We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing holiday in Croatia”
Review of Hotel Orphee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Orphee
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing holiday in Croatia”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at Hotel Orphee, Plat about 12km from Dubrovnik. Only a 3* hotel but definitely 4* treatment. Friendly and helpful staff who all spoke very good English. Room, with view of mountain and the sea, was spotlessly clean and air-conditioned with pleasant en-suite bathroom and comfortable beds. Need to be fit to stay at the resort as there are a lot of stairs and no lift in the hotel, although it is only 3 floors so not too bad. It is set in very pleasant gardens on various levels. The beaches are pebble rather than sandy, which is standard for Croatia. It has a good-sized sea water swimming pool which sits on a raised area which juts out into the sea, so there is a 180 degree panoramic view of the sea and coastline. Could have done with a few more sunbeds and parasols at busy times, but on the whole the pool experience was very good. The food was good with plenty of choices for all tastes and prices for wine and drinks on the complex were very reasonable (on a par with most bars and restaurants rather than rip off hotel prices) and there was a lovely taverna overlooking the sea where you could have dinner for an extra 76 Kuna. The entertainment was low key with various musical groups playing for dinner and then at the pool bar or the lovely little beach bar which also had BBQ nights with tables set out on the beach. Dubrovnik was a wonderful place to visit, although it could get very hot up on the city wall, so best to go early or late in the day, and there is a cable car which takes you up above the city to get fabulous views. I would also recommend visiting Cavtat which is close to the airport. It has pretty harbours and plenty of nice bars, restaurants and souvenir shops. One day we got the boat there and another day we travelled by the very good local buses. There were also self-catering apartments in blocks around the complex which people appeared to be very happy with, although we did not see inside them personally.

Room Tip: Better views higher up but be mindful of there being no lift. All rooms have a "sea view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwixieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    95
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
52
125
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I took my nine year old son to Croatia this Summer and it was the first time we had ever been. We chose the Orphee because it looked picturesque on the websites we checked, was within our budget and was in a great location for moving around the Dalmation coast and what Croatians call their Riviera. Whilst there are a couple of things about this hotel that I thought could do with a revamp, it almost seems unfair to mention them (though I will at the end), because the people who worked at the hotel were so brilliantly lovely and attentive, and the hotel has bags of charm.

On our arrival, we were greeted by Stijepo, who I assume was the manager. Stijepo defined our stay for us, and made our week at the Orphee absolutely spectacular. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done with a warm smile and with ease and grace. That ethos ran through the entire hotel, from the way the rooms were kept, to the service at the hotel.

Our room was D7 - it had a beautiful sea view, and though compact, was comfortable. The room was kept spotlessly clean, another theme that ran throughout the hotel - everything was spotless (except the Dalmatians we saw from time to time in the village). The bathroom was modest but possessed an incredibly powerful shower; which was gorgeous to use after a day of swimming. The urban legend about the solo power socket is true.... but you can get around that as one Trip Advisor mentioned, by bringing your own multi plug thingy.

The rest of the hotel was charming; from the outdoor grove-style patio overlooking the sea, where you had your meals, to the glorious swimming pool also overlooking the sea, the location of the hotel was fabulous, and great for travelling to and from places like Dubrovnik, the Elaphite islands and Cavtat, all within easy reach from Plat, by sea taxi. I thought it was the perfect base. It was also only ten minutes away from the airport, but I never heard a plane overhead, as it seemed not to be on the flight path.

The food at the hotel was an earnest labour of love. The chefs would put the meals out with care and would tend to the buffet plates to keep them looking nice. I thought that was incredibly lovely and seemed to indicate a genuine care and attention to their cooking. The food on offer was varied, there was something for everyone, including national dishes for you to try, and on the whole it was fresh and interesting. Watch out for the warm caster-sugar dusted croissants in the morning and the moules mariniere dish at dinner..... well worth a try. More than once.

Whilst the hotel itself was charming, and has enormous potential to become even more so, the people at the hotel were very special. From Jelena and Tereza at reception, who were incredibly kind to my son and I, to Vlaho and Jadre who managed the bar, all with a brilliant sense of humour and attentive warmth, to the young guys who worked at the pool and Nikola, who was hugely informative and offered us tips for the best places to go around Plat, our stay was magical, thanks to them.

My only criticisms about the hotel relate to the mattresses in the room and the pillows; they could do with getting new ones of each, ones with better springs and plumper pillows. The only other thought related to the pool - it is only open from 10am until 7pm, and that is a real shame as the pool is one of its greatest assets. It could really do with being open for longer, and people did linger past 7pm, reluctantly getting out when they felt they had to.

Hotel Orphee is a comfortable, practical, magical place to stay and offers the perfect base for travelling around. Stijepo is a very skilled hotelier, and with time, this hotel will, I think, become a jewel in Croatia's crown.

Room Tip: Choose D7 - great view, top floor and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hotel and room very clean, staff in the main friendly and helpful, reception could have been slightly more efficient, so could the waiter at the top bar area next to reception. Buffet restaurant staff and cleaning staff were very good. Rooms mostly had lovely seaviews through the trees. Swimming was good from the beaches. Views from the pool were stunning. Evening sunsets were especially beautiful. Location was good for chilling out and there were buses or water taxis into nearby resorts which were easy enough. We had a car which was very handy but I think you could just about manage without. We would go back.

Room Tip: high floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkhirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

On the plus side it has pool overlooking sea, gorgeous, great sunset view with burning lanterns, boat trips and jet ski near by, little beaches and taverna clean and charming. Staff were hit or miss, some friendly, some not. Food so so. We had missing slat in first room but they changed it without quibbling. Had flood in bathroom one day, cleaner cleared up quickly. Lad cut his toe badly on cracked irregular slab by pool, they did grout it quickly, but you could see other areas that needed dong. Generally hotel in desperate need of major maintenance overhaul.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Having read some of the recent reviews, I find it hard to believe I stayed in the same hotel complex! Don't let the other reviews put you off going - it is lovely!
Hotel Orphee and Plat villas are in a 'complex' which is very clean and in a superb location. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. It was a buffet style with a very good range of delicious food. We stayed in Villa Anita and the room was spacious, modern, clean and very comfortable. The swimming pool was an 'infinity' pool and had beautiful views. The water was saltwater, but this made no difference; it was refreshing and a lovely place to swim and take in the views at sunset! The pool bar was very good - I would recommend the 'Simply Red' cocktail! There are a number of beautiful beaches right next to the complex with fantastic snorkelling. There is a boat taxi that leaves from the jetty on a regular basis - we took a boat to Dubrovnik. The boat ride takes about an hour and you get a great view of the coast.
We stayed from 4 Aug - 11 Aug 2013 and had a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor villa with a nice balcony. Ignore the comments about trees as it isn't an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaGraDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Sutton, null, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hotel Orphee is clean and basic, we enjoyed our stay here.
I was really pleased that I looked on trip advisor prior to our trip though as it prompted me to buy a small plug board for the room as someone mentioned the room having only one plug, this was true and would have been a nuisance.We also took a travel kettle.

Whilst I have no complaints with the hotel as it was clean and adequate, it did feel it needed a make over. We were lucky that we had a side sea view from our room but I did notice that several of the balconies view were restricted with tree branches practically taking over the balcony!! We stayed half board and the food was average
Croatia is lovely and Dubrovnik especially picturesque. The hotel has a bus to take you to Dubrovnik for a fee but if you want to go in the evening you will have to get the last boat taxi home at 11.30pm as the bus doesn't run in the evening.

During our stay there was a wedding. We expected and understood that there would be some celebratory noise however loud music boomed out from the pool area until 3am!!
Overall I think there is probably better hotels to stay than Orphee. Although I would not rate it as awful and poor, it is average and tired.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

1st time to Croatia - stayed at the Orphee as part of the adventure Company base for a number of activities. Have to say room disappointingly small, very tired, furniture seen better days, lovely view of a tree, but heard the sea at least. Was clean though and hey who spends their holiday in the hotel room - those days are well and truly over! Pool area had a fantastic view, but pool is saltwater - watchout for those with kids. Pool bar was ok - but as with previous reviews service attitude patchy at best - however I overcame this with the great views and fast service. Nice eclectic mix of nationalities which I liked and some good facilities in the village which was small but easily accessible to Dubrovnik and the livier Cavtat (on flight path though). We had B&B only - good choice as food described as average at best - however no illnesses which is a brucey bonus - must have been those super overcooked hard boiled eggs. Separately adventure activities were good (Kayaking, Cycling rafting and Dubronik with a nice bit of history thrown in. We also met two lovely other families with the adventure crew and that really helped make it an very enjoyable stay in a beautiful Country.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors to avoid the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparshotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plat
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 6 in Mlini
982 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,098 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 6 in Mlini
251 reviews
1.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
2.1 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orphee

Property: Hotel Orphee
Address: Plat B B, Plat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orphee Hotel Mlini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing