We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming staff, but room is very basic”
Review of Hotel Amerique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Amerique
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Charming staff, but room is very basic”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is really a budget hotel, which I knew going into it. The staff are really sweet and charming. The hotel is also a very close walk to the beach and the canal. These are its best attributes.

The hotel itself is rather bland, and the rooms are functional, but not particularly comfortable.

Basically, stay here if you just need a place to crash while you are touring the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    158
    64
    18
    3
See reviews for
84
170
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I would like to say that I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Amerique. The cleanliness of the rooms, the bar, the breakfast and the excellent facilities. It was the perfect venue. The most impressive aspect was the owner and the staff who were very welcoming of a group of men on a rugby tour and managed this very well with the other paying guests. Special mention goes to Lucie and Soid who made us all feel very welcome and they were very friendly. I would certainly love to come back to your lovely hotel and beautiful town/region.

Je veut dire que j'ai passee une belle sejour a l'hotel amerique. le netoyyage, le bar, le petit dejeuner, le pastis, la piscine sont excellentes. Plus impressionant etait le chef d'etablissement et les femmes qui y travaillent et ily nous ont bien recu sans derangant les autres visiteurs. Je veut donne une mention special pour Lucie et Soid qui sont vraiment amicables et tout le monde a recu un grand bienvenue. Je voudrais revenir sans doute- vous avez une belle hotel et une paysage de toute beaute au bord de la mer.

Merci

Room Tip: Chat to the staff as they are very friendly. Stay near the pool in room 42.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poitiers, Poitou-Charentes, France
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I went to Palavas les Flots in mid April and had an amazing time. We were in the cheaper part of the hotel (the Motel). The room was clean and basic but great and the staff were super helpful and kind. They directed us to the beach and local attractions and helped us straight away if we had any problems. I'd recommend them to anyone.
P.S: The pool isn't open at this time of year as the water would be too cold. However, the beach is only a 3 minute walk away and is perfect for sunbathing!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Amerique for two nights across the road from the main building in a room near the swimming pool. The hotel is well situated for the beach and is an easy walk to the restaurants and shops. The hotel was clean, quiet (even though it and the town were full of visitors) and the staff were very helpful. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon so finding a parking space was difficult, but we were able to park our car in the small hotel garage which was a great help. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlily267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We stayed here with our daughter, son-in-law & 2 grand-daughters, as we had earlier in Greece. The 2 parties, otherwise, travelled independently: they in the UK, Ireland, France, Greece, Italy & Spain; we spending time in Greece and France.

The Hotel Amerique provided the only negative experience in all our travels. This was mainly due to the * reception staff, particularly the manager, being defensive and unhelpful in regard to confusion over a booking. (* The exception was the delightful young woman who served us breakfast on our last morning.) A "compromise" to the booking problem was reached but it was unsatisfactory & the experience was an unhappy one.

Processes are not good - our daughter's laundry was returned to her in dribs and drabs, with some items still very damp.

Despite having a pool and jacuzzi on site and a beach close by, additional towels were not available (with a limited baggage allowance, it is not sensible to bring beach towels from Australia). Our experience in the establishments that we've stayed in elsewhere has been the ready offering of beach towels.

We have visited Palavas on two previous occasions. On those occasions we stayed at the Hotel Brasilia and loved it. We booked in to the Hotel Amerique this time because we had not had a response from the Hotel Brasilia to our request for accommodation (we later received an an e-mail from the Brasilia, apologising for the delay - they had been on holiday.) If only we had been patient!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valence, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

This hotel is fairly small but very close to the sea front in Catella De Palafrugell. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were tired but it looks like they are going some way to sprucing it up. Felt it was fine for a couple of nights but wouldn't want to stay there for a longer holiday. Bed fairly uncomfortable. Overall ok for the price in a good location.

Catella de Palafrugell itself was pleasant and the prices for evening meals are not bad and competitive. The walks around the harbour/along the river are very nice. We even saw a couple of pink flamingos as we drove in.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonVonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Hotel lacked character, as did Palavas as a whole, but we received an extremely warm welcome when we arrived, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

We were staying across the road in the Motel building, and because of the time of year, the pool area was closed dowm, and it looked rather desolate. However, bedroom was a good size and it was quiet. Although we didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, preferring to choose different restaurants next to the sea, breakfasts were fine.

Like another correspodent, I got the bus and tram to Montpellier, and if I was in the area again, I think that I would prefer to stay in Montpellier itself. In fact, we moved to the Holiday Inn in Montpellier for our final night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palavas-les-Flots
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Grand Large
Hotel Restaurant Le Grand Large
#5 of 9 in Palavas-les-Flots
251 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel Neptune
Inter-Hotel Neptune
#1 of 5 in Carnon
440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#6 of 9 in Palavas-les-Flots
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tanagra
Hotel Tanagra
#4 of 9 in Palavas-les-Flots
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Brasilia
Le Brasilia
#2 of 9 in Palavas-les-Flots
164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#3 of 9 in Palavas-les-Flots
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amerique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amerique

Property: Hotel Amerique
Address: 7 avenue Frederic Fabreges, 34250 Palavas-les-Flots, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Palavas-les-Flots
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Palavas-les-Flots
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amerique 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amerique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing