We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdid my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Outdid my expectations”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Had a privilege room. It had a separate toilet and bathroom. A little tight but fine. Room was big, bed comfy. Had aircon a free drinks in the mini bar ( water juice and coke). Breakfast had a nice selection. Dinner was good but mainly meat and seafood dishes. No risotto, one seafood pasta and no vegetarian that I could see. The staff however were lovely. Went out of their way to help us and accommodate food and drink orders. Put up with our noise during the World Cup and even organised laundry on a public holiday. Pool and gold course looked lovely but I didn't use them. Only downside is that you are 15 min walk from the town so not a lot to do or eat around the hotel. also it would help to have an English Spa menu and someone who can help you with the spa treatments.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pepoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    272
    114
    37
    7
See reviews for
171
253
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked through Brittany Ferries for a 6 night stay as it was conveniently located for us for a wildlife watching holiday. A hotel for golfers but as we aren't can't comment on that side of things. There were several coaches for the Normandy beaches staying for 1/2 nights only, but not a problem for us.
Our room was on the ground floor and very comfortable, nice to have a separate loo as well. Our only down side was no air conditioning but we just slept with the window open and it was fine.
Breakfast was really good and plenty of choice in pleasant surrounds.
The restaurant was expensive but we went into town and ate just treating ourselves for one evening.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room 19 was very quiet. One couple in our group were on 2nd floor and found that n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdandnjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights and had a comfortable stay. The flooring was strange in that is was some type of vinyl woven matt, not carpet, and it had a kind of sticky feel. The room had a queen bed in somewhat crowded space, and then an additional loft room was up a very narrow set of wooden stairs. This was a nice space with a skylight and queen size bed.

The major attraction for this hotel is the golf course, which we didn't play but appeared to be very well maintained.

We had breakfast each morning, which was a traditional french buffet, along with dinner at their restaurant, which was pleasant, with good service and nice food.

Room Tip: Some rooms include both a lower and upper room with each having a queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived without reservation and thankfully they had one room left. The room was lovely, big, and looked out onto the swimming pool area. It was expensive but we treated ourselves to one night. Breakfast was good. Did not eat dinner there because it was quite expensive. Staff very helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillyput918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The walkway to the room was old and dirty and gave a bad impression. Room old small and smelly. The club house was nice but service very bad...forgot our dinner order while serving the "regulars".Pompous too! I would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Normandy is beautiful in many ways and when visiting, travelers should take breaks and enjoy it all. This hotel is perfect for getting a restful night and having a good breakfast before moving along. It is also located very close to the very charming Port-en-Bessin-Huppain. The hotel is perfectly located for those visiting the D-Day historical sites. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very helpful and charming receptionist. We were hungry and the receptionist gave us a great recommendation and made a reservation for us for dinner in the port. (The fresh seafood was wonderful at Fleur de Sel). Back at the hotel, we found a full spa, pool and spacious lobby with a pool table. I was impressed by the beautiful golf course. However, I do not play golf. The room was clean and modern. Most rooms have balconies over the pool. Wifi works well and is free. All the staff we very attentive and always looking after our comfort. The price is reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We really enjoyed our overnight stay in this hotel who welcome dogs who we had with us travelling from the U.K. Did not have breakfast but dinner the previous night in the golf club restaurant was superb. Yes, a little expensive but as we Brits say "you get what you pay for". Waiting staff were most efficient and helpful as were the reception staff when we checked in. The room was nice but needs updating but we found that in most Mercure hotels in France. However it was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. Pool looked good but was not the best of weather when we were there. The hotel does have a bar but it was not open before dinner but we noticed at the end of the night when we returned from the restaurant that there were people drinking there. However after drinking in the golf club bar after dinner, we felt that was enough for the evening!!! Again bar staff at the golf club very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very busy so I think that says it all. Would definitely return if we were in that area again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1215, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de nous faire part de vos commentaires concernant votre séjour à Omaha Beach.
Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour parmi nous et nous serions ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre belle région.
Bien cordialement.
Marie Porcher-Delmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
0.8 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
852 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Bayeux
Novotel Bayeux
#8 of 21 in Bayeux
574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
153 reviews
10.2 mi away
Domaine de la Ranconniere et de Mathan
23.2 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach

Property: Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Address: Chemin du Colombier, 14520 Port-en-Bessin-Huppain, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Omaha Beach Your wellbeing is our priority. The building is located at the foot of the Omaha Beach Golf course in order to preserve the natural beauty of this exceptional site with stunning views. There is no need to be golfer to appreciate the calm surroundings, with the sea waiting to be discovered close-by. You won't be able to resist the charm of the touristic town Port-En-Bessin, which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Also close-by are Bayeux and the American war cemetery. If you are in search of tranquility, you will be able to find it in our relaxation areas, such as the sauna and steam room. There is a lounge bar where you will be able to enjoy a game of pool or a session in the gym ... In fine weather, you can enjoy the heated outdoor pool, and let the children play in the paddling pool. The adepts of relaxation will be seduced by the many wellbeing spa treatments. A business area is available and free Wi-Fi covers the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Bayeux Omaha Beach
Bayeux Omaha Beach Mercure
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach Port-En-Bessin-Huppain, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing