We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super hotel - Very good value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orphee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Orphee
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Dorset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A super hotel - Very good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having read some of the recent reviews, I find it hard to believe I stayed in the same hotel complex! Don't let the other reviews put you off going - it is lovely!
Hotel Orphee and Plat villas are in a 'complex' which is very clean and in a superb location. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. It was a buffet style with a very good range of delicious food. We stayed in Villa Anita and the room was spacious, modern, clean and very comfortable. The swimming pool was an 'infinity' pool and had beautiful views. The water was saltwater, but this made no difference; it was refreshing and a lovely place to swim and take in the views at sunset! The pool bar was very good - I would recommend the 'Simply Red' cocktail! There are a number of beautiful beaches right next to the complex with fantastic snorkelling. There is a boat taxi that leaves from the jetty on a regular basis - we took a boat to Dubrovnik. The boat ride takes about an hour and you get a great view of the coast.
We stayed from 4 Aug - 11 Aug 2013 and had a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor villa with a nice balcony. Ignore the comments about trees as it isn't an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaGraDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    95
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
52
125
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel Orphee is clean and basic, we enjoyed our stay here.
I was really pleased that I looked on trip advisor prior to our trip though as it prompted me to buy a small plug board for the room as someone mentioned the room having only one plug, this was true and would have been a nuisance.We also took a travel kettle.

Whilst I have no complaints with the hotel as it was clean and adequate, it did feel it needed a make over. We were lucky that we had a side sea view from our room but I did notice that several of the balconies view were restricted with tree branches practically taking over the balcony!! We stayed half board and the food was average
Croatia is lovely and Dubrovnik especially picturesque. The hotel has a bus to take you to Dubrovnik for a fee but if you want to go in the evening you will have to get the last boat taxi home at 11.30pm as the bus doesn't run in the evening.

During our stay there was a wedding. We expected and understood that there would be some celebratory noise however loud music boomed out from the pool area until 3am!!
Overall I think there is probably better hotels to stay than Orphee. Although I would not rate it as awful and poor, it is average and tired.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

1st time to Croatia - stayed at the Orphee as part of the adventure Company base for a number of activities. Have to say room disappointingly small, very tired, furniture seen better days, lovely view of a tree, but heard the sea at least. Was clean though and hey who spends their holiday in the hotel room - those days are well and truly over! Pool area had a fantastic view, but pool is saltwater - watchout for those with kids. Pool bar was ok - but as with previous reviews service attitude patchy at best - however I overcame this with the great views and fast service. Nice eclectic mix of nationalities which I liked and some good facilities in the village which was small but easily accessible to Dubrovnik and the livier Cavtat (on flight path though). We had B&B only - good choice as food described as average at best - however no illnesses which is a brucey bonus - must have been those super overcooked hard boiled eggs. Separately adventure activities were good (Kayaking, Cycling rafting and Dubronik with a nice bit of history thrown in. We also met two lovely other families with the adventure crew and that really helped make it an very enjoyable stay in a beautiful Country.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors to avoid the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparshotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Many of us who are fortunate enough to take these trips come from very comfortable homes and lives. If we are not paying 5* prices, we must accept that accommodation will be a little less luxurious and comfortable than at home. There will be different smells, different sounds and the food may not be what we would choose, but that's partly what makes a holiday. This is exactly what we found at the hotel Orphee. The beds were a little hard, there was a slightly unpleasant smell that wafted up now and then, and the food was a little disappointing, but after a couple of days we happily acclimatised to our new abode. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, the pool was stunning, and the beach was beautiful and relaxing. You can pay a little extra and eat very well at the Tavern, or you can take a 15 minute ferry (about £5 return) and enjoy the super food in the restaurants at Cavtat (a mini Cannes!) Do take some beach shoes as all the beaches are pebbly. If you have room in your luggage, a padded mat under your towel will provide a little extra comfort! The hotel does provide towels for the pool and beach, but were charging about £1 a day per towel. We had room C13 and C14 which had amazing views over the beach. Many views are obscured by trees. The hotel is changing hands and there could be renovation work in the next few years, so I would be careful to check. All in all we loved the place and I would not hesitate to recommend it for its value and charm. Don't miss the cultural trips and outdoor activities available.

Room Tip: The views from the top floor rooms are above the tree line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We are guests at the hotel at the moment and are extremely dissapointed along with other guests that the hotel has closed the swimming pool area and bar in the afternoon for a private wedding and then closed the remaining bar at 11.30pm and whilst we are being subjected to a noisy wedding and unable to sleep we have been deprived of a basic guest facility.
It appears that the promised evening entertainment is the grumpy barmaid saying she is closed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99awell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plat hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

-Narrow corridors without windows, small simple room with old furniture and bad taste- furniture. Small balcony with view into e big tree.
-Staff in pool-bar behaved incredible "boored" and careless. And the music in poolbar/restaurant was not good, it was like "Dr Alban", every day. I would have prefered some soft croatianmusic.

Pool was very nice and stuff in reception and in all-inclusive-restaurant was also VERY kind and serviceminded (It´s big differens between staff in poolbar and all other staff.)

Hotel is far away from other restaurants, there is only 3-4 restaurants in area. But there is good communcations.

Room Tip: Villas Plat has much better rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filippanoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinenbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This little hotel was our stop between Budva, MNE and Dubrovnik, Croatia. This all-inclusive and quiet hotel has the most beautiful view and infinity pool that I have seen in a long time. Food is decent but nothing to get excited about--go for the pizza, not the buffet. Staff is wonderful and helpful.

We had booked for a triple room, which apparently they didn't have and so we were given a night in a Diana Villa, which was like staying in a gorgeous little apartment with a view.Well worth the stop and the price for a stay over in between big cities.

Wifi isn't free but cheap and only offered near the reception.

Room Tip: Try and stay in one of the villas if possible. Villa Diana, room 18 was a corner apartment for four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theheatherchronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plat
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
7.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orphee

Property: Hotel Orphee
Address: Plat B B, Plat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orphee Hotel Mlini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing