We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place For An Overnight Stop Or a Romantic Break”
Review of Cap de Castel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cap de Castel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puylaurens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I stopped 1 night at this beautifully restored 12th Century Castle. Our room was very big with all the facilities you would expect with a large walk in shower separate bath the bed was comfortable and the room was generally spotless. I was not to sure about all the electrical applicances in the bathroom!!! fridge coffee maker etc.

The pool overlooked the beautiful countryside and had complimentary lemon and mint ice which was most welcome on one of the hottest days of the year. We had dinner on the terrace and it was lovely to sit out side and the food was without doubt lovely but small portions the service very good cannot fault a good menu with something for everyone.

The only negative was that the room was unbearably hot and sleeping with just a fan was impossible. It would have been nice to have bottled water in the room considering the temperatures outside and not have to buy it yourself from the bar these are just little touches that make a hotel special. I would recommend this place to couples looking for a romantic break as it was just wonderful to sit on the terrace with a drink its not a place I would take my kids !! We visited the Black Mountain and if its hot its lovely to sit up at the lake in the shade as the temperature is always about 10 degrees lower than in Puylaurens.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChildFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Cap de Castel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at Cap de Castel. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive. Hard to find better!
The food is outstanding, the rooms are nicely decorated (the insulation could maybe be a little better), very clean, coffee maker facility, as well as a huge video selection in case the weather is not nice....

Only little drawback: there is nothing to do in the village - no other restauants either.

However, congratulations to the team of Cap de Castel for their effort to bring life back to Puylaurens ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croquette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I recently stayed here for 5 nights - using it as a base to explore the surrounding beautiful countryside and visit friends.

Its an absolutely charming hotel. The rooms beautifully furnished, the staff were very friendly and only too happy to help and the setting couldn't be better. Dinner on the terrace just perfect!

The food at dinner was fantastic, great choices and great value.

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosielj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Don't tell too many people about this gem of a place,it might get too crowded! Spent four nights here for a special celebration and loved every moment. Our room was spacious with commanding views over the Lauraugais countryside, ensuite,of course, and a huge comfy bed. Coffee making facilities also. Dinner on the terrace each night was excellent, with an interesting and varied menu each evening, beautifully presented and expertly served. Good well priced wine list, all local too. David and Lise and their staff run a superb establishment and deserve their success. Our third visit and we certainly intend to return. Marvellous.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cap2C, Propriétaire at Cap de Castel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you Maralyn.

The whole team joins me in acknowledging our pride to welcome you here for the 3rd time. In such appropriate occasion, we believe your room (cinema themed) is an invitation to repeat your pilgrimage in the future.

Take good care of both of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our room with a view for miles and miles over the Laurengais plains was roomy, comfortable, and had a large bathroom with a bath and large separate shower.

Dinner on the Terrace next to the pool, and a view in the summer evening was most pleasant, The food was well prepared, and interesting. (The staff cheerfully moved us away from a chain smoking couple. We find it quite unusual for a French smoking couple to smoke through a meal.)

Breakfast, also on the terrace, was served at a buffet and was quite adequate.

Puylaurens has several marked hiking routes; we choose one and built a nice appetite in lovely surroundings in the countryside overlooking farms.

Room Tip: The rooms with the "big view" cost a bit more, and provide a bit more privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The views from the terrace and pool are stunning and the food was excellent. Our room was large and stylish with quality furnishings. The owner was very welcoming and helpful finding a room for our daughter who was able to join us at short notice. One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I had four wonderful nights at Cap de Castel in October and look forward to another charming week in November. It's very rare you get to stay at such a delightful hotel while on business. Don't get me wrong, this hotel is very much for your leisure holiday but with free wifi and somewhere to put your laptop then it becomes multifunctional.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, one or two english channels is enough to have some background noise on the TV or there is the DVD option too of course.
The breakfast and evening meals were a delight and the photos on the Cap de Castel Facebook page are not an exageration or created for a special event .. they really did look that good and tasted as good!
But what makes the stay most comfortable? The host .. David is a wonderful host who engages with interesting conversation but also allows you the private time to enjoy your company and ensures that your needs are met. David is surrounded by competant staff who all contrinute to a great experience.
A delight to arrive and a shame to leave.
Lee

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leewxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puylaurens
5.6 mi away
Hotel Le Pavillon du Chateau de Garrevaques
6.3 mi away
Cuq en Terrasses
Cuq en Terrasses
#1 of 1 in Cuq Toulza
297 reviews
9.3 mi away
Domaine de Rasigous
Domaine de Rasigous
#1 of 1 in Saint-Affrique-les-Montagnes
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Abbaye Ecole de Soreze
18.2 mi away
Clos Fleuri
Clos Fleuri
#1 of 6 in Castelnaudary
148 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Europe
Hotel de l'Europe
#2 of 11 in Castres
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap de Castel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap de Castel

Address: 36 rue Cap de Castel, 81700 Puylaurens, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn > Puylaurens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puylaurens
Price Range: £94 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cap de Castel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap de Castel is a charming small hotel, set within the protected "Cathare" property, originally built in the 13th century on the lands of the Lords of Hautpoul. Ten beautifully renovated large bedrooms, in two 17th century buildings, reflect the local Languedoc Roussillon colours and stimulate your senses. The spectacular view embraces the neighbouring roman tiled roofs, the Lauragais hills, and the foothills of the Pyrenees and Black Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cap de Castel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap De Castel Puylaurens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing