We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds to die for”
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Marine
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived late without booking so had to take a side room with rooftop view. The room was clean, tidy and bathroom great. The beds, however, were fantastic! Probably the most comfortable in any hotel I have stayed in. Being right alongside the fishing port means some early noise if the tide is right (or wrong depending on your viewpoint). Also the ozone/seaweed/fish smell may put some people off (honestly it's not that bad). Great stroll out onto the harbour arm on your doorstep to walk off that seafood evening meal. I can't agree with the comment made by an earlier review about unhelpful/rude staff. The guy who booked us in was very polite/respectful and even advised us on where to eat when we declined the hotel restaurant without a hint of rancour on missing out on two more diners.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeafordPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night during our roadtrip cross Normandy. Hotel is a small quite place with nice location. We had a big room with a nice view over the port. The see smell was charming, but we like it so we didn´t mind.

Staff was very nice and helpfull.

On the other hand there was a strage smell in our room - oldness or how can I say that. Not everything was perfect, but it is a very nice 2 star hotel.

We really enjoyed our stay... :-)

oh and!!! Beds were amzingly comfortable !!!! REALLY COMFTY ;-) we had very good sleep after busy day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jozefinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

At the end of the road in an older building with newly renovated rooms, the breezes of la Manche and a view of the port, its restaurant is excellent. The waiter/manager was particularly charming and helpful.
Mornings, however, start early at the harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed during a very busy time so had no choice of room Side rooms look out over rooftops Corridors smell a bit fishy but understandable The town is very pretty and bustling with boats and fisherman at the quayside landing and selling fresh fish.
Worth a stay and it is a short drive to Arromanches to see the sights there The opposite direction is the cemetery and museum of Omaha beach which is very moving with gravestones of around 10,000 brave soldiers
Well kept as all the cemeteries are in NormandyThe Omaha cemetery will take 2 hours to see with a central statue and inscriptions of soldiers who lost their lives there.

Room Tip: try to get a sea view as the side rooms look out over roof tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed there four years ago and loved the place. Tried again the next year. No response to faxes or e-mails. Showed up hoping for a room, but the proprietress dismissed me with a series of non, non, non. Literally shooing me out of the place. Returned this year with some friends--we were staying elsewhere--hoping to dine there at least since the place is so attractive and so well situated. Big mistake. We didn't even finish asking if there was a table available. The maître d’hôtel was even worse than the harridan who runs the place. Non! Non! Non!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I booked in to this hotel on 18th June, as it looked like a good old style hotel, right on the sea front,so we booked an overnight stay, early evening, on a short break. The passageway to our room on the 2nd floor was not at all welcoming- dark, poorly lit,and smelt as old as the hotel. The shower would not tighten on the bar, making it difficult to wash unless you held it, and impossible for my wife to wash her hair. We showed the Manager- he was not very pleased, offering us a double room on the 3rd floor or a twin bedded next door, but it would be an other six euro's!! A bit late to start looking for another hotel, we took the next door room. This room, we had to flush the loo three and four times to clear it! At breakfast, we had a croissant and small bread roll, and jug of coffee, about a cup and a half each, with the milk. We asked for more bread and coffee, and got ONE ROLL , and enough coffee for half a cup each!! Twelve years of travelling Europe, this was the worst experience yet.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights in June 2012 when the weather was poor.
We were touring the Normandy beaches and museums and used this hotel as a base.
We checked in before dinner and found our room on the third floor, no lift, and it was dull, cold and uninviting. We asked for some heat to be put on and all we got was a shrug of the shoulders.
I forgot to mention it was small as well.
Dinner however was good. A good choice, well cooked and friendly ambiance. The restaurant overlooked the fish market and was busy.
After dinner we asked for night caps before bed but they closed the hotel at 10pm, refusing to serve anything. In fact all the reception lights were turned off and we had to use a side door to re enter and there was no one from the hotel staff to be seen.
The second evening we chose to eat out and once again we found the hotel in darkness and locked after 10pm.
Dog friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.3 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
614 reviews
4.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
507 reviews
13.6 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
1,097 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Address: 5 quai Letourneur, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range: £57 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Marine Port-En-Bessin-Huppain, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing