We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Scenery, Good 3 Star Hotel, Poor Surroundings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Orphee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Orphee
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Stunning Scenery, Good 3 Star Hotel, Poor Surroundings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here as a couple in July 13. We when booked we read the reviews and decided that it sounded cheap and cheerful and for us this is exactly what it is. We were in the main hotel block overlooking the sea, we had paid extra for a sea view and were very glad we had. The top floor rooms are definitely the best - the trees have grown so high in front of the hotel, the lower floors must have their views obscured as they are so dense - one couple we spoke to said that the tree outside their room was on their balcony! The rooms are clean and basic and I would say typically 3 star, I do think people need to remember what they are paying for. We had twin beds, the rooms have basic TVs, air conditioning and very clean and totally acceptable bathrooms. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms so take a travel kettle and supplies if you like a cuppa when you wake up first thing. Sadly our air con was faulty & leaked all over the floor. We explained this to reception and they moved us when it was realised that it couldn't be fixed. The second room we were given was virtually identical to the first, although the carpet was newer in the second room so there are obviously on going upgrades going on. There are no safes in the bedrooms, these are available in the main reception area. The main restaurant was on the ground floor of this block, surrounded by trees & with a nice out door dining area. The ladies running the restaurant were lovely and really helpful. This is a buffet and there was always loads of choice available, particularly main courses. We really enjoyed the food in the evenings. The breakfasts were perfectly acceptable too. There is a bar/café at the pool area that did a fairly basic menu at lunchtimes again although the food wasn't exciting it was perfectly acceptable - lovely seafood salads and quite reasonably priced. One of the young guys seemed to work every waking hour here and was always efficient and helpful. The pool has stunning views overlooking the bay and it was clean & tidy. The sunbeds are plentiful but uncomfortable as they are just plastic (3 star!) cushions would have been a good addition. There were less umbrellas and on some occasions the staff took them down due to the wind which was a bit frustrating but understandable. As the pool area overlooks the sea it is fairly exposed but as the temperature was in the 30s the wind was nice. There are stunning views up and down the coast from the hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating and always helpful. Personally I thought that the evening 'entertainment' was excruciating and we would have been happier without it, but many people obviously enjoyed it and danced around the pool area. So, the downsides - the whole complex is made up of the hotel, apartments blocks, a beach bar, 'a la carte' restaurant, pool & pool bar spread over quite a large area, with a main reception area, a couple of shops & a separate area we understood was for all inclusive guests only in the middle of it all. In between some of these areas the land is unkempt & there are what can only be described as derelict buildings. It is a real shame as Croatia is a stunning country and where this hotel is, it feels totally run down by comparison. Some of the garden areas are maintained and yet between the shops and the hotel there is another area that has been totally left so is completely run down. Smoking is acceptable in the main reception area so it is smelly, combine that with the fact that there is a lot of dark wood and it means the main reception feels mediocre. If the whole site was looked after as well as some of it, it would feel completely different. Down by the a la carte restaurant there is a jetty where boats come in daily and you can go to various other places along the coast - do take a boat, the coast is beautiful and you will appreciate just how good this site could be if it were all cared for equally well. We stayed half board and the a la carte restaurant is not included, but we went and paid one evening, it has really old fashioned lovely service that I remember from the 80's, with flambé puddings - lovely, with a view to die for. The other really important thing - this hotel is advertised as Mlini by the tour operator we went with - it is NOT in Mlini. There is one other restaurant nearly at the top of the hill and that is it. There is nothing else to do in Plat - the only thing there is the hotel, pool & boats to other places. Hello to the lovely couple from up north, who without we would have been bored senseless during the evenings, but as it happened meant we had a good laugh about the lack of other things in Plat. They walked for miles. We got on boats, walked to the top of the hill and caught a bus, booked trips and hired a car. If all you want is a cheap, cheerful hotel with a nice pool and nothing else then this is the place for you. If you want some other bars/restaurants at night within walking distance, go to Cavtat or Mlini for real where there are both. The bus service to Cavtat is good both daytime & evening it will cost you 35 kuna per person each way, the staff on reception will give you a timetable. The boat from the hotel also goes to Cavtat regularly - again you can book this from reception. The same applies to the daytime - there is nothing to do except sit by the pool, go to the beach or go to other places. I can't give this 4 out of 5 as it wasn't 'really good' but I do think that most of it was better than average. The grounds just spoilt it for us. We hired a car from the shop on site - it was really easy and definitely cheaper than I'd found online before we went. We drove to Montenegro - this is even more stunning that Croatia in my opinion. Do be prepared for a wait at the border though - there was a long queue! Dubrovnik is extremely pretty and there are buses there every day from the hotel too. Cavtat is the next resort along the coast - it's bigger with a port, some shops, restaurants and bars and has a completely different feel to it. I must point out here, we are not huge shoppers or want to party every night - we just like things to do!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathyo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    95
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
52
125
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel and quite enjoyed it. We had a large apartment in the Barbara complex (there are four apartment complexes next to the hotel itself). The apartment was new, spacious and bright, despite being on the first floor. And it had a large balcony. There is a small shop on site and a slightly bigger one on the main road (about 10 minutes walk from the hotel). We didn't buy many things as we had breakfast included in our rate, had a sandwich for lunch and tried different restaurants in/near the resort for dinner.

The hotel has its own restaurant (the one which is used for breakfast) which, for dinner, offers a buffet for 100 kunas per person (50 kunas for children). Quality is ok but not great. Then we tried Kings restaurant (5 minutes form the hotel) which was very nice. However, our favourite was definitely Poseidon, a little restaurant by the second beach to right of the hotel (direction Cavtat). The setting was very nice and the food very good and reasonably priced. We didn't try the Plat tavern, on the same path to Poseidon, but some friends did and they found it ok.

The pool is beautiful but all the beds were gone within 10 minutes of it opening so we always went to the beach to the left of the hotel. There we could rent 1 umbrella + 2 beds for 70 kunas/day.

We visited Dubrovnik, which is definitely worth doing, especially the tour of the walls. There are several water taxis/day (though some get cancelled without notice...) or the hotel organises a few transfers/day (35 kunas - one way and 55 kunas - return). Or you can take the normal bus (I think it's n. 10) up on the main road (the hotel has copies of the timetable).

We also visited Cavtat and Mlini, which are both very nice and worth visiting for a nice lunch/dinner by the beach. Lopud Island was also very nice (ferry from Dubrovnik's new harbour - 1 hour each way).

Croatia is beautiful and the people very friendly and welcoming. Hotel Orphee is a nice base to explore the surrounding area (incl Montenegro), probably better if you have a car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My 13 year old daughter and I spent a week at the Hotel Orphee. I'd read reviews here beforehand and had pretty low expectations as a result. Overall, the rooms are adequate, good bathroom, plenty of outlets. We had a lovely balcony but our views were directly into the trees. The pool is gorgeous, overlooking the sea, and the sunset from there, or the Taverna, is spectacular. I agree with other comments that more lounge chairs and umbrellas would be helpful. It's also worth pointing out that the hotel is mostly occupied by families, which was great for us, but wouldn't be if you were expecting an adults only type setting.

I think what colored my perception of this place was the food. There are limited options and basically every restaurant associated with the hotel serves the same menu. You can change your location and eat by the pool, at the Taverna, or on the beach and you get basically the same menu. The exception seemed to be the pizzas which seemed to be available only up by the lobby, but unfortunately they also seemed to be frozen and out of a box. To be fair, I am not sure how much of the poor food quality and lack of choices is the Hotel Orphee's fault. Outside the hotel and around Dubrovnik, the food seemed to be pretty much the same. Unfortunately, once you are back at the hotel from a day of sightseeing, you are pretty limited in that your dining options are at the hotel, or King's which is a short walk up the hill. King's is definitely worth trying.

The location is good. Just about 15 minute drive from Old City Dubrovnik. Cavtat is just a few minutes drive in the other direction. You can also take the water taxi which departs from beneath the Taverna. The two beaches on either side of the hotel are nice, with clear blue water. Be sure to bring some kind of water slippers as the pebbles are hard to walk on.

Overall it was a fine stay as long as you know what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy19087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

After a short drive from the airport we arrived at the hotel where we were quickly and efficiently checked in. The reception staff were very welcoming and provided us with maps of the area and details of the bus and water taxi services. Our luggage was carried to our rooms in the hotel and we were very pleased to find that we had top floor rooms with excellent sea views. The rooms were basic but perfectly adequate and we found that the beds were comfortable and the air conditioning very good.The bathroom was small but perfectly OK with a very powerful shower and plenty of hot water. The balcony was of a decent size and a lovely place to sit and view the scenery or the lovely sunsets.
Meals are taken on the outside terrace and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was always very well prepared and the chefs very attentive to keeping the serving areas well supplied and clean. Breakfast had a sufficient choice for all nationalities and was always good. The evening meals had a reasonable choice of dishes (bearing in mind that this is only a small complex and shouldn't be compared with much larger hotels) and we found the food to be very well cooked with a good choice of vegetables which are not generally available in the restaurants. We had thought that we would eat out on several occasions during the holiday but were so impressed by the food that the only evening we eat out was the one we went into Dubrovnik.
The saltwater swimming pool is in a beautiful location with stunning views up and down the coast. From the pool area you can see the planes flying over Cavtat to the airport but they cannot be heard in Plat. There were generally enough sunbeds around the pool but there is a need for more sun umbrellas and also new umbrellas and parasol bases as the existing ones are often broken. We would have loved to see sunbed cushions available as these are normally standard in lots of hotels these days. The beaches are very close to the hotel and are lovely although there is a charge for sunbeds. We found the beer and service at the pool bar good but it was let down by the quality of the food, its a shame they can't serve the excellent pizzas that are served at the upper bar/restaurant. It was lovely to see outside professional acts brought in to entertain the guests and the trio/quartet singing traditional songs for a short period some evenings at dinner was very enjoyable. We particularly enjoyed the traditional dancers and singers on the Sunday evening.
The hotel is very well placed for travelling to Dubrovnik by hotel bus, water taxi or public transport and we visited by water taxi and the hotel shuttle bus returning by taxi which was not too expensive when split between four. Dubrovnik is a lovely old town and well worth a visit, we also did the Island trip by galleon which we enjoyed and the coach trip to Montenegro was excellent.
Overall a very enjoyable Holiday in a good value, well located hotel with friendly staff and good food with just a couple of minor points.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cal186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just came back from a break from this hotel with my teenage daughter,after reading some feedback on here I was a bit apprehensive about this hotel but I've got to say its not all bad!
'Good points'......I found the staff pleasant & helpful,we stayed in Eva block room 15 which had beautiful sea views & generally quite clean(apart from some grey hairs on the carpet which were not ours!!) it was cleaned daily with fresh bedding.
The pool is lovely & the shingle beach is just at bottom of hotel.

'Bad points'......the breakfast is terrible,it was cold & couldn't eat the cooked stuff but to be honest there is tinned fruit,yoghurt & toast also. The hotel is quite out the way with nothing around you,they do operate a shuttle bus to Dubrovnik for £10 each return & there's a water taxi on the beach which is same price & £7 return each to nearby Cavtat which is nice & picturesque.
They also hold weddings here & they do close most of the hotel off to its guests & can be noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhood111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
119 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The people working at this hotel were lovely and very helpful. So although I have scored this average, Good would be a better description, so 3 and a half. Rooms basic but roomy (think Travelodge with slightly more room); great swimming pool and practical facilties - shop, on site car rental, own bus and boat service to Dubrovnik etc. While breakfast was good (we had breakfast included which was a good move), we were less impressed with the evening meals - good value "open buffet" - eat as much as you could (bear) but family could only bear it one night and the Taverna was a terrific setting with a tasty but ordinary menu. So try walking up the hill to Konoba King (lots of locals which was a good sign). Good access to the local and very good public bus service about £1.75 to Dubrovnik - last bus at 1.30am!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the villas - a bit noisy on Friday and Saturday nights but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BathNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a average hotel and a older hotel.
Not a very romantik place but ok for the Price , just for a short stay.
Its Close to dubrovnik by car and there is a pool .
The breakfast notning special, But the Older man at the breakfast buffet Makes your Day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jette1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Plat hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plat
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
7.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mlini
Hotel Mlini
#1 of 7 in Mlini
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orphee

Property: Hotel Orphee
Address: Plat B B, Plat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orphee Hotel Mlini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing