We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in a wunderfull little town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant des Roches
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place in a wunderfull little town”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nice,clean hotel en friendly. The bathroom was excellent, even great ! Bed hard as we like it. Travellers with bus are not treated as individuel gasts. Rather poor breakfest: one croisant, a little bread with jam en boiled coffie. Thats all folks !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    125
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
30
146
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
114 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Des Roches is a large modern building with car parking close to the centre of town (though the short walk is steep). Larger more expensive rooms face the valley down to the sea and have balconies. Smaller, cheaper rooms face across the entrance road to the back of town buildings. We opted for a cheaper option since we weren't planning to spend much time in the room. We were given room 418 (on the first floor), which turned out to have the best of both worlds.
OK the room was small, but being on the corner of the building, it faced up the valley and had a tiny balcony with a panoramic view from the sea right around to the distant Bavella peaks and the edge of town. The floor above would be even better (room 518) as this would be less exposed to the car park. The bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean, but nowhere to attach the shower head as usual, so washing hair is a bit of a challenge.
Quiet at night, and the shutters almost keep out the light from the floodlights in the car park...
Breakfast is extra, and quite good, served at table, with fruit salad, yoghurts, bread and pastries etc, but I feel 9 euros per person is a bit steep.

Room Tip: 518 or 418 are the best of the cheaper rooms, small but with a (tiny) balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsider79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed four nights at Hôtel Des Roches because we wanted to have a good look around the area, and chose a superior room because our stay coincided with a special occasion. We were lucky enough to get a corner room, which afforded views in two directions. There was even a cosy balcony we enjoyed using each of the days of our stay.
The room itself and indeed the entire hotel was very clean, not really a common occurrence in Corsica. The bed was nice and firm, there were great reading lights and the room itself was light and airy. The bathroom was excellent, especially the shower - which was big enough for a couple to share.
The hotel is an easy five minute walk to the "centre ville" and it's only a few more minutes to Sartène's major supermarket. Would we stay again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Were upgraded upon arrival to a room with fantastic view. Very clean, very friendly, real find ! Restaurant would suit 4 star hotel- quality and variety of food in combination with reasonable prices came as a surprise. If once back to the region we will not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKdelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sartene
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Damianu
0.4 mi away
Rossi Hotel
Rossi Hotel
#2 of 7 in Sartene
191 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
#1 of 11 in Propriano
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Claridge
Hotel Le Claridge
#2 of 11 in Propriano
198 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
335 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#9 of 11 in Propriano
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant des Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant des Roches

Property: Hotel Restaurant des Roches
Address: rue Jean Jaures, 20100, Sartene, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Sartene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sartene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant des Roches 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sartène for nearly fifty years, the Hotel Restaurant des Roches welcomes you from February to mid December. Come to discover or rediscover the soul and the simplicity of the places, which combine tradition of hospitality and modernity. The atmosphere is inspired by the world of the famous painter Pierre Farel. In the heart of the old mineral town of Sartène, one of the oldest cities in Corsica, Hotel des Roches has recently been joined by the Restaurant "Sognu di Babbu" (literally "Daddy's Dream"), also open for (From Monday evening to Sunday noon in winter). With a large outdoor terrace and a large panoramic room, the "Sognu di Babbu" table offers a varied and balanced menu, as well as a menu revisited in all seasons. You will have the opportunity to taste the best specialties prepared from fresh produce, as well as its best wines while admiring the plain Rizzanese and the Gulf of Valinco. Nestled halfway between sea and mountains, the region will make you discover the most beautiful sites of southern Corsica ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Restaurant des Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Des Roches Corsica/Sartene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing