We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a great time!”
Review of Camping Port'Land

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Camping Port'Land
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in the Sword bungalow for 5 nights and then tent/camped for 3 nights. we are a family of 6 with children ranging from 3 - 13 yrs. The staff were amazing and even with over 1,000 scouts and families there in a very bad rain storm, the smiles were always ready and the kindness and helpfulness never waned. We would go here again in a heartbeat. All the children had a blast in the pool, bouncy houses, playgrounds, soccer/multi use field and just plain hanging out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the campsite and it is now one of our favourites in France. A great location for all the WW2 sites, plus of course the famous tapestry of Bayeux. The owners were great especially when I forgot what day we were leaving and we overstayed by a few hours!
We will definitely be coming back as we didn't quite get to see all of what we wanted to. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine_Stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We arrived here after spending 9 nights in Les 4 Vents outside Paris.
This is a large campsite but as it is in sections it doesn't feel as big as it is. The reception staff were very helpful and the restaurant staff, where we ate on our first night, were very friendly. Food service was a little slow as the restaurant was very busy, but they came to apologise and we were happy to just sit back and relax after what had been a very busy day. The food was good and we were welcome to stay and relax over a couple of drinks afterwards. There is a separate pizza/snack bar but we didn't use it.
When I was booking this site in January the reception staff very helpfully emailed me a site map to help us choose a pitch. We chose a pitch in the 'Rotunde' (167) which is a lovely area - a large circular shape with each pitch opening into a central area which contained a communal BBQ area. Just for info our first preference would have been pitch 169 but I was told that we wouldn't be able to drive our car into this pitch due to the narrow access path surrounding the Rotunde, but when we got there this and all the other pitches in this part had cars parked in them and the path easily accommodated this. Also, one other thing to be aware of, if booking this site, is that many of the pitches had the EHU/water stand in the centre of the pitch?! This was the case in many of the pitches around us and even though the pitches are a generous size, we would not have been able to fit our tent (8m x 4m) in them simply because of the location of the EHU/water stand. I guess we were lucky that ours was towards the side, but it's just something to ask about when booking.
Our daughters (14, 12 and 7) loved this site! They preferred it to Les 4 Vents simply because there was more for them (whereas hubby and I loved the simplicity and silence of 4 Vents)! The pool area was great with an indoor pool, outside paddling pool, and a bigger pool with 3 slides. I thought the playground was kinda basic with table tennis tables and a bouncy castle - but it was very popular with our kids, even the older one - maybe there was another one with swings etc in another part of the site, but I didn't see it. Our older 2 girls spent a lot of time in the 'hangout' room upstairs over the bar/restaurant where there were pool tables, fuss ball tables and seating. The free wifi in this area and around the bar/restaurant/reception was in great demand which resulted in it being very slow at times and often hard to connect to.
The sanitary block closest to us was modern and sizeable with individual washbasin cubicles as well as the usual shower and toilet cubicles. There were also two lovely nursery cubicles with baby bath, changing area and tiny toddler toilet. There were ample washing-up sinks here too and laundry facilities. Cleaning took place regularly throughout the day and night and any mess was down to the bad manners of the other users rather than the quality of the cleaning. The campsite was pretty full when we were there but I never had to queue for a shower and there was always hot water. There were temperature controls in the showers and washbasins which were great as the max water temp was too hot for the kids.
The site was patrolled by security at night and even though it was very busy there was no noise at night.
Communal charcoal BBQ's were plentiful and located in every area of the site.
The occupants of this site were mainly French and Dutch with a few Belgian and Swiss. I didn't notice any UK cars and we didn't encounter any other Irish until another family checked in the evening before we left.
The location of Port'land is perfect for exploring the D-Day Landings sights which was our reason for stopping here on our way back to Cherbourg. The little town of Port en Bessin is only a kilometer or two away by car (only 700m on foot by pathway from back of campsite) and has a SuperU and some nice restaurants.
We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it - the great weather helped!! I have no hesitation in recommending this site.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClareGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have just returned from our holiday in Port en bessin. Site is lovely , peaceful and well presented. Accomodation lovely. This is our second visit here and we were not dissapointed. An excellent place to visit the D Day beaches. Owners very helpful and friendly.
Only problem Brittany ferry strike!!! so had to drive up the coast to Calais for return journey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie24_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was a great campsite. English owner made us feel very welcome. Make sure you take the walk to the lovely seaside village (it's not far, about 10 minutes or so). Facilities were very good, nice and clean. Throw your fishing rod in if you like to fish as there's a pond. Great campsite for kids, particularly when we were there as there were plenty of free sites, so lots of room to kick a football.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Spent 4 nights camping here with my wife and 18yr old son this week to see some of the D-Day landmarks... turned out to be a quiet week and had most of the site to ourselves ....really well run, modern and clean campsite. Great facilities with lovely level grass electric pitches ... some screened with hedgerow ... 2 good shower/WC blocks .... had a few (large) very cold Leffe's in the restaurant/bar in central building ..... ex-pat Debbie spoke English and most other staff some English ..... didn't use the heated indoor or outdoor pools but they looked superb .... the site has lots of rental statics and we had the company of a few mobile home tourers.... free wi-fi... basketball/football court.... 2 small fishing lakes ..... and took our bikes for a cycle around the perimeter road... site has a fob key entrance/exit barrier arrangement.... close to the town and Super U supermarket 1km.... emotional visit to the D-Day sites made this a really good week..... and would highly recommend this campsite as a base.

Room Tip: All tent pitches are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke_O_Zade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Some campgrounds have a nicer pool, some are closer to a large city & amenities but, overall this place is great. The campsites have electricity, water, & sewage (rare in Europe), lots of trees, shrubs, ponds; and is landscaped beautifully. The staff are the friendliest we have ever experienced, and service minded. Everything is clean & in working order. I was told by other guests that the restaurant serves good food. Go out the back gate & walk down the hill to Port en Bessin. A nice village that was used in filming 'The Longest Day' back in '62.
Some of the cabins are situated around a cozy lake & garden area. I was jealous but couldn't complain about our giant campsite which was larger than most people's entire property back home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadMike666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
895 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
230 reviews
5.1 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
603 reviews
3.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Port'Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Port'Land

Address: Chemin du Castel, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range: £23 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Port'Land 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping Port’land is the starting point for all your visits. In the heart of the Normandy beaches (Utah, Omaha, Gold, Juno and Sword), close to Pointe du Hoc, the gun battery at Longues-sur-mer, Grandcamp Maisy, Merville and Crisbecq, Pegasus bridge, Sainte-mère-l’église and 45minutes from Caen and the memorial, our campsite is perfectly situated to discover or rediscover a heritage full of history. Situated at: a few minutes from the american cemetery and Omaha beach and 9km from Arromanches, you can discover the remains of the second world war and of DDAY Bayeux at 9km away, you can admire the protected medieval streets and the cathedral. The famous tapestry is worth visiting ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Camping Port'Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Port'Land Port-En-Bessin-Huppain, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing