We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheerful bistro with lovely food and friendly service”

Le Bistrot d'a Cote
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$38
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant specialty fish and seafood, Home cooking, Fresh fishBistrot d'à Côté we love home cooking. We favor of producers, farmers, and especially local fishermen. We are foremost chefs restaurateurs. We process our products on site. Our dishes are cooked to order, so there may be waiting. Thank you for your understanding gourmet. Stephanie and André Maillet and team Bistrot d'à Côté
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Cheerful bistro with lovely food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our family group of 8 (foodie) adults have just spent a weekend in Normandy mainly to do some serious eating and rolled up without a reservation at 1.30 pm on a warm and fairly busy Sunday in late September, having left our cars in the large free car park on the harbour wall. Downstairs was fairly full but we were shown to a table upstairs where only one other table was already taken. Smiling, helpful and energetic service, despite our clumsy French. Extensive menu so something for everyone, mainly classic French, lots of fish and seafood but meat dishes too including chicken in cider (very tender and flavoursome) and rabbit with mustard and cream. Delightful amuse-bouche which we think was cream cheese blended with sun-dried tomato and basil. Some of the family started with a big dish of brown shrimp and went on to the plateau de fruits de mer (more shrimp, prawns, langoustines, crab, oysters, winkles and whelks). I had snails then skate wing with butter and capers. Another had a marvellous plate of flaked white fish with cumin. Frites served separately in paper cones on stands to keep them out of the sauces. All good, with a couple of bottles of a nice white Sancerre (for those not drinking cider) and lovely desserts to follow, Fabulous mousse au chocolat. It was all just very, very French, and overall the best meal we had all weekend, at a very fair price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    180
    39
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“an excellent anniversary dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

we were recommended this restaurant by the French housekeeper where we were staying and were certainly not disappointed. The staff speak very little English but with my rusty French we managed. The fish soup is highly to be recommended and my starter of moules mariniere was a very good sized portion. My husband had the fish kebab (not kebab as the English know it) which was very tasty and came with salad garnish and frites. I had salmon in vanilla sauce which came with some small portions of vegetables. An apple pastry with ice cream and creme brulee finished the meal. I drank the restaurant aperetif, which was calvados, cidre and fruit liqueur, and my husband had a glass of red wine and a beer. The bill came to around £60 which was quite expensive, but we found all food in this part of France to be fairly expensive. The staff were friendly and attentive. Yes it is a small and cramped restaurant, but you can see that before you go in. When we were there on a Wednesday evening it was full of French families, which is generally a good sign as far as the food is concerned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Criss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“grest French food for reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great food, served with no wait and the free appetizer was Delicious, we went back a second time the next day

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
176 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Interesting choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This small restaurant is tucked away behind the main area of this small fishing port. It's primarily a fish restaurant yet there is a long selection of meat dishes too. I was concerned that there were too many choices, yet each course was freshly cooked and relatively innovative. The fish a la plancha was three different fish well cooked with roasted vegetables. The fish kebab featured flaked fish with cumin. Cuisse de lapin in mustard was deemed to be tasty. It's a small room with too many tables. The staff are very rushed, have a hard job manouvering themselves around and basically lack personality, so the ambiance is poor. It takes ages to serve people. Not the best choice in this fishy resort..average prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankafile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Ate here with family on a Tuesday evening. The restaurant is quite small and the tables are close together, but offered a good selection of seafood on the specials board. The restaurant was not full and the atmosphere was therefore disappointing. The young waitress was polite, but could have been more welcoming. When we left, there was no one from the restaurant staff to say thanks and goodbye until we got out onto the street, where we found the waitress and another young guy smoking cigarettes. It's a shame that in the current economic climate it felt like the staff were not working harder for our custom or that of others.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Theharris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot d'a Cote also viewed

Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
 
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
 
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, Calvados
 

Been to Le Bistrot d'a Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing