We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Reservation Experience”
Review of Ar Men Du

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ar Men Du
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nevez
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Appalling Reservation Experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We never got to stay at this hotel. We saw a great offer online for a soiree etape and wanted to book two rooms for Sunday August 21. It was coming up as available and I emailed to check some details. They emailed back to say the offer was only available Mon - Fri. I called them and said it was coming up online for the Sunday and they said fine, go ahead and book. I immediately did but 'mysteriously' the offer had now disappeared. Not to be daunted, I changed another booking I had made and decided to book this offer for Thursday 25 August, having first checked the special offer was available online for August 25.
In the process of booking, once again the offer disappeared but I did manage to book the 'soiree etape' for two guests in one room and got my confirmation from the hotel. I still preferred to have two rooms so rang the hotel to see if that was possible. They said they didnt have availability for a second room but also that the soiree etape was for one person so my confirmed booking wasnt valid! Even though they sent me a confirmation by email with soiree etape for two guests clearly on it, they refused to honour the booking, saying its the norm that soiree etape is for one person! I have seen many instances in France where its available for two guests but at this point, I had had enough! I could have insisted they honoured a booking confirmed by them but decided to take my business elsewhere where my booking would be welcomed.
So unfortunately the booking issues referred to by a previous guest on Trip Advisor have not been resolved by this hotel. I have never before booked a hotel where they refused to honour their own booking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dont13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
I am not used to write against a customer but really on this case I am desapointed. These 2 girls was trying to get a price on WE on a salesman tarif available just during the week. We called twice as we can understand you may not know , as non French, what "soirée étape" mean. They understood perfectly well what we said (I beleive my english is ok)....and 30 minutes later they were trying to book the same "soiree etape" on Internet. We had no choice but refusing for fiscal and legal reason.

Pierre Yves Roué
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    83
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
195
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

we spent 2 nights / 3 days in this charmful hotel. Located just by the sea, the children could go outside and play on the sea shore whenever they wanted. Peaceful place, beautiful landscape. Hotel staff happy to work there managed by the friendly owner. He found us a baby sitter for the first night, a nice lady working in the hotel. Breakfast enjoyable served in the sunny restaurant room, presenting a limited but excellent choice of fresh fruits, breads and bakery. Gastronomic restaurant deserves its rate in the Michelin guide.
We loved our junior suite, with a large glass wall on the sea. Decoration is simple but gives a feeling of warmth with ship's furniture. Really a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rdliinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
We were so pleased to welcome your family. Your 2 kids are just great and it was really a pleasure to serve you;
Pierre Yves Roué
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Despite having made a reservation on their web site when we arrive to take our rooms the reservation was not made and the hotel was full. They found in their books the reservation confirmation!!
They send us in a "called" fantastic near by hotel that was terible.
As an excuse they offer the drinks and one night in this "nice" hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardBouree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
I am really sorry. Yes we have made a mistake and we really tried to give you service as much as we could as we were not able to welcome you in our house. We found an other 3 star hotel and I paid the whole bill.
I know this is not going to replace your stay but really I cannot do more in such circunstances.
Just know that we changed our booking system and we can garantee no more overbooking now as all rooms are on In ternet and are decremented automatycally from our "stock" .
Hope we would have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Pierre Yves Roué
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Arrived here just by chance
Accommodation very reasonable - not stunning but clean, comfortable and appropriately priced
Food absolutely top drawer
We have eaten in many 3 star Michelin restaurants and rate the food we had to be in that category for a fraction of the price
We paid 35 Euro per person for 3 course (actually 6 after aperitifs etc etc)
Highly recommended for the food experience

  • Liked — The amazing food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavapentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this review, 19 December 2009
Google Translation
Just Thank You!!!

Pierre Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevez
3.0 mi away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#2 of 4 in Nevez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Port et de l'Aven
8.8 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
#1 of 2 in Moelan sur Mer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
8.9 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
#2 of 5 in Pont-Aven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ar Men Du? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ar Men Du

Property: Ar Men Du
Address: 47 rue des Iles | Raguenez Plage, 29920 Nevez, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Nevez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nevez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ar Men Du 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested on a listed site with a breathtaking sea view, the Ar Men Du in Nevez, a three star hotel de charme in Brittany which occupies an exceptional position on the Raguenz point. All rooms have sea views and are decorated in a marine style. You will appreciate the cuisine based on products of the sea in the panoramic restaurant. The Ar Men hotel restaurant is a three-star hotel on the in the Finistère Sud in Nevez which has received the Relais du Silence seal of approval and which is a member of the Hotels de Charme of Brittany. You are looking for an hotel nearby Pont Aven, Hotel Ar Men Du is ideally situated, facing the sea, at 5 miles from Pont Aven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ar Men Du reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ar Men Du névez
Ar Men Du Nevez, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing