We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not advisable to stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Orphee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Orphee
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not advisable to stay here”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Want to leave but as its peak season other hotels fully booked and can't afford to ! This hotel is in a pretty location but has nothing going for it apart from that. Small room and minute bathroom with mould! Dining is poorly served with no varity or pride. Staff regimented and functional bordering on rude. If you like eating with at leat 25 cats that beg at the tables then this might be for you! The 2 bombed out hotels next door also make this a place to avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: No wifi in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 798Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    95
    60
    29
    10
See reviews for
52
125
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Such good customer service, the bar staff, the cleaners, the reception staff, all so friendly.
They made this holiday really. The location is a little secluded but there is a boat that you can get which is about 2 minutes walk from the hotel, and it will take you to the local towns / little islands etc.
The hotel is at the bottom of a hill (a little steep) and right at the top of the hill, (about a 8 - 10 minute walk), there is a bus stop which takes you straight to Dubrovnik. It costs about £2 return. Or you can get a taxi which are also cheap (However beware the taxi drive drove like Nigel Mansel weaving in and out of traffic.. great if you're in a rush lol).
The receptions staff were extremely helpful. They would do their best to help us with directions. We had a leaking air conditioning unit and they quickly moved us to another room (which had a better view). They couldn't apologise enough!
The food was also brilliant!! People who leave negative reviews about the food are clearly fussy eaters and would be a nightmare to live with! The food here was fresh, tasty and there was a lot of choice! Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My trip was virtually a last-minute effort so I did not have much time to really explore the reviews of the hotel. Basically, Hotel Orphee is in the village of Plat and is about 20 mins drive from the airport via private transfer (I used 'Sun Transfers' who were fine). The hotel is surrounded by several other hotels, but some of them are still in ruin from the war! At first I was a bit alarmed by this, but once I knew more about the area and had started exploring, I was fascinated by the history of these hotels and the horrific looting that went on during the war.

Room: My room was okay, but despite its 'sea view status', I had a wall of huge trees in front of it, so I had no view at all! The room was small but clean, but be warned - the noise from the sea at night can be quite overwhelming, especially when the wind blows! Bathroom was fine, but the bath itself was tiny! And I am not a big person!

Restaurant: I had half-board status, but had to prove this on numerous occasions! The food was generally good and the variety diverse. Food was very European, which was a shame as they did not venture more into the local cuisine. The lady running the restaurant is pleasant and welcoming ("You're the best customers I've ever had" she will say - to everyone!). Sitting outside is pleasant when it's not windy, but be aware of the feral cats that live in the area. They can be quite brazen (but harmless). The waiters are often shoo-ing them away!

Hotel: The pool area is very pleasant and the bar's prices not too bad. The views over the sea in the evening are STUNNING! The deck chairs/umbrellas are a little tired but functional. The staff are generally polite, although I did find the dark-haired receptionist a little curt in her conversation. A smile costs nothing! There is a tiny store on-site, but it has very limited produce and is very expensive. The village doesn't offer much either, so a visit to the surrounding towns to get your own food is required. There are lots of little pathways so be prepared to get a bit lost on your first day! Unless you have a car (there's plenty of parking), you have to walk up the very steep hill to get to the main road where you can get a bus to the other towns/cities. A bus ride to Dubrovnik was about 15 kuna (£1.50) one way for a 30-min ride. The hotel offers a limited free shuttle to & from Dubrovnik, but book early to avoid disappointment.

Area: Nice to explore when sunny, with plenty of pebbled beaches, coastal walks and boat trips, but if it rains there is little to do, so bring music/books/tablet to keep you entertained. Nearby Cavtat (pronounced tsav-tat) is very pretty and well-worth a visit for its leisurely walks, colourful cafés and scenic vistas. Of course, wonderful Dubrovnik deserves at least two day-trips to see the major sights. Care-hire in Cavtat can easily (and affordably) take you into neighbouring Montenegro. Other villages along the coast (Mlini & Srebreno) are interesting, but getting to them is dicey if you walk as you can only get to them along the very busy coastal road. There are no pavements and the drivers are hellish! Get the bus instead!

As mentioned before the scars of the civil war are still very prominent. It is nothing to walk past a beautiful modern building only to see one in total ruin beside it pock-marked with bullet holes. The haunting 'Bay of Abandoned Hotels' in Kupari is fascinating! I managed to strike up a conversation with one of the concierges who has worked there for forty years and was deeply moved by her experiences of the area in the early 1990s.

I was not really prepared for what I experienced on this trip, but initial concerns aside, I thoroughly enjoyed it and, in retrospect, I would definitely visit here in again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the central part of the hotel with 'sea view' have a wall of massive trees in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank holmography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Didn't do my homework properly and hadn't realised how far it was from the city. I had my own car so it was ok.

Rooms facing the sea are blocked by trees so not worth paying extra for.

Good variety of restaurants and bars in the evening. Standard breakfast ; nice pool with bar opened during the day. Most staff ok but some quite officious.

All in all, just ok

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pearson_c1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our first impression of this hotel was not good as we arrived about 9pm and were left at a busy reception area full of people drinking and making a lot of noise ast the reception desk is next to the bar. We were then taken to the Hotel Orphee which has a reception but is rarely manned. We had a very lukewarm buffet meal with not much buffet. Our room was quite large and very clean, towels were a bit worn. However in the morning we awoke to a beautiful day and saw what a lovely area we were in. We had a side sea view with a balcony. Breakfast was OK but manic, plenty to eat and lots of seating outside. The views are amazing and there are paths to the sea, two beaches one with a small beach bar, the other with nothing but sun beds. We preferred the beach to the left looking at the sea, the sea has less rocks and less people probably because there are no amenities. Yes you do pay for the sunbeds but that is for all day and it is so peaceful with just the occasional boat sailing past. The pool is lovely, again with great views, the sunbeds are very squashed together, there is also a bar/restaurant. There is a mini mart for drinks etc although it is much cheaper to walk up the hill to the local mini mart where there is more choice with some cheap wine and you can shop with the locals. We ate at the taverna a lot because the food was better and the atmosphere a lot quieter. There is a jetty just along the beach where you can get a boat to Dubrovnik and Cavat and there are other trips available. You can also get the local bus which goes about every twenty minutes and we found very reliable. Overall we had a great stay, if you want busy this is not for you, try Cavat which has hotels and some night life. For what we paid the hotel was good value, it is only 3 star and that is what we got - a good location - a clean room - very friendly staff - food only OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 788moaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel Orphee, had a great relaxing holiday, although it was the last week of the holiday season there, we had a great time. it might have been quiet for some but just what we needed. the hotel is a little dated but that is part of the charm, The staff were very friendly and helpful, housekeeping was excellent the rooms was very clean. the settings relaxing and the pool was fantastic, its the best place to see the amazing sunsets. there's a local frequent bus service and a boat bus, both excellent, day trips was easy to book thru reception, the staff friendly and helpful. the restaurant was lovely food was good to excellent especially when you think what we paid for the holiday, half board. I can't remember the waiters name in the restaurant but he's a character and an asset to the hotel. as cat lovers my partner and myself loved the cats ,(I can understand if you don't like cats, them being a problem) there was to many. our room was on the second floor and had a great view, I'd just like to thank all the staff and Jet2 for a great holiday. we loved it and wish we could have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnniebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was good as a base for exploring Dubrovnik and the surrounding area. We got the local bus from the top of the hill most days which was fine though not that regular.

Room was clean and relatively comfortable. The views from the pool area were great.

The reason I've rated this average is with a bit of investment it could be a fantastic place but at the moment it feels unloved. The food in the restaurant was ok to poor and whilst reception and housekeeping staff were always friendly and helpful some of the restaurant/bar workers weren't. I also think having to pay for sun loungers on the beach should be advertised more clearly.

Our room was on the ground floor so didn't have a view (which was fine as we hadn't paid for one) but the hotel could maximise their assets by cutting back some of the foliage which would mean more rooms would have sea views.

The Kings restaurant up the hill from the hotel was fantastic and well worth a visit. We also went to Bosnia and to Montenegro on day trips through Viator which were well worth it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plat
1.9 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
948 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
810 reviews
15.6 mi away
Lafodia Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
1,400 reviews
9.1 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
801 reviews
17.3 mi away
Hotel Bozica
Hotel Bozica
#1 of 1 in Sudurad
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orphee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orphee

Property: Hotel Orphee
Address: Plat B B, Plat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Plat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Plat
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orphee 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orphee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orphee Hotel Mlini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing