We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel as we have come to expect from the Ibis chain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel is in a good position facing the port just a short walk from the beach and good places to eat. As the port is a working one you do get a little bit of noise early in the morning and I suggest you ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if you don’t want to be disturbed ( although it’s not that bad).
Some previous reviews have said the car park is difficult to find.
The signs are quite small ( positioned on lamp posts) and you do have to look for them as you get in to the port but it’s not that hard.
The entrance to the car park is through a small housing estate and then up a small road but once you find it it’s very good and secure with electric gates. Just press the button and the reception will open them for you. There are approximately 30-35 spaces and when we were there lots of them were available so you should not have a problem. There are some disabled spaces at the front of the hotel.
If you park in the car park it’s just a very short walk to the hotel rear entrance then a lift down to reception. It’s all quite straight forward.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brightzinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here one night when we were in the Normandy area. Extremely convenient to see all the historical sights. The hotel is in a charming town with some wonderful restaurants. Rooms were OK. Parking was easy and we felt very safe.

Room Tip: rooms on the backside are quieter. dont pay for breakfast, eat locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

there's a class of hotels in Europe, that probably compare to the typical motel in North America. They are low cost, efficiency style properties that don't go crazy with amenities. Just the basics. This hotel fits that class. A very clean and basic room, with a queen sized bed (NA sizing) and a novel bunk above for the kid. Maybe 2 little one's could fit up there, but no more. Internet is included. Breakfast was a bit extra, but not expensive. Front desk staff were not 100% fluent in English, but between my poor french and their English we got through it. Staff were very friendly. Basically everything you could ask for in this style of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank btyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed in many Ibis Hotels and always had good value ,

This one was no exception , very helpful staff and good breakfast ,

Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to tour the surrounding area for a few days ..

Car parking was around the back of the hotel through a housing estate but was secure and free !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We were really impressed with this modern and spotless Ibis. Our room was facing away from the port, cheaper and possibly more quiet.
The staff were very friendly, brekfast really nice.
The place is a small fishing village if you are looking for a quiet place then this should be something for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank TomaszWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for a couple of days during the D Day commemorations. The staff were very helpful at all times. Our room was excellent and one of the best Ibis rooms that we encountered in France. The hotel was ideally situated to place us where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank coyleandgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Of the five hotels we stayed at during our cycling trip along the Normandy Beaches, this was the most expensive and gave us our worst night's sleep.

We knew we had a tough section to cycle to Port en Bessin so chose a good hotel as a treat. First impressions were good. Nice location by the docks and friendly reception staff. The girl on duty didn't speak much English but was patient while I absorbed the information. There is a secure shed with a combination lock at the rear which is purpose-built to hold bikes - a very good idea.

Our room was at the back, modern and with a very nice bathroom and shower. We had a very nice meal in town and then crashed out for the night. Both of us were awake again within an hour - the bed was rock-hard and the pillows were uncomfortable (they were hard and one was not enough but two were too much). We mentioned this when checking out and were met with a smile and a Gallic shrug. We won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
614 reviews
4.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
603 reviews
9.5 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
8.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Bayeux
Ibis Budget Bayeux
#1 of 1 in Nonant
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin

Address: 12 quai Baron Gerard, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range: £50 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin hotel is in the heart of the fishing village of Port en Bessin, on the famous Omaha Beach in the environs of the D Day Landings. A stones throw from Omaha Beach Golf course, take your pick of sport and leisure in historic surroundings. Book one of our 62 highly comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities offered by our hotel (opened in spring 2008) including WiFi access in your room. Grab a tasty snack whenever you like with our 24 hour bar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Ibis Port En Bessin Huppain
Ibis Bayeux Port En Bessin Port-En-Bessin-Huppain, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing