We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed in France!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed here for one night when catching the early ferry next morning. Hotel is bright, clean and well priced. The food in the restaurant was good and unpretentious and the bed was simply the most comfortable ever. So much so, I would like one of them at home. A great little hotel with friendly staff, good facilities and a convenient location.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Guinevere50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our stop for one night and was easy enough to find. We came in from the west on the coast highway. I had a worry about the horn of the ferry being audible in the middle of the night but that didn't happen.

Room was clean. We ate in the hotel restaurant because the weather was blowing raw and very cool for a hike to a restaurant. I enjoyed my meal and the staff was accommodating to a seventeen year old boy on his first trip out of the U.S. who thought that every restaurant had American style hamburger and fries on the menu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kpottorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

this hotel is close to the ferry terminal - which was why we chose it. It has a nautical theme that goes a few steps beyond being cute. There was a porthole window from the bathroom to the bedroom so when my husband turned on the bathroom light in the middle of the night the light shone into the bedroom, waking me up. A very strange placement of a window. The room had a king-sized bed that took up almost the entire floor space - definitely one of the smallest bedrooms we had in Europe. When we came into the room there was an unpleasant smell so we opened the window to air the place out - the smell never entirely went away and was particularly strong in the bathroom - a bit of a sewage odor. As long as we kept the window open and the bathroom door closed the smell didn't permeate too much into the bedroom. The room itself was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable.

The worst experience we had at this hotel happened in the restaurant. While we were airing the room out we went for a walk into the area of town that had restaurants and bars. We had a light dinner at one of the restaurants and decided to head back to our own hotel for dessert and a glass of wine. We went into a more than half empty restaurant where we were promptly given menus, cutlery, and a basket of bread. When I told the waiter we were just having wine and dessert he became extremely rude, snatching the bread and cutlery off the table. We spoke to him in English to place our order and he immediately said "no English". I pointed to our selections on the menu and he proceeds to tell me, in English, that we shouldn't be ordering just wine and dessert in the restaurant, we should go to the lounge for this type of order. We spent a week in Paris a couple of years ago and whereas I wouldn't say we were treated warmly by service staff, they were generally polite. This waiter was beyond rude.

As we walked around Ouistreham we saw lots of other hotels. I suggest you pick one of them instead.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dsinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times from when it was the Mercure,bur now that it has been refurbished it is first class, especially the room equipped for disabled persons and, of course it is ideally placed for access to the ferry which is the main reason for us to use it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lamimaudiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We found the room very clean nicely laid out,the staff were very friendly and helpful and the car park had plenty of spaces.he breakfast was very good and you could help your self to as much as you like.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here after the ferry arrived in the evening from Portsmouth. The hotel is right alongside the ferry port and we were able to park in the secure car park. The rooms are small but that didn't matter as we went straight to bed which was extremely comfortable so after a good night's sleep, and an excellent breakfast, that included fresh orange juice that you squeeze yourself, we left in good time for a long drive south the following day. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssunshineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Very convenient, adjacent to the ferry terminal for those coming off a late ferry or having to catch an early one. Charming and efficient staff, very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SallyNice_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
0.9 mi away
Best Western La Mare O Poissons
0.6 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
6.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Phare
Hotel du Phare
#6 of 8 in Ouistreham
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Ouistreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Ouistreham

Address: 37 rue des Dunes, 14150 Ouistreham, France (Formerly Mercure Ouistreham Riva-Bella)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Ouistreham 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel by the sea. The hotel is located in the heart of the city, 500 meters away from the beach and also from the fish market. This hotel restaurant with 49 rooms, recently renovated, is the ideal place to visit the WW II landing sites of D day and to go to England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Styles Ouistreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ouistreham Riva-Bella Hotel Ouistreham
Accor Ouistreham Riva Bella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing