We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Phare

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ouistreham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel du Phare
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Fantastic welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times over the past 10 years, the owners and staff are fantastic. The owners Martine and Gerard and family have a very warm welcome for everyone, any D-Day veterans are treated with upmost respect and are like family.

Room Tip: Book early if travelling around early June
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vulcan552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed a few times in this hotel the owners have gone above and beyond for us, the food is very good and it's very near to the ferry .
Free wifi and good views of the port . Lots of restaurants and a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKAY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckland Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Although we did not stay here we enjoyed what was our best meal this trip with an excellent menu of oysters and sole. Super service and value. Made more worthwhile as rough crossing home prevented planned dinner on the ferry. Next trip we will night stop here and again enjoy an excellent meal!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orgeres, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We booked this hotel through the website we booked our ferry crossing on. Hotel Le Phare is very close to the ferry terminal so, after our trip from Portsmouth, we only had a few hundred metres to drive. There was plenty of free parking immediately outside the hotel. We arrived quite late and there were no staff on duty at the hotel but we had previously received an e-mail, in English, from the hotel giving us instructions, including a key code for entry. The room was small, as is normal in France, but perfectly clean and with a comfortable bed and an adequate shower. Breakfast was served in the attractive conservatory-style café/bar which has good views of the port. Continental breakfast was included in the room price but we opted for the cooked English breakfast which arrived promptly and was of good quality. All-in-all, a perfect place for an overnight stay to or from the ferry.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Typical small cheap hotel above a bar. Beware if arriving at night the bar may be closed and you will need code for entry and pick up key from board. Get these before you arrive. Parking right outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MonocleMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

As a place to stay before or after the ferry, this is OK. The room was small but well decorated, fresh and clean, and the linen was spotless and fresh. My only criticism would be lack of a mirror. Ah, but the shower room! Tiny and old fashioned with no hooks, and questionable mould in the shower. And the shower took 15 minutes to run warm water in the morning - not ideal for a 6 am start. Not sure we would stay again I'm afraid. Breakfast was good value, including excellent coffee but served without a smile to be seen.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Booked the hotel for the night before the ferry home. Had a double room for myself and my 5 year old child. Room a little on the small side but very clean and overlooked main square, which kept my child entertained watching ferries,traffic and the fair! Staff welcomed my child. Only negative would be they do not allow you to take drinks from the bar to your room, however when I explained I was alone with my child, who was very tired at 9.30pm the manager agreed to let me take a drink with me, which was very welcome after a six hour drive. Ideally placed to have a long walk to the beach and town centre. Continental breakfast was enough to feed the two of us. Would definitely use again, very good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olls294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouistreham hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Cosy
Hotel Le Cosy
#6 of 8 in Ouistreham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#5 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Phare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Phare

Property: Hotel du Phare
Address: 10 Place General de Gaulle, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Number of rooms: 19

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing