We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stopover from the ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Certificate of Excellence
Pornic, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A good stopover from the ferry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice, clean and comfortable hotel and very handy for the ferry to the UK and war Museum visits etc. Large room with big, comfy bed and everything we needed. Window had no safety catch and could only be open or closed and as on the ground floor a little worried during the night but pulled curtain across and used table lamp pushed up against it as a "burglar alarm". Very quiet though and at back of hotel so no problems there. Evening meal excellent but wine expensive. Staff very good. Short staffed at breakfast and tables left uncleared and not laid up meaning we had to share with 2 strangers. Bath towel had a few holes in it but shower excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    189
    58
    12
    4
See reviews for
39
227
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel meets all of the Best Western requirements. Clean and comfortable. Very good Wifi and breakfast. We ate in the dining room one evening and were very please with the service and food. Definitely fine dining. Centrally located for all the DDay beaches and close to Caen. I recommend renting a car but the local taxi service was very good to us. We rented a car on the second day. A taxi to Juno cost 60 Euros each way.a taxi to the hotel from the ferry was 7 euros but it is only just over a 1 kilometer away so you can walk. We were very disappointed that we had to take a taxi to Caen at a cost of 47 euros in order to get a car rental although Eurocar let us return the car to the ferry port instead of Caen. I am told that car rentals will deliver to Ouistreham but we could seem to have that request filled by any company. I do know that we arrived on a Sunday and stayed during a very busy time although it was 3 days after the 70 anniversary of DDay and that may of been why we could not get a car. Beware the car rentals are closed on Sundays.
We visited Juno, Omaha & Sword DDay beaches and Pegasus Bridge DDay site. Bayeau, Caen and both the American and Canadian cemeteries. All are with in a 50 kilometer radius and worth a visit. We did go to see the Bayeau tapestry but I really would not recommend for children. The town is beautiful though with lots of parking.. In Caen you can park at the Chateau and walk around the castle wall for free. The view was spectacular.
We toured Ouistreham on our last day including the precinct and Sword Beach then boarded the Ferry at 4pm. Ouistreham is a very pretty town with lots of old and new. There are lengthy of restaurants in the square by the canal. There a really good bakery in the square by the church and Hotel de Ville.. The staff at the hotel could speak a little English and the service was very good. There is a odeon liquor/ beer store and Esso gas station a block away

Room Tip: The whole hotel is in a quiet area of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location just off main road into Ouistreham with plenty of parking and only 5 mins drive to the beach. Reception staff were good, rooms well proportioned, modern and clean although the windows are privacy etched so it felt dark and the window was either wide open or totally shut meaning for security you had to have it shut. The shower room was ok but the cubical was small and our sink was not draining. The other problem is the onsite Restaurant is owned by someone not connected to the hotel so when we wanted some ice in the afternoon and the restaurant was closed we couldn't have it. Billing also had to be separate which was a nuisance. All in all though a good place to stay, just those few niggles.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family when visiting my Grandfather-in-laws war grave.

The hotel was easy to find and ample parking was available.Rooms were clean,comfortable and the bed was one of the best I have slept in.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had some fun trying to translate the menu. With my wife and I's basic French, we picked some really nice food all washed down with a lovely wine. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as for a party of 6, this would have meant spending 78 euros a day!

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and check in/out was very quick.

The hotel is ideally located for the Normandy beaches and Ranville and Pegasus Bridge are only a 10 minute drive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DLANN1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didmarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is at least our sixth visit. It's always the same. The rooms are identical, modern, clean and smart, the beds are comfortable with good pillows, shower room is small but good, parking is free. We use it regularly for a night stop after a channel crossing. The breakfast is good value if included in room price, otherwise 13 euros each seems a bit steep,so watch out for the offers. Unlike a recent visitor who made such a fuss over the scrambled eggs we have always found the staff polite and helpful. We shall definitely stay here again.
To the hotel - a little maintenance is required. Eg Room 2 - shower door seal and window need attention.

Room Tip: They all seem the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19lenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Probably about 5 mins drive from terminal, very quiet, in good condition and clean, comfortable rooms, with free fast wifi, and good beds. Breakfast was good, choice was good, service ok. Restaurant, quite expensive but good choice and well presented, generous portions and very tasty. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side were fairly quiet, presume away from the road, quieter still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Easy to find from the ferry, small clean bedroom, don't bother with the breakfast, did not see any staff to help with the breakfast.
The hotel is ideal to visit Sword Beach and other beaches. I suppose for what you pay for this hotel it's not bad.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
5.8 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
1.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
Address: 68 rue Emile Herbline, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing