We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true celebration destination”
Review of Ar Men Du

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ar Men Du
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nevez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This small friendly hotel offers every comfort, beautifully positioned overlooking the sea, in a tranquil location, with unforgettable food from the Michelin starred restaurant. If you are not sure what to order, simply use the experience of Pierre-Yves and his friendly staff for a recommendation. Certainly the wine list is daunting, with over 500 to choose from, thankfully they have the option of a different recommended glass of wine for each course.
This is not the normal excellent traditional Breton or French cuisine; it is a "tour de force" in terms of an unforgettable gastronomic experience from the chef, Patrick and his staff of ten. They prepare magnificent cuisine from local fresh ingredients, for only about forty dinners. This is in the premier league of, small hotels and restaurants of the world. A true celebration destination!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaygee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Really thank you for you message.

Yes we try to represent french gastronomy and I am so glad to offer such an experience to people who discover our country!

As you mentionned it is 10 people cooking and 7 people serving you for no more than 40 customers. This does explain that it may cost a bit more than else where in a classical restaurant!
It also explain how we can do cooking "a la minute", nothing pre cooked or prepare in advance.
Most of the vegetables are even cut at the last minute just before cooking in order to keep the taste!

The wine is one of my passion so do not hesitate to ask for help, it is just normal that you do not know more than 20% of the wines we propose, we are just crazy with wine and are there to guide you depending on your taste!

Thank you sir .

Best Regards,

Pierre Yves Roue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Ar Men Du
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent one day at this charming hotel. Pierre-
Eve and his excellent staff made us very welcome. It is ideally situated overlooking the sea with plenty of walks for the energetic. The whole experience was finished off with a suberb meal in the michelin star restaurant. Once again the staff were very professional and looked after us very well. Exceptional wine list and the food memorable. Look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Sorry not responding to you for a while. I missed your message and I rediscovered it today in July!

I remember very well your stay and I cna tel you that we will be delighted to welcome you again for New Year or for an other period!!

New Year is great because it is , most of the time here, a quite wild weather compared to other parts of France and sometimes some butifull storms to start new year!

Kind Regards,

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Small little Hotel at the "end of the world" in Brittany France. The reception at the Hotel Ar Men Du was perfect and our bags were brought directly to the room. And what a room! We had a large room with a window from floor to ceiling and a great view over the beaches and ocean. Very clean, perfectly kept and with cosy furniture.

The restaurant is small and reservations should be made in advance. Different menus available with fish and lobster in the center of these menus. The menus were excellent and different from many fish receipts.

Do not miss to go there and we were there the first time but not the last time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013
Google Translation

Un grand merci pour votre avis.

C'est vrai que l'on a cette suite panoramique qui est vraiment un bel endroit. C'est une chambre de 30m² environ avec un mur de verre qui donne sur la mer et un lit de 180x200 face à la mer à 180°.
Nous avons fait faire des reproductions de meubles de Paquebot et en particulier une malle à vêtement assez incroyable.
Des fauteuils vous permettent de prendre le petit déjeuner ou juste de lire confortablement face à l'océan.

Il faut mieux en effet réserver car chaque chambre chez nous est différente!

A bientôt !

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

During our many years of French holidays, we have rarely enjoyed a hotel as much as AR MEN DU***, an imposing white building with slate roof, within 100 metres of Raguenez Beach near the little summer resort town of Nevez. It’s a short drive from Pont-Aven, where the Impressionist painter Paul Gauguin founded the world-famous Artists’ Colony which has flourished from the1880s to this day. The hotel’s Breton name translates as The Black Rocks – a reference to the rocky coastline and dark Isles of Glenan a few kilometres off-shore in the Atlantic.

Director Pierre-Yves Roué greets everyone in person.With his Head Chef Patrick Le Guen, they have created a busy gastronomic destination located on a remote headland ‘at the end of the world’ where the passing trade used to be limited to a few youthful windsurfers and hard-up retired teachers in camper-vans.

Nowadays gourmets come from all over Europe to feast on some of the freshest finest food prepared with flair by a brigade of cosmopolitan chefs. After lunch one day, we watched no fewer than seven young men of mixed nationalities leave the kitchen for their afternoon break. No wonder every one of our perfectly-prepared courses looked that it was a personal work of art!

Every member of the highly-professional serving staff greeted us at dinner. After a selection of ‘amuse bouches’ plus hot breads served with delicious seaweed butter, a starter came which warmed the cockles of my heart. Yes, on the plate were three outrageously innovative ways of serving humble cockles, including a briny,foamy concoction that blew my tastebuds away. Next up on the €39 Glenan Menu was the chunkiest Roast Loin of Cod I have ever savoured, served with fennel and a jelly of langoustines. My dessert was roast pear with a tart of caramel made with a pinch of sea-salt.

Monsieur Roué offered every table a freebie selection from the cheese board, as a goodwill gesture. How generous! As is obvious from the size of the cellar, he is an enthusiast about wines, especially of his native Loire Valley which have a natural affinity with the seafood which predominates here. We loved the food so much that we immediately ordered a table for lunch. It was equally memorable.

A local ceramics artist has designed crockery with a unique blue NZ (Nevez) boating motif which goes well with the big breakfast buffet.

Accommodation at this exceptional hotel may not quite match the world-class standards of the food. However, the airy maritime style of the public rooms and bedrooms is very appropriate to the tastes of the outdoorsy people who enjoy bracing coastal walks that result in sharpened appetites and a good night’s sleep. We recommend Hotel Ar Men Du highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trew'sTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you very much sir, we hightly appreciate your letter and we were really pleased to welcome you in Ar Men Du.

You may know that our "sommelier" is maried with a north ireland's women and I am sure you will be delighted to discuss about your country with him.

Kind Regards,

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We went to Ar Men Du on short notice and got a really nice table for two. It is definitely better to make reservations in advance. We had an excellent three course dinner with a lot of variations and extras from the kitchen. This restaurant has an exceptional choice of wines and the staff is competent and friendly. The whole restaurant works very quietly and the view on the beach and the little island are beautiful. This is definitely a pure joy to eat and stay at this place.
We were very happy to have this excellent dinner at Ar Men Du.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

I just realised that you wrote me in english but I had an automatic translation in my screen so I didn't understand why I was not able to answer.

So, thanks very much, it always a question for us to make sure that our clientsd from abroad like our cooking and I am pleased it was the case for you.

I hope to see you again the the future.

Best Regards,

Pierre Yves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

But too smart ...specially the restaurant.
I was embarrassed because i am not a connoisseur good wine.
The advertising shows an hotel very near to sea but right in front of the hotel, you discover a huge car park spoiling the view.


Our bathroom and the bedroom were very nice but just on a higher floor of the kitchen and we wake up because of the delivery men.
What a shame ...

Room Tip: welkoming bedroom and comfortable bed
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

I am a big fan of wine. I cannot refuse when a great guy from France is proposing me a nice wine. This is why we have 350 different wines and to be honest it is not for bourgeoisie but for the fun and the pleasure.
Please if you come one more time in Ar Men Du tell me and I will choose for you a nice wine (at your selected price no question of only expensive wines at all).

Sorry for the delivery man who came too early for you but it is true to say that in July and August we have more difficulties to manage delivery time from our providers because of the traffic.

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We never got to stay at this hotel. We saw a great offer online for a soiree etape and wanted to book two rooms for Sunday August 21. It was coming up as available and I emailed to check some details. They emailed back to say the offer was only available Mon - Fri. I called them and said it was coming up online for the Sunday and they said fine, go ahead and book. I immediately did but 'mysteriously' the offer had now disappeared. Not to be daunted, I changed another booking I had made and decided to book this offer for Thursday 25 August, having first checked the special offer was available online for August 25.
In the process of booking, once again the offer disappeared but I did manage to book the 'soiree etape' for two guests in one room and got my confirmation from the hotel. I still preferred to have two rooms so rang the hotel to see if that was possible. They said they didnt have availability for a second room but also that the soiree etape was for one person so my confirmed booking wasnt valid! Even though they sent me a confirmation by email with soiree etape for two guests clearly on it, they refused to honour the booking, saying its the norm that soiree etape is for one person! I have seen many instances in France where its available for two guests but at this point, I had had enough! I could have insisted they honoured a booking confirmed by them but decided to take my business elsewhere where my booking would be welcomed.
So unfortunately the booking issues referred to by a previous guest on Trip Advisor have not been resolved by this hotel. I have never before booked a hotel where they refused to honour their own booking.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
4  Thank dont13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pyroue, Propriétaire at Ar Men Du, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

I am not used to write against a customer but really on this case I am desapointed. These 2 girls was trying to get a price on WE on a salesman tarif available just during the week. We called twice as we can understand you may not know , as non French, what "soirée étape" mean. They understood perfectly well what we said (I beleive my english is ok)....and 30 minutes later they were trying to book the same "soiree etape" on Internet. We had no choice but refusing for fiscal and legal reason.

Pierre Yves Roué

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nevez
8.8 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
3.0 mi away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#2 of 4 in Nevez
205 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel du Port et de l'Aven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
#3 of 5 in Pont-Aven
188 reviews
5.1 mi away
Domaine de Pont Aven - Art Gallery Resort
8.9 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ar Men Du? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ar Men Du

Address: 47 rue des Iles | Raguenez Plage, 29920 Nevez, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Nevez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nevez
Price Range: £95 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ar Men Du 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested on a listed site with a breathtaking sea view, the Ar Men Du in Nevez, a three star hotel de charme in Brittany which occupies an exceptional position on the Raguenez point. All rooms have sea views and are decorated in a marine style. You will appreciate the cuisine based on products of the sea in the panoramic restaurant. The Ar Men hotel restaurant is a three-star hotel on the in the Finistère Sud in Nevez which has received the Relais du Silence seal of approval and which is a member of the Hotels de Charme of Brittany. You are looking for an hotel nearby Pont Aven, Hotel Ar Men Du is ideally situated, facing the sea, at 5 miles from Pont Aven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ar Men Du reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ar Men Du névez
Ar Men Du Nevez, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing