We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Pleasant Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau La Cheneviere
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Pleasant Surroundings”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This chateau is located in a large lawn area surrounding it. Many trees are about the property - some quite ancient. There is an ample swimming pool, although it was too chilly for us to partake. A tennis court as well is available. Our room was furnished with everything we needed. I particularly liked the updated bathroom. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and worth the 33 euros. Well situation for touring the D-Day beaches.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PointerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCheneviere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear PointeDetroit,

Thank you very much for your nice comment. Most of our guests like coming to the restaurant for breakfast. They love the wonderful smells coming from our kitchen and talking with our staff about their stay and getting advice about what to do in the area. Our buffet breakfast is quoted 25 euros and not 33 as mentioned. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Normandy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    64
    23
    3
    5
See reviews for
68
215
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Delightful small Chateau with excellent accomodation and dining. Charming staff-a real romantic hideaway. Recently refurbished and much attention given to quality. Staff could not be more attentive and the food was quite exceptional

Room Tip: Block adjacent to hotel has suites-v quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My partner and I spent 2 nights here in April. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming. The town that it is located in is charming and it is a nice retreat from the busier town of Bayeaux. I would recommend staying here to get a feel for a quieter town and a little more romance. The dinner was excellent and well priced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BVD1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCheneviere, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear BVD1977,

Thank you for choosing La Cheneviere for your stay in Normandy. It is described by many of our guests as a Gem in this beautiful region.

We were pleased to learn that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us.

We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometimes in the future.

Best regards,
Francoise FAUQUET
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The grounds were positively beautiful and the hotel staff was fanastic. We were there for 3 days and were very pleased. The only negative was the resturant for dinner which was very overpriced and was managed by a very rude resturant manager.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenl827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaCheneviere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review on our hotel, we are pleased that your experience was positive and that we were able to make your stay and enjoyable one.

We are sorry to hear that our restaurant didn’t meet your expectations as it is normally an exceptional dining experience for most of our guests with a friendly and courteous service. When you canceled your desert at the last minute after you had eaten your pre desert, we couldn’t cancel it as it was ready to be served.

We do hope next time you will have the opportunity to come and stay with us again, you will enjoy refined dishes in a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere in our restaurant. We will do our utmost to change your impression.

Yours Sincerely,
Francoise FAUQUET
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Zanzibar - that is the bar in the basement of Le Cheneviere. Completely unexpected in a classic chateau hotel and completely delightful. Go for the bar - stay for the hotel

Le Cheneviere is a lovely hotel with a park-like setting that is, by itself, worthwhile. I can imagine that the lawn would be lovely for a wedding or other large event.

Rooms are lovely. I have stayed in the main building and in the newer wing. My last room included a whirlpool tub and separate living room. Actually, I regretted leaving.

Food and service are excellent. The staff are so friendly that you will truly feel at home. English language is all you need.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite. If you are in the newer annex you may wish to be on the 2nd floor (but no elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argyle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
froggieplanet, Responsable commercial at Chateau La Cheneviere, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your post which will be forwarded to the team, Warm smiles and friendly service is our policy everyday for every guest.
Thank you for choosing la Cheneviere for your recent stay in Normandy, we will look forward to welcoming you again.
Francoise FAUQUET
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Oh, how I loved this Chateau! Every room is different - and has its' own charm. The staff s warm and welcoming - the food in the dining room is exquisite, and the grounds are simply gorgeous and enormous! Very comfortable bed with high end linens. Huge bathroom with jetted tub. Modern amenities but still done with boutique B&B style. I would definitely recommend and return!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different; some are in the main house/chateau, and some are in charming out buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LALKCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

As part of a 9-day trip to Normandy and Paris, I planned a group dinner for 90 people at the Chateau starting with a cocktail reception outdoors followed by dinner in the large dining room. The arrival on-property was impressive, the participants were delighted by the grounds, delicious food and excellent, timely service. I would definitely include this venue for future group trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
9.5 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
580 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Villa Lara Hotel
Villa Lara Hotel
#1 of 21 in Bayeux
963 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau De Bellefontaine
11.5 mi away
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
Le Chateau d'Audrieu
#1 of 1 in Audrieu
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Cheneviere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Cheneviere

Property: Chateau La Cheneviere
Address: Escures-Commes, 14400 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau La Cheneviere 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to Omaha Beach and the historic town of Bayeux, Port en Bessin conceals a treasure that lies at the end of a long drive " Chateau La Cheneviere ". Impeccable lawns, ancient trees and a charmingly old fashioned rose garden... arriving on the estate is like strolling onto the lands of an English Lord who fell under the spell of Calvados region. The manor appears at last, a dignified Norman edifice from the 18th century, it combines the charms of an old house with the conveniences of a cosy English Manor. Add to that an opulent interior, spacious, elegant bedrooms. The dining room, overlooking the park, has a certain grandeur on an intimate scale, while classic cuisine allows you to explore all the distinctive flavours of Normandy, a generous and distinguished cuisine based on delicious local produce, faultless service, a heated outdoor pool, a splendid terrace, and the picture is complete... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau La Cheneviere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau La Cheneviere Hotel Port-En-Bessin-Huppain
Chateau La Cheneviere Port-En-Bessin-Huppain, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing