We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step out of the box”
Review of Hotel Orphee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orphee
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A step out of the box”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Many of us who are fortunate enough to take these trips come from very comfortable homes and lives. If we are not paying 5* prices, we must accept that accommodation will be a little less luxurious and comfortable than at home. There will be different smells, different sounds and the food may not be what we would choose, but that's partly what makes a holiday. This is exactly what we found at the hotel Orphee. The beds were a little hard, there was a slightly unpleasant smell that wafted up now and then, and the food was a little disappointing, but after a couple of days we happily acclimatised to our new abode. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, the pool was stunning, and the beach was beautiful and relaxing. You can pay a little extra and eat very well at the Tavern, or you can take a 15 minute ferry (about £5 return) and enjoy the super food in the restaurants at Cavtat (a mini Cannes!) Do take some beach shoes as all the beaches are pebbly. If you have room in your luggage, a padded mat under your towel will provide a little extra comfort! The hotel does provide towels for the pool and beach, but were charging about £1 a day per towel. We had room C13 and C14 which had amazing views over the beach. Many views are obscured by trees. The hotel is changing hands and there could be renovation work in the next few years, so I would be careful to check. All in all we loved the place and I would not hesitate to recommend it for its value and charm. Don't miss the cultural trips and outdoor activities available.

Room Tip: The views from the top floor rooms are above the tree line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    95
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
52
125
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We are guests at the hotel at the moment and are extremely dissapointed along with other guests that the hotel has closed the swimming pool area and bar in the afternoon for a private wedding and then closed the remaining bar at 11.30pm and whilst we are being subjected to a noisy wedding and unable to sleep we have been deprived of a basic guest facility.
It appears that the promised evening entertainment is the grumpy barmaid saying she is closed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99awell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plat hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

-Narrow corridors without windows, small simple room with old furniture and bad taste- furniture. Small balcony with view into e big tree.
-Staff in pool-bar behaved incredible "boored" and careless. And the music in poolbar/restaurant was not good, it was like "Dr Alban", every day. I would have prefered some soft croatianmusic.

Pool was very nice and stuff in reception and in all-inclusive-restaurant was also VERY kind and serviceminded (It´s big differens between staff in poolbar and all other staff.)

Hotel is far away from other restaurants, there is only 3-4 restaurants in area. But there is good communcations.

Room Tip: Villas Plat has much better rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filippanoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This little hotel was our stop between Budva, MNE and Dubrovnik, Croatia. This all-inclusive and quiet hotel has the most beautiful view and infinity pool that I have seen in a long time. Food is decent but nothing to get excited about--go for the pizza, not the buffet. Staff is wonderful and helpful.

We had booked for a triple room, which apparently they didn't have and so we were given a night in a Diana Villa, which was like staying in a gorgeous little apartment with a view.Well worth the stop and the price for a stay over in between big cities.

Wifi isn't free but cheap and only offered near the reception.

Room Tip: Try and stay in one of the villas if possible. Villa Diana, room 18 was a corner apartment for four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theheatherchronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is in need of a complete overhaul, No sea view for us, we had a forest outlook! Stated side sea view.in brochure. We had water pouring through our bathroom one morning. Told it was condensation. Changed to a much smaller room, this too had a leak, this time from the very dodgy air conditioning system, dripped all through the night soaking the grubby carpet, complained 3 times after 4 days they sent handy man, He couldn't fix it.We were booked for 14 days b&b,breakfast was really basic, bread was about all it consisted of, tinned fruit and very hard boiled eggs! Glad we weren't full board. Stained walls grubby carpets and broken tiles,wouldnt recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Hotel very clean and tidy, rooms basic ,fridge in room, Aircon , sea view room best option, very good location ideally placed for boat trips which was our preferred option of transport to cavtat and dubrovnik, great views and beautiful sunsets viewed from pool (sea water pool), beaches are mainly pebbles so best to find a beach where you can hire a sunbed. Overall hotel is ideally placed and serves well as a base for exploring the surrounding area. Could do with free wifi. We celebrated our wedding anniversary while we were there and the hotel manager gave us a a free bottle of wine which was a lovely gesture and demonstrated their commitment to customer service. For a change of food try King restaurant (cash only) which is family run and only a five minute walk away, king serves fantastic fish and steak courses which are really good value

Room Tip: Top floor for sea views, if you are early to bed then higher number rooms are further away from rest...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

This place is not fab but its really good and clean. We have travelled all the way from Australia and our family was greatly impressed with value for money. The rooms were basic but functional and clean and if you were lucky like us to get one with a sea view, at the top level, you would not have been disappointed. No lifts and very small and old TV could leave more lazy travellers in slight discomfort. We have HB and there was plenty of food to choose from. Again nothing too fancy but everything prepared fresh and with good flavour to it. The pool in this place is great, exactly as seen on pics and the food in the pool bar is very yummy too. Be prepared to fight for sun umbrellas and sun chairs on the busy days. The big minus for us was that smoking is allowed on the restaurant patio as well as the pool and pool bar, with no section dedicated to smokers, so you just can't escape the smell of cigarets. Add to that an occasional smell of sewage and the fact that the glass is allowed at the pool and you'll get the full picture of the place. Expect solid 3 stars with great hospitality and beautiful trips to local destinations.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plat
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
9.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#2 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
15.6 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
17.3 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orphee

Property: Hotel Orphee
Address: Plat B B, Plat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orphee Hotel Mlini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing