and cereal with omelets on request... a piece of fruit would have be nice?). Wifi was functional and fast. It was - at most - a 10 minute drive to the park. It's set up well for guests to interact and get to know each other in the evenings. Affordable pricing.

For the not so good parts: The rooms and bathrooms were the smallest we had in Croatia. Our room lacked A/C. The linens and towels were rough. It was noisy in the evening (while I appreciate the social interaction, I didn't appreciate it being right outside my - open due to lack of A/C - window). Unable to accept credit cards.

I think it was a fairly decent stay for the money, but if I'm in the area again, I'd rather spend more and hopefully get a bit more.

Room Tip: I'd spring for the suites/cabins that were bigger, offered A/C, and were further away from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anokh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grabovac
0.2 mi away
Turist Grabovac
Turist Grabovac
#1 of 3 in Grabovac
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Degenija
Hotel Degenija
#1 of 1 in Rakovica
602 reviews
6.4 mi away
Plitvice Hotel
Plitvice Hotel
#2 of 9 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Villa Lika
Villa Lika
#3 of 107 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
319 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ethno House Plitvice
Ethno House Plitvice
#11 of 107 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
253 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pansion Breza
Pansion Breza
#6 of 107 in Plitvice Lakes National Park
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Tina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Tina

Address: Grabovac 175 | Plitvice Lakes, Grabovac, Plitvice Lakes National Park 47245, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park > Grabovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Grabovac
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House Tina 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House Tina is situated in a small village Grabovac, near Plitvice Lakes National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. House Tina is newly decorated and has 8 rooms categorized 3 stars. The location is a quiet one, the house has a spacious garden all around, with tables and benches for about thirty people. There is also enough space to park ten cars. To make your stay with us interesting from this year we offer horseback riding on a nearby farm. Book accommodation and horse-back riding and experience an unbelievable sense of freedom in intact nature!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your House Tina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Tina Hotel Grabovac
House Tina Grabovac, Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing