We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote Tourist Location: Only Place to Stop Nearby”
Review of Le Roosevelt Cafe

Le Roosevelt Cafe
Price range: US$0 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Bar, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,121 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“Remote Tourist Location: Only Place to Stop Nearby”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I guess I am just used to paying slightly higher prices during my travels around the world visiting historical locations; I didn't find Le Roosevelt Cafe that out-of-line with other locations that have a local monopoly. The staff was friendly, drinks were cold and the snacks were available. No big deal- I'll pay a little extra for the location. Utah Beach is relatively remote and only the most interested in D-Day travel this far west (it would be a LONG day from the cruise ship port of Le Havre).

The restaurant is an old fisherman's hut, both it and a nearby bunker were later used by both the Germans and US troops. The cafe is very close to the Utah Beach D-Day Museum and a convenient place to grab a drink and snack after the beach and before the museum.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    102
    43
    25
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great to start your tour of the cotentin area”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

small restaurant located in the old bunker the German used for their telecommunication center
in WW2.
they make very simple and good dishes.
we had many times the omelettes or the burgers and they are exactly what you need before going to visits the Utah beach Museum.
The children likes having the crepes.
if you are lucky you might meet a veteran more than happy to tell you about their experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayenne, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take a picnic with you if you are visiting Utah Beach”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We loved visiting Utah Beach and Sainte Maire du Mont but do not get ripped off by the prices in this restaurant. We were ushered outside into their 'terrasse' and were then charged an extra 10% for the pleasure of eating inside what is really just a tented area. We were shocked when the bill came for what were just four half baguette sandwiches with fries. When I complained to the waitress, she pointed out that it was written in very small writing at the bottom of the menu. The writing is so small that no one will notice this. Also, you have to pay to use the toilets! They are definitely taking advantage of being the only restaurant in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Period décor and tasty food combine to give a nice dining experience when visiting the Utah beach area. Service was good and it was fun to take a photo next to the life-size mannequin at the bar, dressed in period attire.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrenceville, NJ
Level Contributor
135 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good vegetable soup.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Food in France is generally very good but bread is always wonderful. Except here. If they can't get the bread right, don't expect anything else to be great. It is, however, convenient to Utah beach, and you won't hate the place if you come in with low expectations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aaron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Roosevelt Cafe also viewed

Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
 
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
 

Been to Le Roosevelt Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing