We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place & service...if a little cramped” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Deux Mers

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel des Deux Mers
Claygate, Surrey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming place & service...if a little cramped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This hotel has great character, and while searching our options appeared to have much more charm and style than anything else in the area (in our price range).

The experience lived up to our expectations, and we enjoyed our stay. Very friendly service in particular, with a good if somewhat plain breakfast. Definitely worth the money

Now one or two 'buts':

1) The location is quiet and near a great beach. But it is a bit out of the way if you're looking for restaurants, bars etc -- and nipping into Quiberon was just a little further than we expected. Not a 'fault' of the hotel of course, but be warned

2) Our family room for 5 was a little cramped - on reflection one bathroom between 5 adults was not an easy arrangement. Again, generally 'as advertised', but the double room had no hanging or storage space, and this did feel below expectations.

So, we'd consider for another time but maybe think through the kind of room we wanted and whether we wanted to be away from the action quite so much

Room Tip: Maybe ask to see a picture?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieT43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a very lovely hotel that is tastefully renovated (the hotel was built in the 1920s) and has the charm of a Wodehouse novel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and we had the most wonderful view from our balcony on the 3rd floor). The only minor point is that there is no elevator (but I was offered help carrying my luggage).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

As a child we went camping to this region of France every year for our holiday. As an adult I can't help but return year after year for a few days of luxurious peace and relaxation with Hotel de Deux Mers at the centre of my plans. I can't fault the place with it's simple but elegant style and superb location. No TV, no internet and no newspapers (well, not in English anyway), the interior is spacious and cool (even on the hottest of days). The rugged Cote Savage is just meters away and the rolling waves lull you to sleep; across the road calmer waters of Quiberon Bay provide shelter for less adventurous swimmers; there are tiny port towns and rocky outcrops to explore; and wonderful local food and drink to be tasted. The hotel serves breakfast but not evening dinner - not everyone's choice for convenience I agree, but it keeps the hotel a sanctuary for residents and forces you to explore the local towns and villages in search of eateries (the reception staff have a list of recommended local restaurants and book for you). The owners and staff are welcoming and helpful without being overly attentive or precious. All the rooms are individual, with different sizes for couples or families - book one with a "vue sur mer" to watch the amazing sunsets over the ocean - the higher up the building the better. They are designed as a place to sleep after a busy day lying on the beach/surfing/rock-pooling/exploring, and not as a place to spend your days, so don't expect huge opulent, rooms - instead expect comfortable, clean, simple, functional rooms with amazing light and views. There's so much more I could write, but that would spoil the fun of exploring this amazing place yourself.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hooleyjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunmore East, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is situated a minutes walk to an amazing beach...everything about the hotel is charming, built in the early 1900 it oozes a feeling of total relaxation...no TV and the rooms are simple in style but comfortable with huge windows..light breakfast only and lovely bar to enjoy a glass of wine and lovely porch to read and relax...the staff are terrific and Delphine the owner is very helpful in providing information about all things to do in the area..walk accross the road to a little Bistro called "FLEUR DE SEL" where Estelle and Roger will provide very good food and service with a big smile...definately a place to unwind and get to know each other again...Yes a romantic spot for sure.

Room Tip: Just ask Delphine...some have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brennan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed there for a couple of nights and enjoyed it very much.
The location is great, in a forest of fir trees in front of the sea, all very unspoilt.
We chose a sea-facing room and did not regret it as it was very relaxing to watch the sea of the "wild coast" (ocean side of the peninsula) from our bed. The decoration of the room is very cute, simple yet full of nice details and marine touch. The bathroom is modern and clean.
The whole house has a very nice retro style from the outside, but all refurbished inside. The breakfast is French style (meaning warm drink+croissant+bread and jams+yogurt or cereals ) and served in a beautiful and cosy room.
My only recommendation is that if you need something (e.g. hairdryer) make sure you ask in advance as the reception is only open a few hours a day. The hotel is managed by a young couple who are extremely nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AxelitaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
611 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

The Hotel des Deux Mers is a four-storey 1920s survival two minutes' walk from the long, sandy surf beach on the western side of the Quiberon peninsula. It has antique charm including the breakfast room, wooden staircase and enclosed verandah. Rooms are comfortable if minimally furnished. Ours came with a terrace with sea views.

The hotel offers breakfast but not other meals. Dining options within walking distance are a bit limited. Within ten minutes there are two reasonable restaurants, the Fleur de Sel and the Auberge du Petit Matelot. But both are on the main road so aren't brilliant for sitting outside. About 45 minutes walk south around the old fort is Port Ivy which offers a good restaurant and brasserie in a quiet spot overlooking the old fishing harbour.

We stayed at the hotel for four nights in August. The first three were very quiet but on the fourth a noisy party took place in a house opposite the hotel between approx, midnight and 6am. The management apologised but when we asked why they hadn't complained or the police had been called, they said the host was the son of someone influential and that this happened every year. This struck us as pretty pathetic. Sounds like they need another revolution in Penthievre.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank higvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pierre-Quiberon
2.7 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#1 of 5 in Saint-Pierre-Quiberon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Petite Sirene Hotel
La Petite Sirene Hotel
#1 of 20 in Quiberon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.8 mi away
Carnac Thalasso & Spa Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Auberge du Petit Matelot
Auberge du Petit Matelot
#3 of 5 in Saint-Pierre-Quiberon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sofitel Quiberon Thalassa Sea & Spa
2.7 mi away
Logis de Bretagne
Logis de Bretagne
#2 of 5 in Saint-Pierre-Quiberon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Deux Mers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Deux Mers

Property: Hotel des Deux Mers
Address: 8 avenue Surcouf | Penthièvre Plage, 56510 Saint-Pierre-Quiberon, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Saint-Pierre-Quiberon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Pierre-Quiberon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Deux Mers 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel des Deux Mers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Deux Mers Saint-Pierre-Quiberon, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing