We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, tidy, good location, booking easy and keys waiting.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Cosy

Hotel Le Cosy
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Le Cosy
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, good location, booking easy and keys waiting.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Not good value, £160 for 1 room, £80 each for b&b. We stayed for 2 nights whilst "doing the Normandy d day beaches" etc. Excellent location, bars and restaurants all around, and parking available too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
20
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were quoted 87 Euro for a room here, plus a total of 22.5 Euro for breakfast. We were asked for 26 Euros more than this by the woman who threw breakfast at us while she was was serving, mopping and answering the phone, etc. She gave us some junk about 'taxe de sejour'. My understanding is that this should be no more than 3 Euro. We were offered no bill and no receipt. We were in a hurry and she was hurrying us out so we had to pay up.

All this for a scruffy room in an old hotel that had seen better days. Too big a price for a good location. We're regular French visitors but next time we'll be driving out of town.

Room Tip: There are very steep steps so try to avoid the top floors if you have to go at all. Impossible for e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ouistreham hotels

Chesterfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My parents had booked this hotel via booking.com in September. They had an early ferry on Monday 15th October.
When they arrived at check in time, 4pm, on Monday the hotel was all closed up. Outside tables where all inside and shutters where closed on the windows. They waited in a bar across the road, when they asked about the hotel they were told it was closed down. They returned later in the evening, just to check and it was still closed up. They had to find another hotel for the night.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gilescsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Due to the arrival of our ferry in the late hours of the evening, we planned to stay not too far from the ferry port and begin our drive south in the morning. We'd made the hotel aware of our late arrival, as requested on their website, but still this didn't mean we could easily access the hotel. Arriving at about 11pm we had to "persuade" a voice on the other end of an intercom that we were who we said we were and that we had a reservation - after a long and tiring journey, this wasn't fun! The hotel is very basic and not particularly welcoming. Its location in the centre of the town is convenient however it is not easily found by car when driving from the ferry port. The location also meant a great deal of noise and, as we had arrived on a Friday night, it meant we shared all the "fun" of people partying well into the early hours of Saturday morning. The room was clean and the beds quite comfortable however the lack of tea/coffee making facilities is a serious oversight.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomin2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times now. This hotel is right in the middle of the shops,restaurants & is only a couple of minutes walk from the beach. The ferry terminal is literally at the end of the road ( 5 mins drive max) so is great for the 8.15am ferry. We had a double room and a triple room. Just be careful about the charging for the additional bed in the triple room. We were charged extra even though we had been told we wouldn't. I think this was a mis understanding via the booking company but I was too tired to argue the case for 15 euros.
We had a lovely welcome and were made to feel very welcome. Our room was a bit noisy but to be honest we loved being right in the middle of everything & were only staying 1 night. The bed was comfortable,bedding clean & we even managed to park in the small car park at the back of the hotel.There was plenty of hot water.The place has a bit of a buzz and definitely has character!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakeland5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I needed to stay somewhere close to the ferry terminal at Ouistreham and Hotel Chalet is only a 10 minute walk away. I may have been the only guest staying at the hotel but the owners were very welcoming. My single room had a double bed and although the room was quite small it was fine and there was an ensuite bath with shower over. My only criticism is that the room could have had better lighting but this is a very small niggle.

Room Tip: Some reviews mention that it could be noisy. I had a room at the back on the first floor and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shieldsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I have just taken three children to Ouistreham for a few days. We wanted simple, functional, clean accommodation in a good position and this met our needs perfectly. The owners were lovely and friendly. We arrived at 8 am to leave our bags but our room was ready so we were able to check in then.
The room was simple but nicely co-ordinated. Beds were very comfortable. We were in a really good position. The owners always had a friendly word for the children and they felt very welcome. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucky-peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
0.2 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Mare O Poissons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#5 of 8 in Ouistreham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
Hotel de Lion sur Mer
#1 of 1 in Lion-sur-mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Cosy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Cosy

Property: Hotel Le Cosy
Address: 74 avenue de la Mer, 14150 Ouistreham, France (Formerly Hôtel Le Chalet)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Cosy 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Cosy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing