We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel to allow a visit to the Normandy Beaches”
Review of Riva Bella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riva Bella Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A very friendly and comfortable hotel in a excellent position not only for comfort, but also for access to the ferry to Portsmouth. We had decided to stop at the Riva Bella Hotel to allow us to visit the Normandy Beaches, this was done quite comfortably although this may have been in a quiet season. For people who want to experience visiting the local restaurants, then these are a 5/10 minute walk away.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank KirbsSoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our establishment and for taking time to give your opinion which is very important to us.

Your comments and suggestions will help us improve our services, Rest assured that your comments will be read with great interest and attention and passed on to the relevant personnel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Thalazur Ouistreham again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lovely hotel on beach. A very good standard of accommodation and beautiful restaurant overlooking the beach. Only two small gripes if on half board there was only two,choices of starter and main meal in the menu, also as we went for a spa weekend we found the spa very busy as they were having a weekend of cheap offers for local people to use the facilities.

Room Tip: Room 140 was very good, it was top floor at end of corridor overlooking "Sword Beach" and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saz500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our establishment and for taking time to give your opinion which is very important to us.

Your comments and suggestions will help us improve our services, Rest assured that your comments will be read with great interest and attention and passed on to the relevant personnel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Thalazur Ouistreham again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed only one night and didn't dine there, having arrived late, so can't comment on the food. The room was modern and clean and perfectly acceptable and the common areas seemed very smart and inviting. It's right on the beach, so must be a great place to stay in the summer. The spa was the highlight for us with sauna, steam room, whirlpool and a large pool. Massages and treatments are also available.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our establishment and for taking time to give your opinion which is very important to us.

Your comments and suggestions will help us improve our services, Rest assured that your comments will be read with great interest and attention and passed on to the relevant personnel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Thalazur Ouistreham again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed here as part of an offer from Brittany Ferries over the Easter period. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the ferry port and situated right on the beach.

We had a warm welcome and were given our room keys and vouchers for our bath robes in the adjacent spa. Our room was light, clean and comfortable. The staff did very well to assist us in every query and aspect we had given our limited French.

We chose not to eat in the hotel restaurant as we wanted to explore the cuisine that Ouistreham had to offer. We noticed a lot of residents relaxing in their bath robes, which didn't really bother us, but demonstrated the type of hotel and spa potential residents are to expect.

We requested a late checkout given our return ferry wasn't until the late afternoon and the staff were more than obliging; I was surprised by this as many hotels in the UK would look to charge quite often.

We had a good night's sleep, however the room was very hot, with only air conditioning to rely on; the windows were not able to be opened. I can't say the air conditioning was working to full capacity. Breakfast the next morning was typical for France, a standard continental.

The adjacent spa does seem separate to the hotel, however guests are welcome to use the facilities and paid treatments. It's worth mentioning for other guests attending, that board shorts in France are usually forbidden, footwear (flip-flops etc) are required in the spa areas, and the pool at the hotel is salty, but warm.

Our stay was very comfortable and satisfying, we will definitely return, more likely on another Brittany Ferries offer as I believe the rooms are quite pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our establishment and for taking time to give your opinion which is very important to us.

Your comments and suggestions will help us improve our services, Rest assured that your comments will be read with great interest and attention and passed on to the relevant personnel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Thalazur Ouistreham again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked this hotel through Brittany Ferries as part of our week long tour of Normandy. We stayed in the Riva Bella for one night after taking the ferry from Portsmouth to Caen (Ouistreham). The instructions provided by Brittany Ferries were extremely clear, and we arrived at the Riva Bella within 10 minutes of disembarking the ferry.

The hotel is extremely modern; the large entrance area has ample space to sit and relax, with the dining rooms off of it. The reception staff were very pleasant, despite our late arrival (21h30). Our room had twin beds; it was light and airy with an attractive acrylic piece of artwork above the bed and modern 'floating ceiling'. There was a flat screen TV, two modern armchairs, and a spotlessly clean ensuite.
The breakfast room was extremely busy when we went (around 7:30am) possibly with people who stayed for the morning ferry. However, there was a wide variety of foods and drink at the buffet, all the typical french delicacies.

One great feature of the hotel is the thlassotherapy centre. This is open to guests for the entire duration of their stay (including the day of departure). The impressive complex consists of numerous swimming pools and spa treatment rooms; it's all set out in an extremely user friendly way. One piece of advice I would give is that all swimmers must wear speedos and swim hats.

To conclude, the Riva Bella offers great facilities; the breakfasts are great; it feels modern, but maybe too clinical.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to thank you for your recent stay in our establishment and for taking time to give your opinion which is very important to us.

Your comments and suggestions will help us improve our services, Rest assured that your comments will be read with great interest and attention and passed on to the relevant personnel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at Thalazur Ouistreham again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The thalasso facilities are wonderful and the staff terrific, but what a shame that the hotel staff is so rude. It is difficult to find a smile here! We were also very disappointed in the dinner at the hotel. The cost of the buffet (only choice available) was €40 each, with choices very limited. We found several restaurants nearby that were much better and less expensive.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank molly62France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Proximity to the car ferry port - only a 5 min drive.
Clean and comfortable rooms.
However I will not stay here again as I did not think that the price I paid for the room was worth it.

A double room was £124 per couple excluding breakfast. I felt that this hotel is overpriced for the rooms on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigletlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
5.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
1.3 mi away
Best Western La Mare O Poissons
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
313 reviews
16.1 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Bella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Bella Hotel

Address: Avenue du Commandant Kieffer, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range: £110 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Bella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riva Bella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing